Customer Reviews for

A Midsummer Night's Dream (Folger Shakespeare Library Series)

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2003

    Amazing!

    I read this book last year and must say it is by far the greatest book i'ver ever read so far. Don't be intimidated by the language, though it looks a bit difficult it's quite easy (this is coming from a 13 year old!). I haven't read any other shakespeare books yet but i plan on reading a few more. The characters and plot were great. It is a comedy with love and deception almost like watching an episode of Jerry Springer. It was a great read and i reccomend it to anyone willing to take the time to understand the language.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Edition of A Midsummer Night's Dream

    This is my favorite edition of A Midsummer Night's Dream. I am the Artistic Director of Storefront Shakespeare and this is the edition I am using with my actors in our current production.
    I chose this particular edition because the editors Paul Werstine and Barbara A. Mowat strove to stay as close as possible to the original Quarto (the very first publication) only changing things that were obvious typos.
    It is also helpful to actors and casual readers alike because the right hand pages have the script and the left hand pages have explanations of unfamiliar words or terms. This is very useful for actors because they need to understand what they are saying in order to properly communicate it to an audience.
    I highly recommend the Folger Shakespeare Library (and their website) to anyone who is interested in the Bard.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    G

    I read this book when I was in fifth grade in my class of about seven last year (we were supposedly advanced). I really enjoyed it and recommend it to ages ten and up. Maybe I stretched that age catergory a little. Good job will!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2010

    Pretty good

    Shakespeare annoys me a bit, but this is a great comedy. For actors, so many different approaches can be used for this story. Shakespeare creates a dreamy, whimsical world that I really enjoyed reading. Very good.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2005

    Great Book! Folger Makes It Possible To Better Understand!

    This book is awsome. Buy the Folger edition if you are a student or just want to have everything explained.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    look at this review

    Book Review
    Book title and author: A Midsummer Nights Dream. William Shakespeare
    Title of review: Michaels book review on a midsummers night dream.
    Number of stars (1 to 5): 4

    Introduction
    The book a Middsumer nights dream is abought dream is abought three couples.They all are in a love triangle there is a lot of problems that comes befor them all. There are the faires in there world that do things to the charecters in the play .There is Helena,Hermia,Lysander,Puck,Thesis, Bottom, snug,.These are most of the charecters in the play.
    Description and summary of main points
    The book is abought couple people in love with one another but the person each likes some one else .it has a lot of points that are really interesting .The couples go through a lot just to try to be with the person they love.Its veary intersting .
    Evaluation I think this book is really good because it’s a love triangle and they go through a lot it’s a interesting book because there is a lot of main points thAT CAN REALLY INTEREST A READER you need to read this book to find out the crazy ending
    Conclusion You should read this book because its it’s a love triangle and it will interest you if you like shakesphere its iteresting because the book has a big twist at the but you will have to read the book to find out what it is trust me you will like the book and the ending and it’s a good book to read in an reading class

    Your final review
    You should read this book because its verry interesting and good because its a good book to teach to a reading class

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Shakespears play

    Your final review
    To me this book is wonderful if you like love stories and plays I reprehend it to you if you do. Book title and author: A Midsummer Night’s Dream-William Shakespeare
    Title of review: Shakespeare Play
    Number of stars (1 to 5): 4

    Introduction
    This story is about a play with Lysander who is in love with Hermia, Demetrius who is also in love with Hermia, and Hermia who’s in love with Lysander, and Helena who is in love with Demetrius.
    Description and summary of main points
    It all starts out as the couples, Demetrius and Helena, and Lysander with Hermia all run off because they want to get married and it takes place in the forest at night because night is more like a romantic time. A problem starts to accrue when Demetrius tells Lysander that he is in love with Hermia and then it all switches to them both falling in love with Helena.
    Evaluation
    When Hermia finds out about it she thinks it’s all Helena’s fault and they get in an argument over it. Then Lysander and Demetrius decide to fight over her. Then at the end there is a play that ends the story.
    Conclusion
    This book is more like a love triangle between couples.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Shakespeare :)

    It is a Shakespeare play, and as all his works, it provides an experience that lends the reader a frame of history. A comedy, this play has its memorable characters, be it Bottom or Robin, that take the reader on a journey from a callous court world into the realm of the Green World's forest. Portraying the unyielding voice of a father's will and the recalcitrance of a young girl very much in love, A Midsummer Night's Dream is a story of love that provides commentary on its absurdities. Certainly one of the easier plays to follow, I recommend this as an Introduction to any reader that cares to venture into the world of Shakespeare.
    This addition provides an excellent companion on each page in order to aid the reader in understanding the material. The editor's introduction gives the reader a look into the times of Shakespeare, and refers to the possible explanations for this play, as well provides a background for William's audience. Be forewarned: The Introduction contains spoilers, so perhaps its better to read it after you've completed the play yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A morel to be learned

    Even though this book takes alot of analizing, once you understand the story your heart and soul goes into it! The end would extremly capture your mind and your heart will feel good. Shakespear can also be read for enjoyment like other books. I recomened students to read Shakespeare for fun and respond to it themselfs. This was my favorite!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    your bound to read shakespeare

    In school there will come a time when you'll have to read Shakespeare. A midsummer night's dream is funny at times.(mostly because of how ridiculous the story gets).Make sure you understand who's in love with who since this changes many times throughout the book.This edition is a good choice since it has notes that help you understand the Shakespearean language better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2003

    A Word From A Bottom

    This was a very great story and the Folgier Library edition is wonderful. I played the charectar Bottom in a reproduction of this play and it has help me to understand what certain phrases and words mean by the notes that are written next to each page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2002

    This will make you Love Shakepeare!

    This book was sooo great! The story is cute, charming, and funny. And the movie (newest version w/ Calistia Flockhart) is absolutely fabulous!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2002

    GOOD TALE

    I have not read this for years but it's truely excellent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2001

    one of shakespeare's best

    a romantic comedy that anyone would enjouy Just fun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2001

    midsummers night dream summary

    About lovers who are not able to get married because of her(Hermia's) father would like her to marry the man of his choice (demetrius) instead of her love (lysandder) tehy run off together (lysander&hermia) and then fairies put spells on demetrius so he loves anotehr woman named helena and then the father lets hermia marry lysander. Happy ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2000

    A Midsummer Night's Romp In The Woods

    This is one of my all-time favorite Shakespeare plays. The theme of romance(with a little magical help)is very evident in the story. It's very entertaining- even if you're just reading it. As an actor, one of my goals is to perform in this play, mostly in the role of Nick Bottom, a pompous actor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3