Customer Reviews for

A Pearl in the Storm: How I Found My Heart in the Middle of the Ocean

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The best book I've read in I don't know when

From the first page to the last, this is definitely one of the best written books I have read in recent years. The art with which Tori writes is a rare gift indeed. I felt like I was on the Pearl myself, and this is what a good writer will do; bring you along with the...
From the first page to the last, this is definitely one of the best written books I have read in recent years. The art with which Tori writes is a rare gift indeed. I felt like I was on the Pearl myself, and this is what a good writer will do; bring you along with them. Thanks for the ride of a life, and I highly recommend it to anyone.

posted by RudyAR on December 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Oh, the irony

While overall I enjoyed this book, I realized that the author was incapable of seeing the irony of her words. She attended the finest elite school (who was paying all those tuitions and fees?), she was constantly globe-trotting on expeditions of her own creation, not on...
While overall I enjoyed this book, I realized that the author was incapable of seeing the irony of her words. She attended the finest elite school (who was paying all those tuitions and fees?), she was constantly globe-trotting on expeditions of her own creation, not one of which served any humanitarian purpose, and yet she writes that one of her roles (and that of her seemingly well-heeled husband) was to make the rich feel uncomfortable. She's all about social justice, but excuse her while she treks across Antarctica, or goes backpacking in Africa, or spends months on two adventures on the high seas finding herself. She is beyond self-absorbed. She depends on others for money and manpower to indulge in her hobbies, while working a government job that apparently afforded her a lot of time off. In the end, I no longer cared if she made it or not.

posted by Anonymous on June 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Oh, the irony

    While overall I enjoyed this book, I realized that the author was incapable of seeing the irony of her words. She attended the finest elite school (who was paying all those tuitions and fees?), she was constantly globe-trotting on expeditions of her own creation, not one of which served any humanitarian purpose, and yet she writes that one of her roles (and that of her seemingly well-heeled husband) was to make the rich feel uncomfortable. She's all about social justice, but excuse her while she treks across Antarctica, or goes backpacking in Africa, or spends months on two adventures on the high seas finding herself. She is beyond self-absorbed. She depends on others for money and manpower to indulge in her hobbies, while working a government job that apparently afforded her a lot of time off. In the end, I no longer cared if she made it or not.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2010

    The best book I've read in I don't know when

    From the first page to the last, this is definitely one of the best written books I have read in recent years. The art with which Tori writes is a rare gift indeed. I felt like I was on the Pearl myself, and this is what a good writer will do; bring you along with them. Thanks for the ride of a life, and I highly recommend it to anyone.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Absolutely Riveting!

    I was excited to read this book after the glowing reviews it received; however, I was also a little skeptical because of the number of glowing reviews. Within the first two pages, I was hooked! This book was better than the reviews led me to believe (which is saying something). It is well written, thoughtful, thought-provoking, and a page turner. I highly recommend this book to one and all. I plan to have all of my children read it because the life lessons included are powerful. I can't say enough positive about this book. Read it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    Insightful story of a woman's search for her self

    I especially enjoyed the section of the book dealing with her first journey across the Atlantic. I would recommend to others; would make a great gift book for graduates, young adults... anyone really.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2009

    A very personal journey, not just time in a rowboat.

    Rather than just catalog what would be in and of itself an interesting challenge, Tori gives us a life journey, full of lessons of the heart and mind. Everyone I know who has read it is both amazed at Tori's tenacity and strength, and awed at her capacity to entertain and open her soul. Well worth the read for anyone, but especially for those who would like an example of a life well lived, and an example that change is always possible.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    My Nightmare/Her Reality

    I don't go into water deeper than my knees unless I can see my feet on the bottom. I definitely don't go on cruises. I say I saw "The Titanic" at a very impressionable age. I live in Louisville, home of Tori Murden McClure, and was very interested in the daily news accounts of her adventures on the "high seas." I was not disappointed, but very impressed, to read her autobiography along with her tales of rowing across the Atlantic. Unbelievably high seas--suspended vertically by her anchor--loss of all communication--encounters with sea-going vessels--and this was just the first try! The book was so riveting that I finished it in 2 days (I do have a life). I was even more impressed to meet her at a book signing at Barnes & Noble. In spite of how she describes herself, she is a slight woman with hands that look incapable of rowing anywhere. And in spite of all her accomplishments and her commanding presence , she is a delightful speaker and very easy to talk to in person. I have recommended this book to my granddaughters, and look forward to another book by Tori Murden McClure.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2009

    Real Woman - Real Journey - Real Read

    Purchased and read the book after hearing the author at a local book signing event. She is personable and her writing is her true voice. Although I knew what the book was about and what would happen, I simply could not put it down. I enjoyed the back and forth and the literary references as a way of gaining more information in a non traditional manner. I hope she writes another book so I can learn more about such a remarkable woman and her real life adventures.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    A Wonderful Story of Courage and Love on the Ocean!

    I was not aware of this book until I was required to read it as part of a college assignment. Unsure of who Tori McClure was at the time, I had my doubts. However, when I began reading I was quickly proven wrong! This book is an engaging story full of Courage, Adventure and Love! A must read for outdoor enthusiasts and for those trying to find the will to try something new! Don't doubt this book, it is Amazing!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    FASCINATING

    THE AUTHOR WAS THE COMMENCEMENT SPEAKER AT THE COLLEGE IN OUR COMMUNITY THIS YEAR AND I WAS IMPRESSED. THE BOOK WAS ALL I EXPECTED AND MORE AND I HAVE RECOMMENDED IT TO FRIENDS

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    I really enjoyed this book. It helped me understand people who

    I really enjoyed this book. It helped me understand people who do dangerous things.
    I loved the story of her growing up years. I read the book in almost 1 sitting; I had to get some sleep.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2014

    This is a Must Read folks. True story of amazing woman who was b

    This is a Must Read folks. True story of amazing woman who was both the first female to ski to the south pole and row across the Atlantic, and the lessons in life she learned. I could hardly put it down. Beautifully written, powerful, & inspirational.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    Exciting Read

    A story of true courage and grit. Although the journey is not something most people could understand even WANTING to do - it was a look inside the mind of why someone would want to endure so much pain and suffering. More than just the rowing journey - a journey of the heart. I liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Get out of under three dollars list

    You are too much

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Engaging!

    This piece of literature was thrilling and kept me reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2011

    Adventurous or crazy? In hindsight does she ask herself the same?

    I read this for book club. Where were this woman's parents? What possesses a human to push and push? You will be so relieved when she "gives up" on her first attempt. The book is anti-climatic after her rescue, but still very thought provoking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2009

    Great graduation gift!

    This book inspires us to look at education and inter-personal relationships in a brave new way. The author's voice is full of truth. She relates her triumphs and her sorrows but remains hopeful that each of us will join her in making the world a better place. She values individuality and demonstrates that leadership can happen in unexpected moments. I have purchased three copies of this book - all of them as gifts (except for the first copy). Tori Murden McClure is the real "wonder woman" and I feel so lucky that she bravely shares her personal story with all of us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2