Customer Reviews for

A Moment

Average Rating 4.5
( 315 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(190)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

A Moment by Marie Hall The Moment Series Book 1 Ryan Cosgrove is

A Moment by Marie Hall
The Moment Series Book 1
Ryan Cosgrove is a man with demons. The biggest night of their haunting is on Valentines Day and it has once again arrived. This year he’s tired of fighting them, at twenty-five he’s been fighting this battle for fifteen y...
A Moment by Marie Hall
The Moment Series Book 1
Ryan Cosgrove is a man with demons. The biggest night of their haunting is on Valentines Day and it has once again arrived. This year he’s tired of fighting them, at twenty-five he’s been fighting this battle for fifteen years. He’s made the decision this will be the last year. Then the unexpected happens, a green eyed beauty enters his life and she’s determined to save him.




Liliana Delgado has had quite a hard life. Pregnant at a young age, an autistic son, her mother is ill and more. She has chosen not to date in the seven years since her son was born. The one night she agrees to go out with Alex, only as friends, her life changes. Lili likes to try and save people and Alex’s cousin Ryan is definitely in need of saving.




This story is intense at times. It is worth reading but don't go into it thinking it's a warm and fuzzy romance. You'd be disappointed. There is definitely romance but the road to love is definitely an unkept back road, bumpy with plenty of deep ruts. Ryan had something really bad happen when he was young and he’d rather bury it then tell Lili the truth. Only when you bury things that aren’t dead, they find a way to always come back. Book two in the series will be Alex's story, Right Now.
**Sexual Content and Language

posted by JutzieDV on April 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Headache Inducing

Ryan is dark and has a horrible secret. Yeah, I got that the first 50 times it was stated....just get on with the story already! The story just lagged and then dragged for me. I have read reviews that said people cried while reading this book and I'm completely perplex...
Ryan is dark and has a horrible secret. Yeah, I got that the first 50 times it was stated....just get on with the story already! The story just lagged and then dragged for me. I have read reviews that said people cried while reading this book and I'm completely perplexed by that notion. I was able to finish the book by just skimming. The author doesn't explore the victim's feelings other than to say he hates himself and feels dirty. I'm sure the second book will be something along the lines of 'Alex feels guilty and hates himself'. No thanks, I'll spend my time and money elsewhere!

posted by Anonymous on September 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 315 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 16
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Wonderful

    **I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review**

    I really enjoyed reading this book. I liked getting to know these characters, and the way they dealt with the situations they faced seemed quite real to me.

    What I liked about Liliana’s character is her strength. She has been through so much in her life, and she has had incredible burdens to bear. When we meet her she is a 21 year old college student who is trying to work, take care of her Mother who has a degenerative disease, and raise her 7 year old autistic son. Her time is full to say the least. Because she got pregnant so young she chooses not to ever date.

    Ryan’s character was a little harder for me to pin down. He seems like the dark and broody, super-hot bad boy. But the boy has some serious demons that have been slowly killing him for years. It is hard to talk about Ryan and not give away his story, so I will just say that I felt deeply for him and his struggle. I felt the author did a very good job of telling a very difficult story. What happened to Ryan and the aftermath of that event is something that is rarely spoken of, but occurs all too often.

    Here is where Liliana’s strength is so important. She has been a caretaker, putting part of her life on hold, to focus on others. When she meets Ryan, events thrust her headlong into the middle of his dark world. She literally saves his life and he begins to see her as an angel. I liked the chemistry Liliana and Ryan have and I really like that he was so accepting of her son. Two people with so much stacked against them would surely have a hard time finding true love. The author made me believe in these two and the promise of love. The book does not have a religious tone, but there is one point when the Bible passage 1 Corinthians 13 is quoted. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. I think that really defines the Lili’s strength and the power of love.

    The title of the book refers to the moments in life that seem inconsequential at the time, but have a profound effect on the future. For me those events all led up to the point Lili and Ryan were ready for this love.

