Customer Reviews for

A Midsummer's Nightmare

Average Rating 4.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

A MUST READ!!!!!!

This book is filled with love and hate that keeps you turning the pages and leaves you wanting more. "A Midsummers Nightmare" is possibly one of kody keplinger's best. I personally have read every single one of her books ,and this one is close to the top of my favorite ...
This book is filled with love and hate that keeps you turning the pages and leaves you wanting more. "A Midsummers Nightmare" is possibly one of kody keplinger's best. I personally have read every single one of her books ,and this one is close to the top of my favorite list, hands down. It is a light and happy read that will make you laugh, cry,and everything in between. When i started reading it i was expecting it to be about a stereotypical teenage girl with Daddy issues, but once again kody proved me wrong. The charachters are so well developed and raw with emotion that you get sucked into the book and it almost feels like you are part of the story.

I strongly recommend this book. whether it be for a day at the beach or just sitting around the house trying to pass the time, Whitley's adventure will keep you turning pages until the very end.

posted by 10149803 on June 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A lot of unneccessary bad language. Would not recommend this boo

A lot of unneccessary bad language. Would not recommend this book for younger reader

posted by 6448371 on September 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Chapter by Chapter's review of A Midsummer's Nightmare

    A Midummer’s Nightmare is a story that actually played close to my heart. No, not the falling for my step brother part, but the divorce, and the new family, and the feeling of belonging nowhere. When my parents divorced, I did act out, albeit not to the extent of main character Whitley Johnson, but still…there was some teenage angst. This story brought about some emotions that I had buried deep down, which in itself made it a read that I simply could not put down.

    So basically, Whitley is a party girl who has a good time but making out with random guys, drinking heavily, and repeating. She has just recently graduated from high school and the story opens up with the aftermath of the grad party. Oh yes, I’m sure we’ve all been there. Fun and hilarity I’m sure had ensued. At any rate, Whitley discovers that she has slept with some random hottie at the party. Not wanting any resemblance of a relationship, Whitley pretty much brushes him off.

    As the product of a divorced family, Whitley has been accustomed to spending her summers with her father, and hopes to make this summer an unforgettable one in which she spends her last summer before college with her father. Little does she know, that her dad has other plans in mind. He has dropped the M bomb on Whitley. He’s getting married again in the fall, which he had failed to mention to Whitley. I mean, he didn’t even mention that he was serious about someone. It was this part of the story that kind of irked me. I know that families are different…I know life is busy…but how do you not mention that you are planning to marry someone to your own daughter? I mean, I would think that when discussions of things getting serious were laid out on the table, the “other half” would insist upon meeting the significant other’s fruit of their loins? Maybe that’s just me…

    At any rate, the bomb has been dropped, and rather than give Whitley the opportunity to even let this information sink in, he takes her to their new home to meet the new family. Wowzaa! I mean, helloooo, awkward situation much! And speaking of awkward situations, it turns out that the son of Whitely’s fiancée, Sylvia, is the dude that Whitley hooked up with, Nathan. Talk about uncomfortable situations.

    Whitley must now learn to deal with a new family, feelings that she may or may not have for Nathan, trying to find something that resembles a family, and a sudden reputation that has popped up as her being promiscuous.

    Keplinger has created a cast of characters that are true to themselves and bursting with personality. You can’t help but get caught up in the drama surrounding A Midsummer’s Nightmare. My heart was totally reaching out to Whitley feeling the pain that she was going through, and the confusion with the situation that has been thrust upon her. We watch as she continues her downward spiral, trying to deal with her issues. I couldn’t help but smile with the interaction between Whitley and Nathan, and laugh outwardly with the antics and flamboyant personality of Harrison, whom I absolutely adored to no end!

    Fans of contemporary reads will fall in love with A Midsummer’s Nightmare, and with the characters found within it’s pages.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    Kody Keplinger has this way of writing about ideas we take for g

    Kody Keplinger has this way of writing about ideas we take for granted and then turning your entire world upside down. Her books are laugh-out-loud funny and really appeal to my sense of humour with their tongue-in-cheek lines. 




    I knew that I loved Shut Out enough to read her next book, but A Midsummer's Nightmare is the book that sealed the deal for me and convinced me I'll read whatever Kody writes next. They aren't typically the books I'd choose for myself based off of cover and synopsis alone (I only read Shut Out because of the Greek-inspired story) and that's exactly what I love about them - how unexpected these books are for me.




    Reasons to Read: 




    1. Whitley is not your archetypal YA heroine:




    Every so often, I'll read a book with a girl who's acting out in rebellion in one way or another or is rather jaded for some reason. Very rarely do I read about a character that doesn't feel like they're trying too hard to do this, or who come across as kinda bratty. Whitley is one of those rare gems. She's the very definition of cynicism. She has a complicated love life - but doesn't whine about it. You kind of hate her at first, until those layers start peeling back - because she's the quintessential onion, like Shrek. I feel like the Catcher in the Rye comparison is a fair and good one.




    2. Cute nerdy crush? CHECK:
    I know I can't be the only girl who swoons a little at a cute boy who loves his Star Wars. And other sci fi fun! Nathan was a sweetheart and a half - very Cricket à la Lola and the Boy Next Door. And I appreciated that he really grew as a character all on his own, and it wasn't all about Whitney's maturity and changes. Because frankly, he does some really stupid things.




    3. Highlights issues many books shy away from:




    What happens when you get a girl who uses a guy for selfish reasons? Just read Whitley's story. We always hear about the guy using the girl, but I thought this was some very poignant role reversal. And some binge drinking issues that don't get talked about as much as other problems do. I love that Kody never shies away from hard topics. Love, love, love it.




    A Midsummer's Nightmare is far from a light, flawless little story. Quite honestly? It's extremely heartbreaking. This is the story of some young people that very rarely gets shared so openly. But I can understand why some readers may not enjoy it, because it could be very hard to relate to at the beginning when Whitley is heavy into her partying lifestyle. Few will empathize, and some will sympathize, but I'm aware a number of readers just won't get it. 




    But for those of us who do get it? It'll rock your world. 




    ARC received from Hachette Canada for review; no other compensation was received. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1