Customer Reviews for

A Perfect Blood (Hollows Series #10)

Average Rating 4.5
( 423 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(296)

4 Star

(93)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

great

Wonderful Book I enjoyed reading. kept me entertained

posted by SuperBookish on March 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Very disappointed in this book. Had this been the first book of

Very disappointed in this book. Had this been the first book of the series that I had read, I wouldn't ever purchase the remainder of the series. Definitely needed better editing - too much stuff in here that doesn't even make sense, not even when in a dialogue. For exa...
Very disappointed in this book. Had this been the first book of the series that I had read, I wouldn't ever purchase the remainder of the series. Definitely needed better editing - too much stuff in here that doesn't even make sense, not even when in a dialogue. For example, to compare how unlike the texture of Kisten's skin had been to the pool table's wood trim? Huh? Rachel's constant lamenting of, "Oh no, how could I have done this to myself?" was irritating by the third time I read it, but unfortunately, it continued on and on and on throughout the whole book. I don't know, maybe it was just filler to lengthen the book. And really, does Rachel have to think a whole mini synopsis of the book while she's playing pool with Wayde? Not to mention, why was Wayde even in this book? He was not what I would call a needed character since his sparring with Rachel wasn't even lukewarm at best, he wasn't allowed to do his job, so why was he even there? Plus, he's too much of an omega werewolf in his responses - actually he acted like he had been neutered and dominated. The unending angst made me want to throw the book against the wall. I started reading this series when the first book, Dead Witch Walking came out, and I loved it. The humor, the camaraderie of the three friends is so crucial to this series, but apparently Jenks has been relegated to nothing more than an annoying flying gnat (since when does he need everyone telling him what to do, when before he always knew what to do and was thinking three steps ahead of Rachel), and Ivy's character seems to put in an occasional glimpse simply to remind us that she used to a major part of the series, but no longer. And Glenn? Way to neuter a character. And what happened to Bis, who is supposed to be bonded to Rachel? As for the humor which is what made me fall in love with the characters - it's long gone. This series has been in a constant decline ever since White Witch, Black Curse, which when I read it, I honestly thought it was written by someone else. I've tried to stay loyal to the series, but I'm not sure I can.

posted by 11141880 on March 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 441 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Very disappointed in this book. Had this been the first book of

    Very disappointed in this book. Had this been the first book of the series that I had read, I wouldn't ever purchase the remainder of the series. Definitely needed better editing - too much stuff in here that doesn't even make sense, not even when in a dialogue. For example, to compare how unlike the texture of Kisten's skin had been to the pool table's wood trim? Huh? Rachel's constant lamenting of, "Oh no, how could I have done this to myself?" was irritating by the third time I read it, but unfortunately, it continued on and on and on throughout the whole book. I don't know, maybe it was just filler to lengthen the book. And really, does Rachel have to think a whole mini synopsis of the book while she's playing pool with Wayde? Not to mention, why was Wayde even in this book? He was not what I would call a needed character since his sparring with Rachel wasn't even lukewarm at best, he wasn't allowed to do his job, so why was he even there? Plus, he's too much of an omega werewolf in his responses - actually he acted like he had been neutered and dominated. The unending angst made me want to throw the book against the wall. I started reading this series when the first book, Dead Witch Walking came out, and I loved it. The humor, the camaraderie of the three friends is so crucial to this series, but apparently Jenks has been relegated to nothing more than an annoying flying gnat (since when does he need everyone telling him what to do, when before he always knew what to do and was thinking three steps ahead of Rachel), and Ivy's character seems to put in an occasional glimpse simply to remind us that she used to a major part of the series, but no longer. And Glenn? Way to neuter a character. And what happened to Bis, who is supposed to be bonded to Rachel? As for the humor which is what made me fall in love with the characters - it's long gone. This series has been in a constant decline ever since White Witch, Black Curse, which when I read it, I honestly thought it was written by someone else. I've tried to stay loyal to the series, but I'm not sure I can.

    18 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    I like the Kim Harrison series, really, but... Book 10 was inter

    I like the Kim Harrison series, really, but... Book 10 was interesting, however, with too much frustration, being somewhat repetitive, and a little out of control.

    To me, Rachel comes off a bit juvenile, and even incompetent... seems like the author is not up to form in this episode. Ms. Morgan corrects others several times with the repetitive directive to 'Get it right!', sounding stuck in a petulant loop. She also seems inexperienced... using unchecked weapons, missing approximately 5 out of 6 times in first major battle, and just about sidelined throughout the rest. After 9 books of greater experience, she seems amateurish, along with other lapses.