    I can't wait to read the companion novel called Right Now which will focus on Ryan’s cousin Alex.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2013

    3.5 stars   A MOMENT is the first storyline in Marie Hall¿s new

    3.5 stars   A MOMENT is the first storyline in Marie Hall’s new adult, contemporary romance Moments series.  The first installment focuses on Ryan Cosgrove-a twenty five year old MMA fighter with demons buried so deep, the pain and suffering in the ring are the only thing keeping the memories at bay; and Liliana Delgado-a twenty one year old, single mother of a seven year old autistic child who works nights to keep food on the table and attends college to ensure her son has a future.
    A Moment is a storyline filled with characters that have suffered and loss at the hands of someone they trusted.  It is a study in poor family dynamics where the children are made to suffer for the sins of the parents.  But the children are now adults themselves, and the demons from their past surface time and again.  
    What the reader is faced with are several moments in the life of two people who want to be loved and to love. From their first non-moment seeing each other seven years earlier to the last moment in the book, Marie Hall takes the reader on an emotional journey of heartbreak and sorrow, betrayal and pain, and finally acceptance by the one person you care most about in the world. 
    Liliana is a strong and independent female character but at the end of the day she is like everyone else-she wants to be needed as more than a mother and a daughter.  Ryan is a man bordering on the edge of sell-destruction.  Fear of losing the woman that he loves, he begins to push Lili away without explanation.  It is only when he finally reveals the truth to the nightmares and pain, will Ryan begin the long journey towards healing and self-acceptance.
    The storyline reads like a psychiatric nightmare-sexual abuse, teen pregnancy, autistic children, dying parents, betrayal and aggression. The expression ‘home is where the heart lies’ is true when Ryan’s heart lies with Liliana Delgado.  There is no looking back-only forward, and A Moment will end with one couple looking towards a future where the demons can finally be buried-once and for all.
    I had a few issues with this particular storyline or perhaps it was the writing.  There were some problems with grammar and spelling, as well as character switch-a-roo.  Many times the names would be reversed; characters would be talking to and about themselves; but a good editor would catch all these problems.  If a reader can locate that many problems, a proof-reader and editor should be able to correct the issues before publication. 
    A MOMENT is an interesting storyline about two people who crossed paths-one moment in time- and their lives would be forever connected the moment they meet again seven years later.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Surprisingly Good

    Good read. Nearly 600 pages. If you hear people mention a second book its because she is writing about another character. No cliffhangers or sequels here thank goodness.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Loved this book... another GREAT author for me to follow

    Loved this book... another GREAT author for me to follow

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    Loved It!!

    Loved It!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Worth every penny!

    This book is about more than just one difficult topic. It brings to light the ugly realty many people have had to live with and many others who just couldn't. It is well written and full of characters that are easy to love. Im looking forward to book 2.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2014

    Not a Favorite

    I had high hopes for this book but it fell short.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2014

    Real life

    Glad you were able to bring to light what happens to do many. Hopefully brings them to one more step at finding peace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2014

    g Great

    Found it hard to put dowm

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    :)

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    Language

    Ok read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    Loved It!

    I couldn't put this book down! I really got drawn into this story and my heart really broke for Ryan. I got this book as part of a bundle of books together. This one was mt favorite by far. The subject matter was difficult at times, and if you can't handle reading about suicide and child abuse then it's not the book for you. I really loved all the characters and I am really looking forward to continuing with the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I wasn¿t sure what to make of it. There¿s one of three things th

    I wasn’t sure what to make of it. There’s one of three things that drive me to choose a book. 1. The Blurb. 2. The Cover 3. The Title. So when this book landed in my hands for a review request I confess, I didn’t read the blurb. I didn’t look at the cover. The title is pretty basic, not very foretelling. I started reading with no pretense, and I didn’t want to stop. Unfortunately, I had to sleep.
    This book is emotional, gripping, and inspirational. It tackles not one, but two difficult subject matters. Hidden in those subjects is “the fight”, to never give up. To be strong and carry on. Even in the darkest of times.
    I suggest snatching a box of tissues when you read this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2014

    An intense read

    A good read although I am not crazy about the subject of suicide, the author did a good job of intertwing that subject with the problem of autism; not real believable in a few spots

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Emotional

    Whhaat an emotional journey!! Getting "Right now"....right now. Have done nothing all day but read..... it is one of those books that make you feel every word and believe all the emotion Marie Hall is making you feel for the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    READ HERE

    This book is amazing ! I loved it . I couldnt stop reading it !! Cant wait for the next one to come out ! (:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2014

    Loved this story, a great love story...a must read

    Loved this story, a great love story...a must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    Heavy

    I found myself wanting to cry from beginning to end on this book. I did enjoy how it was written and with each character I just wanted to jump in the book and hug them. I don't normally like to read such heavy (real-life) situations but I couldn't stop reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Love it

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    GREAT STORY

    I absolutely loved this book. I know from experience that a person's soul really is delicate. A Moment cleary shows how this plays out in life and I'm glad there is something out there that people can relate to. Thois book is an amazing love story that keeps your interest. You will not want to put it down once you start it. There is not one part it this book that I do not love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 315 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 16