Customer Reviews for

A PRACTITIONER'S GUIDE TO BUSINESS ANALYTICS: Using Data Analysis Tools to Improve Your Organization's Decision Making and Strategy: Using Data Analysis Tools to Improve Your Organization's Decision Making and Strategy

Average Rating 5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    I can honestly say that Randy Bartlett's book is one of my favor

    I can honestly say that Randy Bartlett's book is one of my favorite business oriented books of all time. Most of the analytic books on the market go out and interview top company executives and tell you how great the results are from using statistics to make strategic decisions. Randy's treatise does them one better by accomplishing two things.
    1) Explaining the rational behind why it is important to have statistics as the driver in the business, and
    2) Describing how to implement a robust "Center of Excellence" modeling group, which can tackle problems throughout the company.
    It is truly a remarkable paradigm in forward thinking. He has really shown business leaders how to unlock the potential in their companies and make the journey from good to best in class. As our world becomes more global in nature, competition will only intensify at a geometric rate. If you are not utilizing the ideas in this book, you will be watching the competition from behind the curve, as your company follows the Darwinian march into extinction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Big Data is big news. With access to better computing and global

    Big Data is big news. With access to better computing and global expertise, what can an organization learn about decision making
     from data analyses? A great deal. Dr. Randy Bartlett leads the way to unveiling how available corporate data becomes a powerful tool
     for corporate success. If you wish to discover new insights, guarantee better results and apply proven principles, then A Practitioner’s
    Guide To Business Analytics should be the next book you read. The book is punctuated with real life stories that show how data
    analyses can be used for corporate success and how ignoring the facts can jeopardize an organization's future.
    I recommend you read, highlight and reference the book often. You will see your organization in a whole new way and make healthy
     decisions that will guarantee results for your company well into the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Dr. Bartlett's book is an excellent help to any working analysts

    Dr. Bartlett's book is an excellent help to any working analysts, managers, directors and/or executives responsible for analysis and validation of those analyses using high level methods discussed in the book. It has a wealth of information that you will appreciate. Thank you, Dr. Bartlett, for spending time and effort in making it available through this invaluable resource. Again, I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    This is a great book that discusses the practical challenges of

    This is a great book that discusses the practical challenges of business analytics. It covers not only the analytical methodologies, but also how to use it to influence decision making. A lot of companies recognized the big data trend and are building up the analytical capabilities. However, shifting the culture of an organization to analytics driven decision making is a much bigger challenge. This book helps the analytics leaders to influence the culture by understanding the capabilities of the analytical tools and the importance of making decisions based on analytics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    This book is for all individuals that are interested in aligning

    This book is for all individuals that are interested in aligning their organization's business analytics strategy.
     It is an enjoyable read, while at the same time providing insightful step by step actions on implementing a
    successful business analytics strategy. I plan on using many of the strategies within my own organization

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    I love Randy's book - A Practitioner's Guide to Business Analyti

    I love Randy's book - A Practitioner's Guide to Business Analytics - for its sheer conversational nature.

    It is obvious that Randy Bartlett has gone the extra mile to keep this work very close to the day to day life and work of a practitioner to ensure its clear impact. Having said that, there is an unambiguous word of advice there for corporations and leaders as well on how to better harness the power of Analytics. 
    I was particularly amazed at the way the pillars have been organized, be it on Data or Statistics. It helps the reader to localize her/his focus and thus figure out the finer nuances of the subject at hand. 

    An all-encompassing masterful piece on Business Analytics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Non-fiction books are at the top of the information food chain,

    Non-fiction books are at the top of the information food chain, above the radio, the television, and newspapers. Now and then, someone writes a book that is special and covers a topic here-to-fore ignored. This book discusses how to compete on business analytics; it is not a 'stat' book or one of the single-idea business books. It is exceptionally easy to follow, and offers insights every business analyst or manager should become familiar with to be more successful than their competitors. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2013

    Top notch book, highly recommended. Well written, and at a high

    Top notch book, highly recommended. Well written, and at a high level, thank God, with great ideas for the industry. One portion quantifies differences between analysts and business personnel. That is the part I enjoyed the most. Other topics include
    tackling Big Data and certification standards.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    I am a practicing statistician/business analyst and I have found

    I am a practicing statistician/business analyst and I have found Bartlett's treatment of the field
     to be insightful and eye-opening. His experience in the field shines through his explanations of
     current best practices. I have already employed many of his ideas about BA group structure and
     dynamics. I also enjoyed his overview of the statistical tools he keeps in his top-shelf for solving
     problems he faces. There is something for everyone in this book in an organization that wishes
     to leverage data to move business forward, from practitioner (like myself) to the CEO.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    I am a statistician in healthcare industry.  I found this book e

    I am a statistician in healthcare industry.  I found this book extremely helpful in making the most out of
    my analytical skill set and helpful for my clients as well.  On top of illustrating prevalent organizational
    approaches, the book also brings up effective communication tips that complement the contribution of
    a statistical analyst.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    This is not your typical business/management book.  This book is

    This is not your typical business/management book.  This book is based upon real experiences from Analytics Professionals, who are outside the executive bubble.  
    The author will question your ability to lead if you don’t understand the analytics that support critical business decisions. Hold on to your seat and be prepared to change the way you think about leaders, leadership qualities and leadership skills needed for future success in the changing business landscape.  And sharpen your pencils because you might want to take notes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2013

    This book was a pleasure to read! It is well written and rich i

    This book was a pleasure to read! It is well written and rich in content. They should have put the footnotes on the same page. Some of them are hilarious so you should bookmark them and flip back when you come to them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1