    And the introduction of a bodyguard, doesn't work as a foil to enhance Rachel's 'professionalism'... it actually does the opposite, particularly when she beats him up. The bodyguard is made to stand outside all conflicts... apparently he's only good as a companion for trivial interludes, such as a trip to the coffeeshop. If Ms. Morgan had a serious conflict with the bodyguard, one would think she would simply fire him... just because he was 'hired' by her birth-father, doesn't provide enough assumption of authority to him, that Rachel should have to beat him senseless. The author seems to trivialize the beating to -unconsciousness- when the bodyguard was already down... without a real justification, or anger build-up. Other more serious past antagonists have been treated better. Maybe it's an example of both Were hostility and Demon taint overtaking her, but I can't see the bodyguard reasonably willing to continue his employment, nor a lack of serious displeasure by her parents, in the next book.

    Then, of course, the foes are never completely down... maybe that's why Rachel beats the bodyguard until he's 'out'. And no one seems able to properly incapacitate an unconscious prisoner. An unknown charm should have been followed up with a "splat" gun tag... a dangerous human should have been bound hand and foot, a magic wielder should have been gagged. The bad guys have better control.

    Book 10 just seems a bit sloppy, shallow... even Al loses his viciousness.... all the build up to his insanely violent reaction to finding her alive just leads to a simple discussion. And Rachel, while struggling appropriately with her demonhood, seems pathetic in skills and actions, and over-sexed besides, lusting after every male of more than passing acquaintance.

    All in all, a good book. (HuH???) No, I'm disappointed with A Perfect Blood. Hopefully it's a minor stumbling interstitial to a renewed focus in the next novel... but this time, the author seems distracted.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    Wonderful Book I enjoyed reading. kept me entertained

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Perfect blood disappointing

    Shes a great writer which makes you fall in love with the characters which is why i was disappointed. Years of ivy, jinx, and Al makes you possessive in a way. I know new characters have to be developed but i didnt think she did justice to the old trio. Ivy wouldve never left in the middle of a case, and jinx and Al werent paid their dues either. Even to me it seemed the vampires werent as developed as they normally were. It left me missing the old faithful trio and left me unsatisfied especially where ivywasconcerned.

    12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Disappointed...

    I was bored and frustrated to tears for the first two thirds of the book. What is it with Rachel just fumbling through every situation and feeling sorry for herself the whole book? And why, after all they've been through, is she still such a bi*ch to Trent? And the "I just can't kill anybody" and "Trent is a murderer" moral hang up is just so tired - she's been through enough to know there's no black and white. There's just no character growth with her, I liked her less in this book than I did in the first one

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    Funny, cute but a bit slow

    A Perfect Blood starts out with Rachel’s new life after her almost tragic demise. She has difficulty in getting a drivers license and proof that she not dead and still exists, in comes the I.S. offering to help in exchange for a job. As it turns out witches are being killed in horrific ways by an organization called HAPA, and if Rachel doesn’t catch them soon she may take the fall for the murders. While Rachel goes against all her friends and family’s wishes she takes the case she ends up getting kidnapped while she has the magic limiting bracelet on, that Trent made for her. Coming to terms with the fact that she needs her magic she has Trent take the bracelet off and in turn in dumbfounded and shocked by his willingness to help her against her enemies. This book surrounded Rachel and Trent a great deal and it showed how their relationship progressed from distrust and dislike to whole hearted trust and even the beginnings of new love. I feel like Kim Harrison had done a great job with the Rachel Morgan books but I believe that this book was a bit disappointing with its slow plot line. Rachel’s friends Ivy and Jenks were not featured as much in this book and it kind of left me wanting to see more of them in the next books. But the part of the book that let me down was Al, there was this intense build up about how Al was going to react to finding out Rachel was alive but it was resolved quickly with Rachel’s promise to fix things for him without a huge temper tantrum or rash action. Al also seemed too calm and his dangerous nature kind of diminished with his charming of Lucy and Ray. I think overall this book was good I really liked the aspect of Trent and Rachel ending up together and I can’t wait for the next book.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Well

    It wasnt horrible and maybe my expectations were high but it fell short.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Love Rachel Mariana Morgan

    Love love love this book, stayed up all night to finish!!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Yes!!!

    I cant wait!!!

