Customer Reviews for

A Night to Remember

Average Rating 4
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

A Night To Remember

I have read many books abou the Titanic, but I feel I've never really known the truth about what happened that late April night until I read this book. A Night To Remember, by Walter Lord, tells a very accurate minute by minute account of what happened. His interviews...
I have read many books abou the Titanic, but I feel I've never really known the truth about what happened that late April night until I read this book. A Night To Remember, by Walter Lord, tells a very accurate minute by minute account of what happened. His interviews with First Class, Second Class, and steerage passengers as well as crew members gives many points of view to the events that occurred the night. Although the constant name changes and recollections can become a bit overwhelming, the message he's trying to get across is apparent. Everyone reacted differently. He also tries to inform readers that if any little thing had gone differently, hundreds of lives could have been saved.

posted by Anonymous on October 30, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

THIS BOOK SUCKS!!!!!

It is so boring! It goes on and on about the same thing! I'm reading it for school and it hasn't one bit of action! I don't even want to read the book and when i do homework on it, i have nothing to say!

posted by Anonymous on September 19, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2015

    This book is amazing

    I love the Titanic story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    ?

    What are the ages for the book? :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    Boring and tedious. More information is available on Wikipedia.

    Boring and tedious. More information is available on Wikipedia.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Good

    It takes a while to get to thr point

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2013

    A non-fiction book on the true events of the sinking and final h

    A non-fiction book on the true events of the sinking and final hours of the Titanic. Well researched and compiled, this may have been the primary basis of other Titanic stories ever made.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Hehe AWESOME LOL

    Yay rhis book is awesome havent read it yet though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2012

    Well written. Great account of the maiden voyage of the Titanic

    Well written. Great account of the maiden voyage of the Titanic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Titanic

    Plz respond!!!
    Does the book interveiw some of the passengers that are inside some of the first class rooms on the ship flooding while the ship is sinking?( such as the Grand Staircase and the first class dining and reception rooms.) Im just asking
    Plz respond plzzzzzz!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    100th Anniversary

    The book is an interesting read. It takes you through the cast of characters and the unfolding of events on this catastrophic voyage.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    A great read

    Most of this book is from survivors memories. I'm glad that someone recorded these memories when there were still survivors. I read the book many years ago and am glad it was still in print.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Review1334408107576

    This is a really nice book!1334408107576

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2008

    The titanic

    This book A night to remamber is about the titanic and the crash with the ice berg and the storie about what some of the actual people were doing all around the time the titanic hit the ice berg. The book was extremely factual and gave the storie of all these different people that were really on the boat and just what they were thinking and exactly how it happened. I thought it was okay but not a very good read the righter did make it extremely factual but he didnt add anything to make it more exciting or any deeper it was just all about the facts. I also didnt like how every time something changed he had the time for every event and action for a person it got a little irritating. I did like how it was the truth though and exactly how the people acted and how some of the people were to ignerant to understand the situation of the ship. It is the true story of the titanic it also follows different passengers on different levels of the ship to help show the situation of each class of persons and how they reacted to the titanics crash. and at the end of the book it has a list of passengers and if they made it out or died and sank with the ship.

    0 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2007

    A Night to Remember

    On April 15th, 1912, one of the greatest tragedies in American history happened, at one o'clock in the morning in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean. When the Titanic sank, over 1,500 lives were lost, with just 651 saved. In A Night to Remember, Walter Lords takes readers second by second through the disaster. Lords not only gives you views of the first class passengers during the accident, but he also gives a close-up of the crew and captain when it happened. From the chaos of loading the lifeboats to the crew's decision of whether or not to go back to the scene, you feel as if you are actually there. Lords gives an accurate and detailed account of the night the Titanic sank, from beginning to end. Even though this book was first published over fifty years ago, it's still a must-read today.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2005

    A Review To Remember

    Do you like tragic action stories? If you do then I'm almost positive that you will be hooked on 'A Night to Remember' by Walter Lord. Lord makes you you feel like you had been on 'The White Star Liner' when it all went down. This book is about the 'unsinkable' ship also known as the 'Titanic' It starts getting interestingwhen on a foggy, freezing night the captains know that there are icebergs out in the ocean but do not know where they are until they spot a large one only a few yards in front of them. The ship can not turn fast enough without side-swiping the beautiful, yet deformed chunk of ice. The setting of this tragic, but true novel is on the 'Titanic' in the bitter, cold Atlantic Ocean. The main character in this tear- jerking novel is the one, the only, 'unsinkable' ship. Beware this book will make you cry unless you don't have a heart. The thought of this ever happening is horrifying. Take a moment to imagine what it was like for the fearful passengers. I bet you had tears in your eyes! Even though this did happen, Lord is trying to recreate this tradgedy and let you know that anything can happen. The boring part of this novel is the details about random first, second, and third class passengers, because he is waisting time. Otherwise, this is a great and touching book, but I would only recommend it to people who can handle it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4