BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Mutiny in Time (Infinity Ring Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Great New Series!

Dak Smyth and Sera Froste had no idea what would happen to them when Sera fixed Dak’s parent’s invention, the Infinity Ring. The Infinity Ring allows someone to travel back in time with anyone touching them. The Historians (a group of people who try to change the things...
Dak Smyth and Sera Froste had no idea what would happen to them when Sera fixed Dak’s parent’s invention, the Infinity Ring. The Infinity Ring allows someone to travel back in time with anyone touching them. The Historians (a group of people who try to change the things that went wrong in the past) find out about the Infinity Ring and bring Dak and Sera to their HQ. When the SQ (the evil government controlling the US and maybe other countries) find out, they attack the Historian base. Two of the leaders tells Riq, a juvenile Historian agent, to go with Dak and Sera on their adventures. The kids go to Spain, 1492, where the Amancio brothers were about to set sail to find the quickest route to India but find America instead (according to the history they know). The kids arrive just in time to stop a mutiny aboard the ship. It turns out that the Amancio brothers were trying to overthrow some guy named Columbus (who was kind of a mean guy) and take over his three ships (you can guess what the ships are named ;) ). Will the kids save history? This is an AWESOME first book to the new series! Like The 39 Clues series, each of the books in this series is written by a different author but the new series is very different from The 39 Clues. The Infinity Ring is set in a dystopian world where the main characters (three kids) have to travel in time to fix whatever is wrong with history. I LOVED ”A Mutiny in TIme”! Mr. Dashner put a lot of action, adventure, and excitement in he book! I really liked how Mr. Dashner wrote a lot of humor and sarcasm in the dialogue of the characters. The main characters are Riq, Dak and Sera. Riq was just cool. He was fluent in 16 languages (which is cool). Dak is the “history” expert, which I think will come in handy. Sera is pretty scientific. I like scientists. I like the format of the series (much like The 39 Clues) where a different author writes each book. I think it’s cool to read how each author changes he story a little. I also like how these stories involve time-travel and history. I recommend this book to kids 9+ and young advanced readers.

posted by This_Kid_Reviews_Books on September 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

A Mutiny in Time is a story about 3 kids who travel back in time

A Mutiny in Time is a story about 3 kids who travel back in time to fix history before the world ends. I liked the twist in this story that unlike traditional time-travel stories, they are supposed to change things. The historic details that aren’t accurate amused me. ...
A Mutiny in Time is a story about 3 kids who travel back in time to fix history before the world ends. I liked the twist in this story that unlike traditional time-travel stories, they are supposed to change things. The historic details that aren’t accurate amused me. I think a lot of kids would be clever enough to know whose faces should really be on Mount Rushmore. It would have been fun to see and learn more history (I mean besides the random facts that came out of Dak). The characters and their quirks made me chuckle. One thing I didn’t get was why the villain wanted to destroy the world?? Her motivations weren’t really clear to me, but I’m hoping that we’ll find out more about the bad guys (aka the SQ) and their motivations later on in the series. Wanting power for power’s sake does not make interesting villains. Other than that, the author did a good job with playing with your expectations a little with a nice action-filled plot. The story was a lot of fun, adventurous, and didn’t feel predictable.

Game Review

One of the really fun things about this book is the online game component. The book comes with a map that has clues to help with the game. It also had a lot of cool facts from history presented in a nice way. The game was simple, fun, and full of puzzles and mini-missions. I did find the wagon mini-mission to be very finnicky and a little tedious, but I enjoyed the game overall and played it over a few days. Just FYI – the game is an app as well as on the Internet, but they don’t sync up. Meaning however far you get on one doesn’t transfer over to the other. But otherwise the game is exactly the same whether you play it on your phone or the internet.

posted by booksatruestory on November 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    Great New Series!

    Dak Smyth and Sera Froste had no idea what would happen to them when Sera fixed Dak’s parent’s invention, the Infinity Ring. The Infinity Ring allows someone to travel back in time with anyone touching them. The Historians (a group of people who try to change the things that went wrong in the past) find out about the Infinity Ring and bring Dak and Sera to their HQ. When the SQ (the evil government controlling the US and maybe other countries) find out, they attack the Historian base. Two of the leaders tells Riq, a juvenile Historian agent, to go with Dak and Sera on their adventures. The kids go to Spain, 1492, where the Amancio brothers were about to set sail to find the quickest route to India but find America instead (according to the history they know). The kids arrive just in time to stop a mutiny aboard the ship. It turns out that the Amancio brothers were trying to overthrow some guy named Columbus (who was kind of a mean guy) and take over his three ships (you can guess what the ships are named ;) ). Will the kids save history? This is an AWESOME first book to the new series! Like The 39 Clues series, each of the books in this series is written by a different author but the new series is very different from The 39 Clues. The Infinity Ring is set in a dystopian world where the main characters (three kids) have to travel in time to fix whatever is wrong with history. I LOVED ”A Mutiny in TIme”! Mr. Dashner put a lot of action, adventure, and excitement in he book! I really liked how Mr. Dashner wrote a lot of humor and sarcasm in the dialogue of the characters. The main characters are Riq, Dak and Sera. Riq was just cool. He was fluent in 16 languages (which is cool). Dak is the “history” expert, which I think will come in handy. Sera is pretty scientific. I like scientists. I like the format of the series (much like The 39 Clues) where a different author writes each book. I think it’s cool to read how each author changes he story a little. I also like how these stories involve time-travel and history. I recommend this book to kids 9+ and young advanced readers.

