Customer Reviews for

A Midsummer Night's Dream (Barnes & Noble Shakespeare)

Average Rating 4.5
( 531 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(375)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(36)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

It was very helpful. I used it when i was in it.

posted by 1677015 on June 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

It's okay

It's okay, but anomonous on may 20 is kinda right.

posted by Anonymous on May 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 531 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 27
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Awesome

    It was very helpful. I used it when i was in it.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    It's okay

    It's okay, but anomonous on may 20 is kinda right.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Have not read this yet

    i have not read this yet, i have been ready the twilight saga again, as soon as i am done w/ that i will then begin this book. i hope to enjoy it.

    3 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    Reading Shakespeare and understanding him are two different thin

    Reading Shakespeare and understanding him are two different things for me. I’m not sure about anyone else, but I need a translator when trying to wade through all of his Old English. This guide is a Godsend! I finally feel like I’m able to both enjoy and understand the writing of one of the greatest poets and playwrights to ever exist. You don’t really realize how helpful the modern day translation really is, until you pick up this guide. It’s an “Aha!” moment stuffed in between a front and back cover. Love it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Want an ¿A¿ on that next paper? This book will certainly help b

    Want an “A” on that next paper? This book will certainly help because Shakespeare is finally clear, just like the title of Garamond Press’ A Midsummer Night’s Dream shakespeare made clear touts. This book makes it easy. Each Act begins with a summary and each Elizabethan line is followed by a word-for-word explanation. Literary devices, meter, historical references, imagery, poetic style—all of these are explained in very simple ways that make Shakespeare’s words vivid and funny and sad and mischievous and romantic all at once. Isn’t that what dreams are made of?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    This book can be counted as a wonderfully helpful study companio

    This book can be counted as a wonderfully helpful study companion to Shakespeare’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream, but where it really shines is in giving me access to masterful language that needs updating for our modern ears.  I love seeing Shakespeare performed, and this book gives each section a freshness in translation, a royal British historical context delivered by an author who avoids dry textbook languages like a 16th Century plague, and makes the intended humor instantly recognizable.  As a study guide, it’s perfect.  As a way to truly delight in Shakespeare, this is what I want to read just before watching a film adaptation or heading to the theatre.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Great Read!

    This is definetly worth reading. It is a true masterpiece! Also, quick sidenote to all of those who are complaining that this book was written in Old English- it wasn't. It wasn't even written in Middle English. This was written in MODERN ENGLISH!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    blah

    words cut off

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    ack death leader

    "Dance for me dance"he shoots at jacksons legs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    Black death assasin

    Picks jackson up and tpushes him on to some tazera

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    Jackson

    Cries

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2014

    Lovely...! beautiful.....!.... Just enjoy it.....!

    Lovely...! beautiful.....!.... Just enjoy it.....!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Horible

    No I am not a hater this book has nothing has only the scripet riten in a format that makes no seance dont waist your itme.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    Does this have the words in script form

    Please answer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Peter

    He laughed darkly, glaring down at Endie with malice. "Get up, wh<_>ore."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2014

    Sierra

    Pets it and kisses its head

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Panther

    Was drug in yowling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Shadow

    Hit her with unsheathed paw.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Panther

    Kicked shadow and ran out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    To below

    You are soooooooo stupid. Why would you even say that. Some people have positive and negative feelings for Aj. I myself love it. But even though you dont like it you shouldnt say that its stupid. Just state that you dont like it in a positive way. The first sentence I said was an example. You didnt like that now did you. That might have hurt your feelings or made you angry. Well thats probably how the other person feels. Im not trying to be the nice police or a parent or anything but Im just sayin. DONT DO IT AGAIN!!!!!!!!(oh what are you going to do? You might ask. Well my dad happens to be one of those people who watch the language on here. Oh, I might just report you. So watch your back,buddy)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 531 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 27