Customer Reviews for

A Midsummer Night's Dream (Naxos Classic Drama)

Average Rating 4.5
( 467 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(333)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(36)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

It was very helpful. I used it when i was in it.

posted by 1677015 on June 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

It's okay

It's okay, but anomonous on may 20 is kinda right.

posted by Anonymous on May 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 467 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Don't bother.

    The formatting was horrible. The text looks likes one big block-- no separation even between speakers. Unreadable.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Awesome

    It was very helpful. I used it when i was in it.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    It's okay

    It's okay, but anomonous on may 20 is kinda right.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Have not read this yet

    i have not read this yet, i have been ready the twilight saga again, as soon as i am done w/ that i will then begin this book. i hope to enjoy it.

    3 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Great Read!

    This is definetly worth reading. It is a true masterpiece! Also, quick sidenote to all of those who are complaining that this book was written in Old English- it wasn't. It wasn't even written in Middle English. This was written in MODERN ENGLISH!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2015

    Great

    It's really good. And could u guys stop with the rps? Some people are acctully reviewing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2014

    Its all taste

    I mean, if you like Shakespeare's comedies then there is no doubt you will enjoy MSND. The characters and constant malapropisms make it funny so you may have to work your way into the style of the play before the jokes are blatant ( and even then it can be hard to tell; humoor changes with generations and time). Shakespeare is a very wordy author yet there is a wa to tell that the plays were- and are- quality. In the centuries when The Globe was renouned in England the play-goers were a tough crowd; the story had to be understandable AND entertaining. The audience was not always educated so Shakespeare and to make enough stage direction, action and subtext for the story to come through. We see that much of the monolougues and conversations could be summed up into a few sentences, yet often the entertainment and humor is provided by these sylolliques.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2014

    Lovely...! beautiful.....!.... Just enjoy it.....!

    Lovely...! beautiful.....!.... Just enjoy it.....!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    To all URGENT

    A cow walks in and rams at a random cat. "MOOOOOO!!"

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    This book can be counted as a wonderfully helpful study companio

    This book can be counted as a wonderfully helpful study companion to Shakespeare’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream, but where it really shines is in giving me access to masterful language that needs updating for our modern ears.  I love seeing Shakespeare performed, and this book gives each section a freshness in translation, a royal British historical context delivered by an author who avoids dry textbook languages like a 16th Century plague, and makes the intended humor instantly recognizable.  As a study guide, it’s perfect.  As a way to truly delight in Shakespeare, this is what I want to read just before watching a film adaptation or heading to the theatre.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    blah

    words cut off

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2015

    Best Shakespeare Play.

    Best Shakespeare Play.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2015

    One of my faves!

    One of my faves!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Horible

    No I am not a hater this book has nothing has only the scripet riten in a format that makes no seance dont waist your itme.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    Does this have the words in script form

    Please answer

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Peter

    He laughed darkly, glaring down at Endie with malice. "Get up, wh<_>ore."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2014

    Sierra

    Pets it and kisses its head

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Panther

    Was drug in yowling.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Shadow

    Hit her with unsheathed paw.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Panther

    Kicked shadow and ran out.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 467 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24