Customer Reviews for

A Memory of Light (Wheel of Time Series #14)

Average Rating 4
( 492 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(337)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(68)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

81 out of 127 people found this review helpful.

Come on people seriously. The ebook will be out eventually. It w

Come on people seriously. The ebook will be out eventually. It wasn't nor has it been Tor's decision to not release the ebook right away. from what I have heard it is Jordan's widow who made the choice. Either way grow up and don't rate the book a 1 because you can't ha...
Come on people seriously. The ebook will be out eventually. It wasn't nor has it been Tor's decision to not release the ebook right away. from what I have heard it is Jordan's widow who made the choice. Either way grow up and don't rate the book a 1 because you can't have the ebook right away.

posted by Victorian_Engineer on January 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

43 out of 240 people found this review helpful.

Really can't believe the ebook won't be released until April. 

Really can't believe the ebook won't be released until April. 

posted by Aadaenyaa on January 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    I am really conflicted about this ending. The battle scenes wer

    I am really conflicted about this ending. The battle scenes were beautifully done and absolutely fulfilled my expectation expectations for the final battle. Some characters, like Lan and Mat, had more satisfying final scenes than others.

    However, after 13 previous books of great detail and in-depth character development, I have to say that this book felt rushed (quite a feet with about 900 pages). For the first time since Sanderson took over, I felt like he was trying to hit all the outline points Jordan left without really understanding how the pieces fit together. I was especially displeased with Egwene and Gawyn's story line. After 14 books, Gawyn never did manage to redeem himself. What happened to the Kinswomen? The Seafolk? Both are mentioned in passing but are not developed at all. Why was Alise thrown in so haphazardly at the end? Alanna seemed like a forgotten storyline. Moraine never spoke to Siuan, and Siuan barely had a voice. Where on earth was Morgase?

    I'm not suggesting that there should have been another book. It was time for things to wrap up. I'm only left with wondering if Jordan had been able to finish his wonderful saga would the ends have been tied up a little more neatly?

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    It's finally over!

    I have been following the series from almost when it first started a hundred years ago. This certainly isn't the worst book that has been written in the WOT series, but it wasn't the best either. The book is jammed thick of action, and had a few surprise developments that I liked, but for the most part I found myself having trouble caring about many of the characters. I liked that Sanderson wasn't afraid to kill off a few of the main characters, but (and I hate to say this after 14 books) the ending seemed rushed and unsatisfying. Sanderson seemed to explain too much in some areas and not enough in others. If you have been staying loyal to the series it is a must read, but if you are thinking about taking it up for the first time, I would say pass.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    I am going green. No ebook? No problem. I will be getting my cop

    I am going green. No ebook? No problem. I will be getting my copy through the local library.

    8 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    I have hard cover editions of all of the books of this series.

    I have hard cover editions of all of the books of this series. nearly half autographed. Needless to day, I have ordered 2 hard cover editions of this also (one for a friend). The sad thing is, I need to wait for them to arrive to start reading. My intentions were to read the ebook for now. Seems that those of us who have gone tech savvy are being penalized with the delay until April. Will still rate this a GOOD, vice poor... Guess it is all about the dollar bill...FAIL.

    7 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    I don't know which is worse, leaving a one star rating for a boo

    I don't know which is worse, leaving a one star rating for a book just because it isn't available for nook or leaving a 5 star rating for a book then clearly stating you haven't read it. Pitiful.

    5 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2013

    not a bad read but its way to long by about 300 pages

    not a bad read but its way to long by about 300 pages

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    I'm not sure if I will ever summon the fortitude to read the Whe

    I'm not sure if I will ever summon the fortitude to read the Wheel of Time in it's entirety again. The lengthy descriptions and the constant puzzling over the identity of obscure characters were always outweighed by the need to discover 'what happens next'. Now, after all these years, I finally know 'what happens next' and I'm not sure if the struggle through the grizzly battles, death, pain, sorrow and destruction will ever be worth a repeat effort. Some 20 years ago I was challenged to read this series by a college classmate of my daughter's who argued that Jordan was better than Tolkien. I believed that Tolkien will forever be the best and now that this series is complete I stand by my belief. While the Wheel of Time certainly had the depth and historical background of Tolkien there was not enough balance of joy and laughter. While Tolkien spent 85 pages wrapping up the Lord of the Rings the epilogue for Jordan's series was a mere 16 pages. After following some characters for fourteen books surely more than a paragraph or two would have been appropriate. Having never read any of Sanderson's other works I don't know if he has a problem with closure but I certainly felt shortchanged. A little less trolloc heads and a little more sentiment would have made the ending, while certainly satisfying, much more worthy of the series.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    good book

    it kept me wanting to keep reading. didn't like how the end makes it seem like their should be another book.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

