BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Midsummer's Nightmare

Average Rating 4.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A MUST READ!!!!!!

This book is filled with love and hate that keeps you turning the pages and leaves you wanting more. "A Midsummers Nightmare" is possibly one of kody keplinger's best. I personally have read every single one of her books ,and this one is close to the top of my favorite ...
This book is filled with love and hate that keeps you turning the pages and leaves you wanting more. "A Midsummers Nightmare" is possibly one of kody keplinger's best. I personally have read every single one of her books ,and this one is close to the top of my favorite list, hands down. It is a light and happy read that will make you laugh, cry,and everything in between. When i started reading it i was expecting it to be about a stereotypical teenage girl with Daddy issues, but once again kody proved me wrong. The charachters are so well developed and raw with emotion that you get sucked into the book and it almost feels like you are part of the story.

I strongly recommend this book. whether it be for a day at the beach or just sitting around the house trying to pass the time, Whitley's adventure will keep you turning pages until the very end.

posted by 10149803 on June 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A lot of unneccessary bad language. Would not recommend this boo

A lot of unneccessary bad language. Would not recommend this book for younger reader

posted by 6448371 on September 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    A MUST READ!!!!!!

    This book is filled with love and hate that keeps you turning the pages and leaves you wanting more. "A Midsummers Nightmare" is possibly one of kody keplinger's best. I personally have read every single one of her books ,and this one is close to the top of my favorite list, hands down. It is a light and happy read that will make you laugh, cry,and everything in between. When i started reading it i was expecting it to be about a stereotypical teenage girl with Daddy issues, but once again kody proved me wrong. The charachters are so well developed and raw with emotion that you get sucked into the book and it almost feels like you are part of the story.

    I strongly recommend this book. whether it be for a day at the beach or just sitting around the house trying to pass the time, Whitley's adventure will keep you turning pages until the very end.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    This book is actually the best book i've read all year long. PLE

    This book is actually the best book i've read all year long. PLEASE read this, you WONT regret it at all. I stayed up all night just reading this book and it had me laughing and crying and everything else . . . :)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    :)

    FINISHED IT IN LIKE 4HRS .! IT WAS GREAT

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    Literally been reading this since I got this from my mailbox yes

    Literally been reading this since I got this from my mailbox yesterday afternoon. First I just have to say that this has totally cemented my love for Kody Keplinger's writing. The Duff is one of my absolute favorite books and A Midsummer's Nightmare goes one step further. Ok this title couldn't be more perfect for describing this story. Everything is going wrong for the MC, Whitley. We meet her when she wakes up with a stranger who she slept with the night before. Yes Whitley is a huge party girl who has been drinking and going to parties since she got to high school. Her summer starts off with a one night stand, which is something she doesn't do, and only gets worse when her dad picks her up the next day. Whitley lives full time with her mom in a whole other state. Her mom hates her dad with a passion even after 6 years being divorced. All that time has pretty much made her a zombie who pays no attention to Whitley unless she needs to vent her anger about her dad. So every summer for 6 years is the only time Whitley can spend time with her dad. They stay at his condo on Lake Michigan and just chill the whole time. This summer not only did he move into a house in the suburbs but he is also engaged. Not only that, her future stepbrother is the guy she slept with at the graduation party . One huge nightmare after the other for Whitley so i don't blame her one bit for acting out. I loved all the references to The Duff. No you don't have to read it to read A Midsummer's Nightmare but it was exciting to see connections with these two books. We finally and officially meet Harrison who quickly turns into Whitley's best friend. We only knew his name from The Duff so it was great to get to know him. Even Wes and Bianca are in a scene which was pretty funny. What I loved most is nothing overshadowed the issues that Whitley was dealing with. She lives with her psycho mom, her dad is paying more attention to his new family, and her brother lives across the country and has a family of his own. Whitley goes through a lot of changes in one summer and I was very proud of her. This was a very emotional read and I literally felt everything she did. Overall A Midsummer's Nightmare completely blew me away and I highly recommend reading it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    i love this book

    i love this book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Yup, Kody is one of my favorite authors. I don't care what that

    Yup, Kody is one of my favorite authors. I don't care what that chick writes, I'll read it. She keeps the teen scene real. She doesn't write her characters the way that society thinks they should be written, she writes them the way that teens are. She even gives her characters real life issues who do really stupid things. I LOVE Kody's writing.

