Customer Reviews for

A Night to Remember

Average Rating 4
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

A Night To Remember

I have read many books abou the Titanic, but I feel I've never really known the truth about what happened that late April night until I read this book. A Night To Remember, by Walter Lord, tells a very accurate minute by minute account of what happened. His interviews...
I have read many books abou the Titanic, but I feel I've never really known the truth about what happened that late April night until I read this book. A Night To Remember, by Walter Lord, tells a very accurate minute by minute account of what happened. His interviews with First Class, Second Class, and steerage passengers as well as crew members gives many points of view to the events that occurred the night. Although the constant name changes and recollections can become a bit overwhelming, the message he's trying to get across is apparent. Everyone reacted differently. He also tries to inform readers that if any little thing had gone differently, hundreds of lives could have been saved.

posted by Anonymous on October 30, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

THIS BOOK SUCKS!!!!!

It is so boring! It goes on and on about the same thing! I'm reading it for school and it hasn't one bit of action! I don't even want to read the book and when i do homework on it, i have nothing to say!

posted by Anonymous on September 19, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2007

    A Night To Remember

    I have read many books abou the Titanic, but I feel I've never really known the truth about what happened that late April night until I read this book. A Night To Remember, by Walter Lord, tells a very accurate minute by minute account of what happened. His interviews with First Class, Second Class, and steerage passengers as well as crew members gives many points of view to the events that occurred the night. Although the constant name changes and recollections can become a bit overwhelming, the message he's trying to get across is apparent. Everyone reacted differently. He also tries to inform readers that if any little thing had gone differently, hundreds of lives could have been saved.

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Anomonyos

    I love this book it is on my special bookselve for only amazing books, and its worth the money!

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2009

    Thought it would be depressing

    I thought this would be morbid and utterly depressing, but I needed AR points. I love that this book is largely about the people who survived. Since eighth grade when I picked it out, I have read it three times and bought myself a copy. If you want something dramatic without too many tears, this is the book for you!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2008

    A Night To Remember Book Review

    The exciting nonfiction book, A Night To Remember by Walter Lord is a great read of anyone. A Night To Remember has all the detail about the sinking of the all famous Titanic. Walter Lord writes about the perspectives of real Titanic survivors. The theme of this great book are that things are not always what they seem. On the night of April 14, 1912, the mighty Titanic sent sail for her maiden voyage, but suddenly there was a collision with a iceberg. Most of the passengers were sleeping away in their cabins when a ¿grinding jar¿ noise came in the White Star Line ship. Some barely heard the noise, others heard the noise and knew it the ship hit an iceberg, and most of the passengers heard it and either went back to sleep or doing some sort of business. The crew and passengers didn¿t know what they were in for when the bow of the Titanic was leaning forward and the 2207 passengers had lifeboats for only 1157 passengers. One passenger quoted, ¿God Himself could not sink this ship.¿ The textual support of this book was excellent because Walter Lord himself interviewed many of the titanic survivors to get many kinds of views during the commotion and feelings in the ship. There was many connections people had in the ship, like some had there honeymoon there, but had to be separated because women and children had to go on the lifeboats first and maybe some men. It¿s like when you have to depart from your husband in the airport, but worst because he might not find another lifeboat for himself. But some wives wanted to stay with their husband instead of being safe in the lifeboats. The part when the almighty Titanic hits the iceberg, Walter Lord describes it very thoroughly and has many views from the passengers and crews to make the reader image and understand the actual crash of the ship. At the time when the chunks of ice flew on the White Star Line¿s deck, the passengers didn¿t scream and make a commotion, but instead picked up the pieces as ¿souvenirs.¿ When I was reading that part, I thought shouldn¿t they be scared because now there¿s a big hole in the ship that will sink the whole ship? Because of the sinking of the Titanic, nowadays in cruise ships the crew have an hour long safety procedure and the ship has enough lifeboats for all of the passengers and crew. A Night To Remember has the real and true facts about the crash of the Titanic.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2012

