Customer Reviews for

A Memory of Light (Wheel of Time Series #14)

Average Rating 4
( 484 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(332)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(67)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

81 out of 127 people found this review helpful.

Come on people seriously. The ebook will be out eventually. It w

Come on people seriously. The ebook will be out eventually. It wasn't nor has it been Tor's decision to not release the ebook right away. from what I have heard it is Jordan's widow who made the choice. Either way grow up and don't rate the book a 1 because you can't ha...
Come on people seriously. The ebook will be out eventually. It wasn't nor has it been Tor's decision to not release the ebook right away. from what I have heard it is Jordan's widow who made the choice. Either way grow up and don't rate the book a 1 because you can't have the ebook right away.

posted by Victorian_Engineer on January 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

43 out of 240 people found this review helpful.

Really can't believe the ebook won't be released until April. 

Really can't believe the ebook won't be released until April. 

posted by Aadaenyaa on January 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 332 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Come on people seriously. The ebook will be out eventually. It w

    Come on people seriously. The ebook will be out eventually. It wasn't nor has it been Tor's decision to not release the ebook right away. from what I have heard it is Jordan's widow who made the choice. Either way grow up and don't rate the book a 1 because you can't have the ebook right away.

    81 out of 127 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    For everyone who rated this book one star because it isn't on eb

    For everyone who rated this book one star because it isn't on ebook yet... shame on you.  I've read the first 100 pages so far and have to say it doesn't dissapoint.  I do find that it is annoying to have to read the hardback as I would have bought both versions as well.  But, I've got along 26 years without a nook.  Reading a good hardback every now and then is good for you.  For those of you looking for an actual review,  as I said before, it has been AWESOME so far.  Brandon Sanderson has done Mr. Jordan's works justice.

    60 out of 85 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    The last book in a series as epic as WoT needs to be read the ol

    The last book in a series as epic as WoT needs to be read the old fashioned way, on paper! eBooks weren't even thought of when many of us started reading this series. Let's get back to our roots with this long awaited finale to an AMAZING series. Sit down with a cup of coffee or tea and enjoy the world they created for us!

    50 out of 99 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    The ratings are for the people who might be interested in gettin

    The ratings are for the people who might be interested in getting a copy of this book. Rating it with one star simply because it won't come out as an e-book till April is childish and frankly an embarrassment, but I am sure they have no shame.

    I haven't read the complete book yet, however, I am willing to provide a rating of 5 simply because this epic is the fruition of two decades of work, the story is as wide as the world and as deep as any religious experience. An epic tale of the fight between light and the darkness, good and evil. The richness of this world creates a stunning, compelling reason to really care about the characters and their journey to the final battle. Brandon Sanderson has expertly picked up the gauntlet left by Robert Jordan and carried it and the fans who have followed this tale to a wonderful and exciting climax

    43 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    An epic ending to what may be the greatest fantasy series of our

    An epic ending to what may be the greatest fantasy series of our time.

    42 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Rating this a 1 because there is no ebook is stupid and childish

    Rating this a 1 because there is no ebook is stupid and childish. Really, grow up.

    This book is an AMAZING finale to an equally AMAZING series. Brandon Sanderson does a great job finishing up where Robert Jordan left off. The characters are rich and entertaining, and the plot plays out beautifully. This is by far my absolute favorite series ever. Hands down.

    40 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    The wheel of time saga helped define a entire genre of literatur

    The wheel of time saga helped define a entire genre of literature and ignited the minds and imaginations of thousands of readers. Thank you Robert Jordan for the story worth reading again and again and the experience of a lifetime.

    39 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Thank you. thank you, thank you Robert Jordan and Brandon Sander

    Thank you. thank you, thank you Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson. I feel like Thom in the final chapter searching for the right words to describe this amazing, epic, awesome, incredible saga. Sorry Mr. Asimov, the Foundation series has finally been replaced as my all time favorite tale. I was honestly worried that this final book would not be able to adequately conclude this amazing story...I was wrong. As for the digital readers who chose to assign a 1 star rating... blood and bloody ashes! ...just buy the book. You'll be glad to have it once you're finished!