    Okay now that my author gushing is out of the way, lets talk about Whitley. Whitley has some serious daddy complex issues. Her parents got divorced when she was young and she never sees her father, except during the summer months. Her mother never remarried and her brother moved away and got married so there was never a male figure in her life. She doesn't realize that she has any issues though, to her, life is a bunch of drunken nights and hookups. Her mom doesn't care about what she does and it isn't until she finds herself meeting her father's new family that she realizes what a difference a "family" can make.

    I like that the author gave Nate some struggles of his own. After his father passed away, Nate took to drinking and drugs. He was out of control for a few years and it isn't until he hooked up with a chick who totally brushes him off the next morning that he realizes that his partying isn't so great anymore. Then the poor guy gets kicked in the balls when he meets his soon to be step-dad's daughter, the one and only "bang & bounce", Whitley. (okay I totally made up the whole bang & bounce, that's not her nickname) So now he's saddled for the summer with the chick who totally blew him off after they slept together and to make matters worse, her crazy party ways are having a negative impact on his 13 year old sister.

    The cast of characters were awesome in this book. I thought the secondary characters were great, from the gay friend who wasn't your typical stereotypical "gay guy" in a book (You know what I'm talking about) to the younger sister who is excited to have an older sister and looks up to Whitley and even the step-mom who is trying to be attentive and make Whitley feel comfortable in her new environment. Very rarely to I like ALL of the extra characters in a story but I did with this one.

    It seems like sex is a huge theme with Kody. The DUFF was a girl who has sex with the guy who called her the "designated ugly fat friend", Shut Out was a jock chick who gets her team members and friends to withhold sex from their boyfriends for the season, and then of course this one with Whitley who is so majorly messed up and out of control. However, with all the other stories, the characters see their ways, right the wrongs and they get a HEA. In this case, it took her scandalous behavior being broadcast via a Facebook group page in order for her to see how wild she'd become.

    Yes there is a lot of drinking that takes place in this story but the author shows the consequences of such behavior. She didn't sugar coat what happens due to Whitley's partying. She always shows the fall out to everything that happens in her books. This is a great book and I cannot wait to see what she comes out with next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2014

    Recommend!

    This is really very good. I fell in love with the cast of characters, especially Nathan! Whitley's intimate thoughts and struggles with her life in a stepfamily were hard to walk away from, I read the book straight through! I was seduced by the romance as well, and was rooting for a happy ending! This book is a pleasant surprise. I definitely recommend it.

    S.A.K.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Great book

    Amazin amazing amazing.... wow

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    To start off I give Kody Keplinger 5 stars for simply having the

    To start off I give Kody Keplinger 5 stars for simply having the courage to write a story like this. It is my first book I've read by her and I know that it can be a truly touchy subject to write about, but I think more people need to be aware of what their children are doing. It's happens constantly. 




    Whitley is going to be staying with her dad for the summer after graduating high school like she has every summer since her parents divorced. Her mom still is hung up on her dad, and really doesn't pay much attention to what Whit does. Since she was 14, she's been partying, drinking, and not caring about the outcomes. Now she is a summer away from going to University of Kentucky and she can't wait. In this book Whitley complains alot but it wasn't aggravating. her complaints were justifiable. Her dad has been a bachelor and her friend not her father for a long time, now he is getting married and has a new family. The problem he doesn't tell Whit until she is at his house. 