    4 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    One of her Best! I love this series, it's one of the few I will

    One of her Best!
    I love this series, it's one of the few I will pre-order. I read it almost entirely in one day because I just wanted to devour it! I don't usually like it when an author changes the dynamics between the characters that I have grown to love, but I like that she is letting the characters grow up some. They all just seemed to be healthier like they were ready to stop wallowing in their misery and loss and start living again. I didn't get the feeling that the characters were growing apart, the love and trust is still there so that helps me be more accepting of the changes. I like the bodyguard and that he is honest with Rachel and able to get her to be honest with herself. I did miss Al though and wish the scene between he and Rachel would have taken place earlier in the book so he could have shown up more (he is such a stinker but I can't help liking him lol). I also missed the Rachel A** kicking and felt she got her butt kicked a little too much for someone with all that magic. I love it when she shows all the people that underestimate her what she can do. But it seemed right for this book because the development was turning a corner. I really like what is happening between Rachel and Trent and they both seemed softer, still explosive just less likely to make me want to slap them lol. I think my favorite parts of any of this series is when Jenks' kids are causing chaos, and now with the fairy and her "ride" I found even more laugh out loud moments! I think the author did an awesome job setting the scene and I can't wait for the next curtain - with Rachel finally starting to accept what she is I expect to see lots of butt kicking!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Awesome

    Always good no matter how many times l've read them. I love the way the story between Rachel and Trent is playing out. The new players are interesting. Liked the story very much! Though you need to read the stories from the beginning to understand whats going on.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    Loved it!

    This book was a pure joy to read. I loved it. I think that each book has gotten better and better. My love for this series has not waned...and now I am eagerly waiting for the next. It will be a long wait now, for I devoured this book too quickly...but I will definitely be ready. This story was unique, funny, action packed and I simply love the characters. Rachel is truly developing as are all of the characters. I can't wait to see where Ms. Harrison takes us next....

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Hey

    How much does it cost to pre order this fantastic book?

    3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Bleh

    This has to be the worst book in the series. Way too repatative & whiney. Rachel is no longer an interesting character. Have I mentioned the writing was repetative? Rachel's inner monologues made no sense. It was also very repetative. Forcing myself to finish the book because I was dumb & spent $$$ on it. :p

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Too wimpy and whiney!

    KIM,you and your writer need a dose of testosterone big time. Rachel has to much self doubt and pity. With what she has been through she needs to suck it up and be a heroine.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Perfect Read!

    I strongly suggest you read the previous books in series (Dead Witch Walking, The Good, The Bad And The Undead, Every Witch Way But Dead, A Fistful Of Charms, For a Few Demons More, The Outlaw Demon Wails, White Witch Black Curse, Black Magic Sanction and Pale Demon) prior to reading this installment. The Itchy-Witch is back on her A-game. Rachel is finally accepting herself as a unique blessing and not a demonic curse. I loved traveling with her through her evolutionary journey and witnessing her emergence as a crafty demoness who’s a force to be reckoned with! This story was exactly what I was looking for, non-stop excitement, high-energy adventure, mystery and intrigue and lots and lots of demons. I definitely would’ve appreciated more twisted-humor interaction between Al and Rachel. Kim Harrison packed a lot of story in this one book. In addition, each secondary characters encounter with Rachel was skillfully blended and interlaced together flawlessly. I enjoyed this spectacular installment so fiercely, I never wanted this book to end. Rachel’s shenanigans were really toned down in this installment, and the story had a “feel good” sensation, that made me feel like I was coming home to friends. I highly recommend this book and series to fellow dark urban fantasy readers and can’t wait to read the next book Ever After due out in 2013.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Disappointed

    This will probably be the last book of Kim Harrison's I buy. I am so tired of reading about how Rachel scews up just so the author can have a duh moment to turn around for the inevitable happy ending. Either let Rachel become the tough demon who knows her stuff or kill her off already! I mean really! She can take on demons, just not a bunch of bigoted scientists? How can you take this character serious after being beat down like she does in this book. Talk really is cheap.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Loved it!

    I love the Hollows. This book was great and I always celebrate another Hollows book by rereading the series just after reading the latest installment. Kim's writing is so well planned and enjoyable that I really enjoy the series from start to finish.

    There was a lot of new development in this one and I am eager for the next book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Bonus material

    Love the series, a must! Bonus material is excerpt of ever after....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Are you kidding?

    You'd think that after all this group and Rachael Morgan has been through, that Rachael would stop making rookie mistakes. I feel like Im still reading book one. It is hard to read this series, knowing that the author continues to leave the main character mentally and emotionally stunted as a tool to put her in jeopardy. The same mistakes keep leading her to situations that are more and more deadly. I want to know what is going to happen to her but the story is getting to ridiculous to continue reading this series if Rachael doesn't some day grow a brain...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 441 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23