    37 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2013

    This book lives up to the standard set forth by Mr. Jordan and g

    This book lives up to the standard set forth by Mr. Jordan and gives the reader the ending that the series deserved. While I know that there were some out there that complained about having the final book separated into three installments, I believe that we can truly appreciate that decision now. This culmination of this epic saga has forever ensconced The Wheel of Time with other fantasy series of the highest caliber.
    Now here I feel obliged to make a comment on the majority of the one star reviews that are plaguing this book. Shame on you all for adding a negative review because the publishing company made a decision not to bring out the Ebook until April. I would think that, as a fan of the series, you would not want to heap negative reviews on our beloved series. I would also like to point out that each person that is complaining about not having the Ebook to read has made the decision to choose that particular media format on their own. Nobody is forcing you to not read the book, as the paper format is obviously available for you to access. If you decide not to purchase the book, simply because it is not an Ebook, then you have no one to blame but yourself for that poor decision.

    36 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Stop skewing the ratings with e-book reviews.  E-book sales don'

    Stop skewing the ratings with e-book reviews.  E-book sales don't count towards the NY Times Bestseller list.  Publishers (justifiably) want that.  It's downright stupid to think that they shouldn't try to put the book on that list.

    I've finished the hardcover, and it's a brilliant, fitting ending.  There aren't any real ways to talk about plot without giving spoilers, but suffice it to say, this is the ending we've been waiting for.

    So stop whining.

    29 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    I can't believe someone would give 1 star for not having a digit

    I can't believe someone would give 1 star for not having a digital copy. It's pathetic! Good or Bad, rating is meant for content... OMG its not free? you get one star!. I'm going to re-rate this after reading but until then ill give 5 stars.

    29 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    The sad thing is the ebook will be out (not officially released)

    The sad thing is the ebook will be out (not officially released) long before April...which means every one of those is a potential lost sale. I would honestly be surprised if it's not already out there. It's sad that in 2013 publishers and authors still just don't get it.

    27 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Amazing finale to one of the most epic fantasy series of our tim

    Amazing finale to one of the most epic fantasy series of our time. I couldn't be more pleased with the time and effort that was put into this series and how it made me feel about the characters.

    19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    This book is phenomenal. Sanderson and Team Jordan (including J

    This book is phenomenal. Sanderson and Team Jordan (including Jordan's editor and wife, Harriet) had a daunting task, picking up the baton from Jordan and finishing the Wheel of Time. Thankfully, they took on the task, and have done an amazing job.

    I enjoyed both of the previous two "collaborations" by Brandon Sanderson and Robert Jordan a great deal. But A Memory of Light is leaps and bounds better than them. The character voices are spot-on throughout. Mat Cauthon felt a little off to some of us, especially in The Gathering Storm, but Sanderson has been getting him better and better, and Mat really shines here. Rand is the best he's been in ages. All of the characters are true to themselves, and the Last Battle is maybe even more epic, heart-wrenching, and engrossing than expected. If you're a fan who was worried that the Dark One and his minions were incompetent, worry no more! If you feared that the ending wouldn't satisfy the anticipation, worry no more! One of the best reads of my life, truly. Thank you Brandon, Harriet, and everyone involved. P.S. Ebook readers - I can't wait to get it on ebook myself. But that's a separate issue. Review the content. If you want to bash on a publisher or bookseller for not having it on the right platform, more power to you, but complain about that in the appropriate forum, not in a review intended to help people decide if they'll like the book. They don't need you to tell them if they want it on ebook or hardcover!

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    It was awesome.. couldnt put it down for a minute

    It was awesome.. couldnt put it down for a minute

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    Loved the book, loved loved. Dont rate the hardcover version of

    Loved the book, loved loved. Dont rate the hardcover version of the book badly because you couldnt get it in ebook. Cant believe someone who read the whole series would say they wouldnt read the last book because the had to wait 3 more months after waiting all the years for the other books when there was no such thing as an ebook. Silly people. Anyways a great read!!!!!!!!!!!

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    To those who are voting it down because it's not in ebook format

    To those who are voting it down because it's not in ebook format: You are rude little brats.  Take your complaints directly to the publisher and/or stop being cheapskates.
    I came here to read a review and not listen to your rants.  I was worried when I saw the low rating but then found that one or more people dragged the rating down simply because it wasn't released as an eBook (could be one person posting multiple times for all I know).

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Perfect ending to the greatest fantasy series ever.

    Perfect ending to the greatest fantasy series ever.

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    I started reading the series when The Great Hunt was released an

    I started reading the series when The Great Hunt was released and have been hooked ever since. I've reread the books atleast once a year since then and have loved them everytime. Thank you Robert Jordan for this epic fantasy and taking us along for such a amazing ride.

    10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Good book so far! Definitely one i would prefer to have in pape

    Good book so far!
    Definitely one i would prefer to have in paper.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 332 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17