    Here she meets her new family and comes face to face with the guy she had a one night stand with after getting drunk at a graduation party. Awkward??? Yes! the relationship between Nathan and Whit is sweet and helps her come to terms with why she does the things she does. Then she meets Harrison. Who she thinks she can hook up with, but gets rejected...he's...gay. This book was a really story I do recommend reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Really great book

    In the begining you may have trouble relating to Whitley but don't give up! It gets really good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    This book was phenomenal. The fact that the charaters had so many things going on that also intertwined with other's plans made the book keep you on your toes. I coculdn't imagine what this girl went through, but finding herself and finally talking to everyone about that she wanted was a big relief. If I didn't remember what happened, I would read it over and over again, but I'll just settle for reading it every few months or so.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    A MUST READ!!!!

    This is a really great book!! You have to buy it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    With its blend of wit, humor, and angst, Whitley has one of the

    With its blend of wit, humor, and angst, Whitley has one of the most compelling voices that I've come across in YA lit. Ever since her parents' divorce, Whitley has been a girl who parties hard and acts recklessly out of a feeling of abandonment from her parents. When she's feeling down, she turns to the buzz that alcohol and partying give her. Normally, this kind of behavior would estrange me from the character. Instead, Whitley's flaws serve to make her a very relatable character and all the more endearing. Rather than waiting for her to crash, I hoped that Whitley could turn around. I hoped that she would rely on the characters supporting her.

    Out of all the side characters, Bailey has the most influence on Whitley, as the younger girl reminds Whitley of herself at that age: young and innocent, eager to fit in with the "big kids" in high school. Nathan is the next most influential, being Whitley's one-night stand and someone to whom she's attracted. At first, he seems innocent and used and Whitley hard and uncaring in comparison. However, we get to know more of him over the course of the novel, and he turns out to be the most warmhearted and genuine guy in Whitley's life. I love their chemistry and friendship equally well. And then there's Harrison, her new friend with an incredible fashion sense. He's always there to support her when she needs someone outside her messed up family life to listen.

    The story has themes of family, love, and the party scene. I did feel that the family element wasn't as fully explored as it could have been. Whitley's father is well-rounded, though he is consistently absent. I didn't feel get to know Whitley's brother as far as a guy who cares about her but can't be there for her, and her mother is someone who only knows how to complain about her ex-husband. Still, the novel does end where it should: on a note of hope and with a gorgeous summer scene.

    A Midsummer's Nightmare has been one of my favorite summer reads. It has swoonworthy romance, a summer vacataion, and characters with attitude. Keplinger has addressed some topics that many teens can relate to in a manner that will captivate audiences and have them alternately laughing and crying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    A must read book

    The book was so good i couldnt put it down. When i first got the book i was excited to read. Im mean who isnt excited to read about drama like this? I did a report on it nd i had to present in front of the class. My whole english class was taken back at how things unfold. Its a must read book! :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    A Must Read

    Could not put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    luuuuuvvv it

    a must read absolutlyyy luved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    :-)

    Laughed cried smiled got pissed at characters fell in love with characters. Great book. Worth the read. 9.89 outta 10 loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    Here's a first: I'm almost speechless. Not because I didn't like

    Here's a first: I'm almost speechless. Not because I didn't like the book (I loved it). Not because I have nothing to say (you know me better than that). I'm struggling because I have so much to say. A Midsummer's Nightmare struck such a nerve with me, and I have a lot of feelings about the themes. Apparently.

    So first off, let me start with Whitley. This girl, she's not easy to love. At all. I spent the first half of the book wanting to smack the crap out of her. She's rude, abrasive, swears so much she even got on my nerves (tough feat, as I'm quite the accomplished potty mouth), and is just an all-around beyotch. The girl had a hot, sweet guy who wanted more than a one-night stand; she turns him down, harshly. She has a new almost-step family who genuinely wants to embrace her; she barely tolerates them. She has the opportunity to make true friends; she keeps her distance. All these things about Whitley made me almost struggle with the book.

