Customer Reviews for

A Notorious Countess Confesses (Pennyroyal Green Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    The BEST in this lovely series

    Julie Anne Long grabbed me as a fan years ago when I stood in the romance aisle at B&N laughing aloud at the first page of WAYS TO BE WICKED (2nd in her prior series). A NOTORIOS COUNTESS CONFESSES also had me laughing aloud in the late hours of the night AND brought me to tears with its final scene - tears of joy at the lovely denouement not just for Adam and Evie - the splendid main characters - but also for the many other beautifully developed other characters.

    Evie, a former actress and courtesan who had the good luck to marry an earl but the bad luck to be widowed, has come to live in Pennyroyal Green in relatively modest Damask Manor, the only one of the Earl's properties she could inherit. She hopes her notoriety will not follow her here to the country, hopes to make friends and live simply so she has enough to support her needy siblings and extended family.

    Adam, the brilliant, noble, passionate and handsome VICAR of Pennyroyal Green, is accustomed to lingering glances from the young ladies and fond attentions from everyone else. When Evie falls asleep during the first of his sermons she hears, he is a little nonplussed.

    The verbal sparring and rising passion between these two - who remain true to their very opposite life roles but still find a sizzling connection - is delightful. Equally engaging, the lives and loves and longings of the inhabitants of Pennyroyal Green deepen this story beyond mere romance to something which deserves a place on my reread-to-visit-with-these-favored-friends shelf. Highly recommended.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Remarkably WONDERFUL

    I agree with the last reviewer. This is the best in a series I love. Each of the stories are richly sensuous, emotionally complex and satisfying.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    keeper

    Made me laugh and made me cry.... the only books I give 5 stars to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2013

    A great read. Read it in one sitting, never put it down till i

    A great read. Read it in one sitting, never put it down till it was finished. A gay novel without a lot of gratuitous sex. Refreshing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Excellent

    Excellent

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Anonomyous

    I really liked this book. It was not full of sex...but he is a vicor. There were some scenes-but the story was gripping enough not to need the a lot of the physical relationship. The friendship each lead provided for the other was very touching. The book made the reader think about the notion that you dont know everybodies story...so dont judge.
    I laughed and cried. I think that this is probably one of the best in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    LOL

    Wonderful. Laugh out loud funny. Can't wait to read all in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Just Okay

    Not as good as others in this series. Kinda blah!! Don't bother. Save your money.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2012

    Evie Duggan is no stranger to scandal, born an Irish peasant; sh

    Evie Duggan is no stranger to scandal, born an Irish peasant; she becomes an opera dancer and becomes the Countess of Wareham, after being won by the Earl in a card game. She quickly earns the title of the Black Widow when her new husband drops dead shortly after the wedding. Shunned by the Ton, Evie decides to seek peace at the Manor that is now hers in Pennyroyal Green.
    His uncle made Adam Sylvaine the Vicar of Pennyroyal Green, but his hard work and dedication to his new position earned him the respect of his community (Not to mention the fact that most of the ladies are in love with him).
    The community of Pennyroyal Green is not ready to accept the Black Widow. Evie seeks help from the Reverend to remedy this problem. Adam and Evie have an attraction that is magnetic right from the start, but both are determined to avoid the complication. Adam sets out to help Evie and begins an internal struggle as he beings to feel more than friendship for this woman.  
    Fans of the Pennyroyal Green series will not be disappointed with this latest edition. This book did not contain a high-action plot, but had just the right amount of drama and humor to keep me thoroughly entertained. I found myself feeling sorry for Evie and anxiously waiting for her and Adam to realize that while being together may seem wrong, it is definitely oh so right!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A bit off the mark of the previous two.

    It’s ADAM SYLVAINE’s turn at love when newly-widowed Lady Wareham aka EVIE DUGGAN comes to Pennyroyal Green. Her lurid past comes with her, and the virtuous ladies and loyal vicar followers have already turned their backs. There’s instant tension between these two beautiful people who understand each other. Perhaps their romance is rather pale in comparison to Phoebe's and her Marquess; Genevieve's and her Duke to bowl me over. For all her glamour, Evie is a down-to-earth product of a poor childhood who has honed survival skills to support her family; her beauty was her ticket. She helps several of the Pennyroyals but it doesn’t take much for envy, etc., to discredit her. Adam, for all his goodness and healing power, is lonely, loveless but not a compelling lover. Evie will give up Adam so that he can continue his good works, but after a profound night together and fierce inner struggles, he just can’t give her up. Other memorable characters: Evie’s maid Henny and the dying curmudgeon Lady Fennimore who passes on some advice about love. Olivia Eversea is in the background long enough for us to wonder if she’ll move beyond Lyon. Next book?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    beautiful life story...

    Loved this story...found I couldn't put the book down...the hero saw beyond the surface into the person Eve was...the story was told so well...I had to leave for work and was mad because it was going to be 4 hours before I could find out ... the rest of the story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2