    This book has been around for a long time. The thing that shows

    This book has been around for a long time. The thing that shows its age, though, is in the epilogues, where survivors of the Titanic are quoted. Of course, there are no more survivors. The ship sank over 100 years ago. But this narrative, without falling prey to the standard approach of creating fictitious characters to focus on at the expense of the real-life characters who sailed on that fateful crossing, keeps the reader riveted right to the end of the story; i.e., when the Carpathia returns to NY with those pitiful few who survived. What follows is somewhat less riveting, although the section on the fanciful stories that proliferated at the time is fascinating. (I loved the one about the Newfoundland dog who swam next to a lifeboat, leading it to the Carpathia!) The book also lists every passenger by name, italicizing those who survived. If you ever go to Halifax, NS, check out the Titanic cemetery. It's amazing...and spooky. Anyway, this book is one of the greatest accounts of the disaster that there are. Highly recommended.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Amazing book you have got to read this book.

    Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaammmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaazzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzziiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiinnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnggggggggggggg book about the (unsinkable) titanic you have to read this book

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2006

    The accout to remember

    The first time i picked up this book i knew it was going to be good. As a history lover and Titanic freak this book had me from the first word. Walter Lord captures the truth of the night from points of view varying from the crew to first class leaving no story untouched and as for that sam guy on the page... you suck. How could anyone not like this book, it phenominal!.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    So Sad

    The thing that sticks with me most are the changes in maritime law that were made because, and they were such simple changes . . .

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2008

    AMAZING

    This book is off the chain, it gets you at the edge of your seat wondering what will happen next, i recommend this amazing book to anybody you won't regret it at all TRUST ME

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2007

    The Titanic sinking

    I thought the book A Night to Remember was great. There was a lot of suspense, which I liked. It kept me reading more and more without wanting to stop. It was very detailed to the smallest measure. There was so much detail that it took forever to get to the next big part. What I disliked was that it was very list for example the author would say Bruce Ismay got his watch and Charlotte Barkis got her jewels and so on. The book also doesn¿t have a main character it was all listing random names. I definitely think the author should have added a main character. I rate this book a four because it as to listy otherwise it would be a five.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2006

    THIS BOOK SUCKS!!!!!

    It is so boring! It goes on and on about the same thing! I'm reading it for school and it hasn't one bit of action! I don't even want to read the book and when i do homework on it, i have nothing to say!

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    Great book :)

    This book has so much detail about the night and it has many different perspectives of what was happening. Its a little hard to understand at first but after awhile its easier to get into. If you were wondering, the book has 10 chapters of the actual book the rest is facts and the table of contents. Altogether it was about 160ish pages. Thanks for reading?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Fast, fun read!

    I felt like the story was accurately told and that the author did his research. It did get slow after the retelling of the sinking of the ship but it picked up again and i couldn't put it down. Very short book. Not sure if i would buy again but i would go to the library for it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    Classic

    A nice feeling that you are there on the Titanic

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    An excellent read for the history buff who loves the story of th

    An excellent read for the history buff who loves the story of the Titanic. This author was the one who started the search for the ship

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Realativly good.

    I found this book really really good. The reason why I gave it four starts was because there are so many characters meanchened, that it was hard to keep up with them all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2012

    Dude! Read this book.

    Written when many Titantic survivors were still alive. British film, based on the book, is also excellent and viewable on you tube.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    The real deal

    This is a classic, and still worth reading. Of all the books and movies around about Titanic, this was written from interviews with survivors, information from newspapers and actual paperwork at the time, facts and fallacies alike. Of all the news reports on the event, only the Times actually said Titanic had sunk.Lord did not focus on any one passenger or group, but tried to give the reader an understanding of all those involved. Be sure to see the movie by the same title. Very well done with no known stars at the time. (David McCallum who played Bride, went on to become the more familiar Ilya Kuriaken in the Man from U.N.C.L.E. and more recently, Dr. Mallard of NCIS.)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    ?

    What are the ages for the book? :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    A amazing book

    This book was one of the best

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4