    But then, it hit me, all of these aversions were a reflection of Whitley and the way she uses them in her own life. Because the deal is, if you don't let people close to you, they can't hurt you. In theory. You can pretend that the things people say about you doesn't hurt, because you they're not your friends and you know it's not true. And hey, when your parents pay zero attention to you, any attention is good attention, right?? But the fact of the matter is, words hurt, bad perceptions hurt, can even cause you harm or danger, and that's a lesson the Whitley must learn. That fact that Whitley undergoes this journey towards self-worth, self-esteem was not something that expected when I began reading A Midsummer's Nightmare. But I found it the most moving, thought-provoking theme in the book.

    If you haven't read the book yet, you don't know Nathan Caulfield. You must remedy that immediately! And I'll say it, I love good guys in my books. Yes, bad boys can be a lot of fun, but I'll take the good guy any day of the week. Nathan is Whitley's soon-to-be step-brother, with whom she has a funny, and cringe-worthy connection. Nathan was my favorite character in the story. He is practically perfect, in a non-annoying way: handsome, smart, a bit nerdy, athletic, and is so sweet and generous to his family. But Nathan has a few issues of his own, and Whitley learns that perception does not equal reality. That maybe she's capable of hurting others in the same way she's been hurt.

    I wish more books like A Midsummer's Nightmare had been around when I was a teen. Were there any books like this in the 90s? If they were out there, I didn't know about them. Teen girls now are so lucky. Yes, society is a cruel place sometimes. But they have so many resources now, books out there that can help them in many situations, with characters that can help see them through. Kody Keplinger. Wow. This young lady is brilliant. I've heard a lot about her books, but haven't read any. If A Midsummer's Nightmare is any indication of her talent, I will definitely be reading the rest.

    I could talk for days about this book. It took me an hour to read the last few chapters because I kept getting teary-eyed and choked up with emotions. The level of growth that Whitley experiences is remarkable. The amount of love that Whitley finds herself embraced in, despite her best efforts, was almost overwhelming. A Midsummer's Nightmare is a book that I find myself in awe of and it will be treasured. I can't recommend it highly enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    AMAZINGGG

    One of my favorite books ive read. I went to barnes & noble today and i finished it todayy. I just had to find out what happened with whitney. One of my favorite books ever. Its a MUST read for summerm

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Kody does it again!

    Kody Kepliger has done it again. A Midsummer's Nightmare is a book I easily fell in love with from the beginning. She has a way of making her stories about so much more than a love story. She involves family issues, self reflection, and friendships. It's everything you could want in a contemporary and more.

    We start off with Whitley Johnson, who wakes up in bed with a stranger. She doesn't remember much about the party but she knows she slept with this boy. Whitley continues with her normal way and tries to forget about him. She's going to live with her father for the summer and she's excited about it until she finds out her dad has moved, is engaged, and his fiancé's son... Just happens to be the boy she just recently had a one night stand with. So much for a great summer before college, right?

    Whitley is one of those girls who get the terrible rep, who act the part, but really haven't done the things to back it up. A girl who's just been living the life dealt to her. I loved watching her change from the girl she is in the beginning to who she becomes in the end. She's tough, fun, and gorgeous and by the end of the book she finally puts all her good qualities in the right place. And I was so happy for her.

    There's also Nathan. Who I absolutely adore. He's exactly what you would consider the perfect "hot nerd". He admits to not being a saint, but overall he's a huge sweetheart with an innocent heart. He's build, sexy, cares about his sister, is smart, a basketball player, loves computers and sci-fi ... I mean come on! How can you not love this kid? Not to mention how many boys get out of bed at 3am to come rescue you? I adored watching his and Whitley's relationship grow. Watching each of them turn into something for the other that they both so desperately needed.

    This book touches on family and inner issues in such a right way. I'm sure so many people can relate to divorces, being ignored, needing an escape, and maybe not having as many friends as you wanted. Kody weaves her story so beautifully and I was rooting for the characters the whole way through! Also, Harrison as a best friend would totally rock in so many ways!

    I read this book in a few hours because I simply could not put it down. If you want a quick read that is sure to have you smiling, feeling lots of emotion, yet leaving an ending that is loads of contentment and happiness. Definitely pick this one up!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2