     Dissapointed that there is no digital version. Really starting

     Dissapointed that there is no digital version. Really starting to regret buying a nook. 

    3 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Ehh

    The book had both good and bad writing. Some expected and some unexpected plot twists and I guess an overall okay story. I feel like to much was left unsaid or undone. Definitely has an end of the series feel, but it also ends with you feeling like really this is it? No more? I was completely outraged at some of the writing and yes I loved other parts. I feel like this was definitely not the best that could have been done for such a long awaited conclusion. Sanders seemed to be just trying to end it as is few pages as he could. Description was lacking in areas where focus should have been, and he was over descriptive in things that were of no importance. Mediocre-ishly Good!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Haven't read the book because it's not in electronic format. I

    Haven't read the book because it's not in electronic format. I have read people's comments both pro and con. ONCE the book is available in electronic format I will read and re-rate. But, my own two cents is that it is RIDICULOUS to make those of us who use technology, who read voraciously but don't have room to store books, to make us wait 3 months for a book we have been anticipating for YEARS. I don't know who made the decision, whether it was TOR books, Jordan's widow, or a combination of the two, but it comes down to simple greed. I understand the tactile need of bibliophiles to feel paper turning, etc. I agree that the book should not have been rated a "1". However, the legion of people who are now waiting for the e-book to be "released" need a voice somehow. The book is already in electronic format. Release it so the rest of us can end our anticipation for a story almost twenty years in the reading. Yes, shame on the people who rated a 1, but also shame on TOR and/or Mrs. Jordan.

    2 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Recommend, but it's not Robert Jordan

    Oh how I wish Robert Jordan could have finished this series. I truly miss his writing talent. I give Brandon Sanderson credit for picking up where Robert left off, but the style is different. I recommend buying if you want to know how the story ends. Rest in peace Robert...you are truly missed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A satisfying final solution, but far too long to get there

    The first 200 or so pages were pretty gripping, but after that it started to wear thin. There was a lot of talking and a lot of waiting for the end, with one battle scene after another filling space. I get what Sanderson was trying to convey, and I realize he had to establish the overwhelming odds, but I will admit I started skimming through all the skirmishes with Trollocs. By the time I hit the halfway mark, my reading pace really began to slow, and I found myself struggling to get through.

    Having said that, there were some interesting bits, and some moments that genuinely made me smile. Still, it really did feel like a lot of talking and waiting. Nevertheless, I was determined to persevere. It was around the 600 page mark that I began to see some glimmers of hope. I quite liked the role that Mat found himself thrust into (once he was finally allowed to make a long-overdue appearance; the appearance of the Ogier on the battlefront was something to behold; and the arrival of the Asha'man certainly kicked up the carnage a notch; but the battle scenes really began to feel like a lot of padding. For such a battle-heavy book, I found myself surprised by the lack of 'big' deaths, so deep into the tale. Given the overall carnage, and the simple fact that leaders and heroes should be prime targets, it' did push the bounds of plausibility just a bit.

    Coming into the last 200 pages, things certainly picked up. The pacing got better, there was a significance to the plot developments, and Sanderson finally pulled the strings on some 'big' sacrifices. Elayne and Egwene both stepped it up, earning their role as equals of Rand, and it was immensely satisfying to see the forces of Light come up with a weave to challenge balefire. Min's role was a little less spectacular, but still with some notable contributions, and Aviendha ultimately had a worthy role to play, despite seemingly being pushed out of the spotlight. Tuon's role was a bit smaller than I expected, but her off-the-page contributions to Mat's planning were indeed crucial to the climax.