    16 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Mutiny in Time is a story about 3 kids who travel back in time

    A Mutiny in Time is a story about 3 kids who travel back in time to fix history before the world ends. I liked the twist in this story that unlike traditional time-travel stories, they are supposed to change things. The historic details that aren’t accurate amused me. I think a lot of kids would be clever enough to know whose faces should really be on Mount Rushmore. It would have been fun to see and learn more history (I mean besides the random facts that came out of Dak). The characters and their quirks made me chuckle. One thing I didn’t get was why the villain wanted to destroy the world?? Her motivations weren’t really clear to me, but I’m hoping that we’ll find out more about the bad guys (aka the SQ) and their motivations later on in the series. Wanting power for power’s sake does not make interesting villains. Other than that, the author did a good job with playing with your expectations a little with a nice action-filled plot. The story was a lot of fun, adventurous, and didn’t feel predictable.

    Game Review

    One of the really fun things about this book is the online game component. The book comes with a map that has clues to help with the game. It also had a lot of cool facts from history presented in a nice way. The game was simple, fun, and full of puzzles and mini-missions. I did find the wagon mini-mission to be very finnicky and a little tedious, but I enjoyed the game overall and played it over a few days. Just FYI – the game is an app as well as on the Internet, but they don’t sync up. Meaning however far you get on one doesn’t transfer over to the other. But otherwise the game is exactly the same whether you play it on your phone or the internet.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    Awesome

    Awesome

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    The infinity ring

    This is the best book ever. I love this book.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Soooo good

    I stayed up till 1:00 in the morning reading this book sooooooooooooo good so awesome

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    This sounds very interesting!

    This series is to be made of seven or more books.The first book "A Muntiny In Time" releases August28,2012. The second book Divide and Conquer releases November6,2012.

    5 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    not to bad

    i am 17 and i found the book just ok. the humor in it is really well done, plot is ok. the story is really quick compared to what i am used to but its ment for ayounger audince. over all it was well done. it made me laugh allot and a nice book that i would share with anyone.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Awesome

    Loved it! This book was awsome and very similar to the 39 clues series. I will recommend this book to anyone!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Hi

    Never read it saw it in school stalastic magizine now am dieing to read it hope to get sound great : )

    3 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    My review

    If youike history mixed in with comedy you will like this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    It looks good.

    It looks like a great book.

    2 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Cool

    I really like the series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    SOOOO GOOD

    Love it and hope whoever reads fhis reads the book ;) ;>
    P.S hope you like eyeball

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    JAKE BENZICK

    GREAT BOOK AND THE series is amazing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Awesome

    It was filled with lofs of action and suprises. I highley recomend it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    great for youth

    this was a creative story about some things in history just don't happen as we learned in text books. it is a great read for youth, as it is very easy to read and understand. the discussion of time travel and changing the past can be very difficult in terms of the theoretical aspects of it, but was not discussed in depth, easing the flow of the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Characters

    Facts:
    Dak- boy; Sera's best friend; loves history and... cheese
    Sera- girl; Dak's best friend; loves science and being in charge
    Riq- boy; Hystorian; translator; loves languages and being right

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    The Infinity Ring series from Scholastic is one of the biggest n

    The Infinity Ring series from Scholastic is one of the biggest new ventures unfolding for Middle Grade books. With such a fantastic line up of authors behind these books, I was instantly curious to see how this series would turn out. 

    I'm a bit of a sucker for exciting, epic adventures as part of the Middle Grade genre, and I quickly devoured A Mutiny in Time one morning. It's a great start to a new series, with an exciting pace held throughout the book, likeable characters and a world in danger to set the stakes high.

    REASONS TO READ:

    1. Action-packed from start to finish:

    I love a good book that can immediately draw me in, and I was amazed at how quickly I was sucked into the story in A Mutiny in Time. It ended up being a VERY fast read, particularly because of just how much action was going on and all the different events taking place. And I definitely have the feeling that this is something that will continue in the upcoming books in the series, as well.

    2. A "save the world" premise:

    I have no idea why, but there's something that really appeals to me about having kids and/or teens on a mission to save the world. I'm well aware of how implausible it is, but I just love it - maybe it's the underdog factor, or the idea that amazing things can come from some of the most surprising and unexpected people. I found the world created in this book fascinating because of how familiar it was in most ways, and yet different as it takes place in (what seems to be) the future with some very different past events.
    Time ninjas?:

    Admittedly, that sounds crazy - but it works REALLY well and that's basically what we see a lot of. Secret organizations fighting against each other THROUGHOUT TIME on missions to try and prevent the other side from suceeding and altering the present/future. And time travel just always seems to add an extra mysterious, exciting element to a story. And I LOVED the adventures through history, because I'm kind of a history geek myself.

    A mutiny in Time reminded me of most other Middle Grade books I've read, as they often feature a number of similar elements including anything from globetrotting to misfit geniuses, missing parents, and a serious underestimation of the damage kids can do. So while this book didn't stand out as much as I had HOPED it would, I am definitely interested in seeing how the books progress especially given that each book features a different prominent author. 

    On top of that, there are definitely some plot holes that I definitely felt could have been dealt with instead of being glossed over. Middle Grade shouldn't mean there's a lazy plot; if your characters are geniuses, keep in mind that your readers are intelligent too even if they are younger readers. It's okay to have slightly more complex storylines. However, it is possible that some of my problems will be addressed in later books.

    ARC received from Scholastic Canada for my honest review; no other compensation was received. 

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Awesome

    The fact that Sera had the Remnant that her parents would come somehow really gave a shaky start to the adventure to the Lab and the struggle with the Infinity Ring. I really loved the detail of the story and the plot.

    I have the Complimentary Teacher's Edition even though I am not a teacher. :-)

    I am barely reading the first part of the book ad I am already eye popped with the story jd the plot flow. It's a really awesome and exciting adventure in just 190 pages of intrest.

    Thank you for taking time for reading this review.

    Thank you James Dashner.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Love them

    Love the other books and can't wait for this one to come out.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6