Customer Reviews for

A Merry Little Christmas

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 25, 2012

    This was a very thoughtful read. Two people coming together with

    This was a very thoughtful read. Two people coming together with very different backgrounds and many, many roadblocks.

    This shows you that love and forgiveness can prevail. In a world of hate and unforgiveness love shines through.

    Family relationships are hampered because of a controlling Father. Will Charlie and Willie be strong enough to break free and finally live their own lives? Will God intervene and perform a miracle?

    I know readers of Christmas books will find some joy, delight and comfort in this wonderful read by author Anita Higman. She hit the nail on the head with this one. Don't miss out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2013

    A Merry Little Christmas by Anita Higman **** This is a great Ch

    A Merry Little Christmas by Anita Higman ****
    This is a great Christmas romance. Charlie Landau a wealthy city boy meets Franny Martin a poor country girl, when he shows up to purchase her farm. They discover a mutual love of music and so much more. Charlie fights to meet the demands of an overbearing father while, Franny fights for injustices. Franny is hired to teach Charlie how to become a farmer before leaving to chase her own dreams. They face obstacles and challenges with honor, dignity and love. When Charlie bought the farm he got more than he bargained for, just goes to show you opposites can be attracted to each other. The author Anita Higman did a great job bringing romance and humor together. She exposed the hurts that come with prejudice. I recommend this Christmas story to all who love romance and Christian fiction, a great love story for any time of the year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Anita Higman delivers yet again in this Christmas romance. She

    Anita Higman delivers yet again in this Christmas romance. She brings likable characters to life, from the very beginning, engaging her readers and drawing them into the action. Great read - She never disappoints.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2012

    A Merry Little Christmas is a heartwarming love story about two

    A Merry Little Christmas is a heartwarming love story about two people from very different worlds: a country farm girl and a rich city boy, who are drawn together by their mutual love of music and similar dreams. Set in the turbulent civil rights time period of 1961 during the Christmas holiday season, they will embark on an unexpected journey that will change their lives forever.




    Thirty-three year old Franny Martin is an Oklahoma farm girl who has always dreamed of living in the city and working in the music business. But at the age of eighteen, he parents die in a tragic accident and she inherits their farm. After twelve years of trying to work the farm all by herself, the bright lights of the city and a desire to become a radio DJ are calling her, so she decides to put the farm up for sale.




    Thirty-five year old Charlie Landau comes from one of the wealthiest families in Oklahoma. He has tried many times to prove himself to his domineering father, Albert Landau, a very successful businessman, that he could take over the family business, but his attempts at various business ventures have failed, and he is a disappointment to his father. Deep down inside Charlie's real dream is to be a musician, but his father would never approve of that career choice for his son.




    In one last ditch effort to prove he could succeed in business, Charlie leaves the city for the country. He shows up at Franny's farm and offers to purchase the farm in cash. But there is one problem, Charlie doesn't know anything about being a farmer! Charlie hires Franny to teach him how to farm in three weeks, then she will move to the city to pursue her dream. During their time together, they become close and share a mutual attraction, but after Thanksgiving the time has come for them to part ways.




    Once in the city, Franny realizes that her dream to pursue a career as a radio DJ isn't as easy as she thought it would be, and she regrets selling her farm. Likewise, Charlie is having a hard time managing the farm. When their paths cross again, Charlie asks Franny to come back and help him run the farm. But complications arise when Franny befriends Noma Jefferson, an older African-American woman, and has her move to the farm to help them out. Racial tensions erupt within the townsfolk and Charlie's strained relationship with his father cause complications that will test Franny and Charlie's relationship. Can Franny and Charlie overcome the complications and discover what awaits them during the Christmas holiday season?




    A Merry Little Christmas is a heartwarming tale of hope, love, faith and redemption. Author Anita Higman weaves a poignant tale of having hope and the belief in finding love when you least expect it. Told in the third person narrative, this is a wonderful love story of two people who share a mutual love of music and similar dreams, while also touching upon dysfunctional family matters and the racial tension of the pre-civil rights movement time period. This is a touching story about finding love, dealing with past pain and loss, and overcoming adversity. Rich in detail and vivid description of the Oklahoma farm country, the reader is transported to 1961 with wonderful nostalgic sights, sounds and societal references of that time period. The author weaves a story mixed with romance, humor and drama; with twists and turns that keeps the reader turning the pages.




    I loved the author's character development of Franny and Charlie as the story unfolds. There is nothing better than to read a toughing story about how two people from very different lives come together and along the way discover love. Franny is a feisty girl that you can't help but embrace, while Charlie is an endearing and honest guy who is trying to find is place in life; together they provide the reader with romance and humorous banter as their love story unfolds. The supporting cast of characters lends a dramatic edge to the storyline that keeps the reader riveted.




    A Merry Little Christmas is a touching feel good story that will warm your heart especially during the Christmas holiday season!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2012

    Franny has always dreamed of leaving her parents farm and moving

    Franny has always dreamed of leaving her parents farm and moving to the big city. Franny has been taking care of the farm on her own since her parents passed away. When a rich stranger shows up offering to buy the farm, Franny has a chance to live out her dreams. There's only one problem. While helping out the new owner Charlie, she's also developed feelings for him. As they both move forward with their new lives, Charlie and Franny discover that being around each other may be the best new life they could have. Unfortunately it may take a Christmas miracle for this to happen.

    I love music and I love Christmas, and I really love Christmas music. This book was like some of the best things about the holidays all wrapped up with a neat bow. It was so sweet, and it even had a chance to remind me of all the people I could help, not just during the holiday season. There were several topics covered in this book, but it never managed to get too heavy. I'll admit I was a bit curious early on what the conflict was going to be, but this book managed to surprise me with a few things. I liked the approach of having these two people from completely different worlds trying to set off on their own doing the things they wanted. They shared a common dream of living theirs lives as they saw fit, and this helped to bring them together.

    Franny was a fun character. She had such a sure sense of principles and justice. I loved that she was not afraid to stand up for what she believed in. I was also very happy that she was able to find someone who could stand for those same things in Charlie. With their differing backgrounds, this was another thing that helped draw them together. Overall this was just a really sweet book that is perfect for those cold days leading up to the holidays. It just makes you want to cozy up and read it through to the end. It's a very quick read, and it will help to remind of you the good you can find in people.

    Book provided for review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Experience a time in the early 1960's in Oklahoma. Once you bein

    Experience a time in the early 1960's in Oklahoma. Once you being you won't be able to leave this sweet story. Fanny Martin is quite a spunky girl, who has had a wonderful Childhood, until her parents were both killed in a storm. Enter Charlie Martin, who comes from a wealthy family, quite without a lot of love.
    We travel through this story, which reads like a movie, with the words creating pictures in our minds. Charlie buys Fanny's farm, and Frannie stays and helps for three weeks. Can't you just picture this city slicker birthing pigs??
    I loved how Frannie stood up for the persecuted people of color. We meet a wonderful Godly woman named Noma who stops and helps her out of a mud puddle! We find sparks flying between Charlie and Frannie, but such different backgrounds!
    A lot of this story is wrapped up in a few pages at the end...more like TV. I did like this book, and read it in an afternoon.

    I received this book through Litfuse Publicity Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1