    More than anything, though, I found myself lamenting the absence of Rand. I really did expect him to be more of a . . . well, hero. Instead, after some touching goodbyes, he spends the last half of the book stuck in a cave and swapping dreamscapes with his enemy. Some of the futures they explored were interesting, but dispensed with too quickly to have any real impact. Again, I get what Sanderson was doing, and I ultimately appreciated Rand's master gameplan, once it was exposed, but it took 850+ pages to get there. I understand it's an ensemble story, and I appreciate that Sanderson was left with a lot of loose ends, but some scenes were just frivolous. Sure, most of the characters had strong roles to play, but others seemed to be given a token scene or two just to get their names into the book.

    As much as I enjoyed the first 2 books of the final trilogy, and really appreciate how well Sanderson has managed the legacy, the story was stretched a bit thin. We all know Jordan intended for there to be one last book to end the series, and that Sanderson expanded those notes into a trilogy, but I wonder how much of that decision was creative, and how much of it was sheer marketing.

    I am glad we got an ending, and I am entirely satisfied with Rand's final solution . . . I just wish we hadn't had to wade through so many Trolloc heads to get there.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2013

    I have to day that the loyalty to the read by the Widow is quite

    I have to day that the loyalty to the read by the Widow is quite disappointing. I would have bought both hardcover and ebook if they were both offered. Now I'll protest by not buying the hardcover and wait till the ebook comes out.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Disappointing

    The end of a story, the last book of a series should leave the reader feeling pleasantly satiated. This one failed for me. I thoroughly enjoyed the previous meals of books 12 and 13 and I had expected 14 to be even better. I was expecting a succulent steak and I was given hamburger.

    This series taken as a whole is great. I loved the story, and the central characters (except for all the women having the same, arrogant, superior attitudes). The first few books in the series were excellent introductions to the main story line and characters but then the story lost momentum with more and more minor characters taking up lots of wordage with their sub stories which became irritating diversions from the central characters and storyline.

    After reading books 12 and 13 written by Sanderson, who did an amazing job giving this story a boost of energy that had been lacking for many previous books, my hopes lifted for a very satisfying end to the series but A Memory of Light left me feeling hollow and unfulfilled.

    I had expected Rand would have the major role and major scenes in this final book with his task of destroying the evil threatening to take over his world, but we got only tidbits of his actions thrown in here and there until the end and then the end, his end, was very brief, and anti-climactic, and ultimately not in keeping with his character which was always being concerned with his actions affects on others. It seems he turned into a twin of Mat, leaving family and friends without a by-your-leave to go adventuring and see the world!

    I won't go into more detail. I'm not a professional critic. Just an avid reader who appreciates a good story, especially one, which, like a good meal, gives me a satiated, satisfied feeling. This ending left me wanting, not more, but wanting to change it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Thank Goodness, It's Over!

    Most good series I read leave me with fond memories to return to and chew on. Reading the Wheel of Time series, on the other hand, was like running 14 back to back marathons, the reader staggering over the finish line, gasping for breath, and collapsing from acute exhaustion.

    With all due respect to Mr. Jordan's memory, his life opus was just too long, having hundreds of pages dedicated to characters milling back and forth across the landscape, never quite reaching where they needed to be, numerous sub-plots and battles described in excruciating detail, and frequent detours with hoards of auxiliary characters having passing relevance, distracting the reader from the primary story line. And, after slogging through all of this, I found the ending to be somewhat anticlimactic.

    Credit is due Mr. Sanderson for taking on the completion of the series, a daunting task at best, and for doing a great job maintaining continuity in both style and content.

    The Wheel of Time series is filled with great writing, interesting characters, humor, suspense, sorrow, and triumph. It's too bad that, like the typical American Thanksgiving dinner, there was just too much of it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    To Reason

    Page two last res.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    I have not read this series of books in a long time can you tell

    I have not read this series of books in a long time can you tell me the lineup so I can start over again in the proper order then proceed from there with the books that are missing thank you Richard

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Well, it is finally over. 20 years I have followed this story an

    Well, it is finally over. 20 years I have followed this story and as I turned the cover to start this one was worried the ending would feel rushed.  It felt like a snowball turned into avalanche. There were some jumps and rushed story lines that I feel were in order to get  it  to fit in a 3rd book that took the 2 stars from it.  Worth reading if only to put an ending on a 20 year story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2