Customer Reviews for

A Perfect Madness

Average Rating 4.5
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommend

Frank Marsh takes the reader on a thought-provoking exploration of his characters as they are drawn into events that challenge their integrity and threaten their survival. While telling a tale of forbidden love, the novel also addresses the effects of fear and desperati...
Frank Marsh takes the reader on a thought-provoking exploration of his characters as they are drawn into events that challenge their integrity and threaten their survival. While telling a tale of forbidden love, the novel also addresses the effects of fear and desperation on personal choices and the sense of right and wrong. A Perfect Madness is a moving and well-written novel.

posted by ForeverTexan on January 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

didnt like it

it started out interestimg but then got very boring the book was sad ,and of course this period in history was sad ,i thought it could of ended better

posted by 11267897 on June 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 13, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    Frank Marsh takes the reader on a thought-provoking exploration of his characters as they are drawn into events that challenge their integrity and threaten their survival. While telling a tale of forbidden love, the novel also addresses the effects of fear and desperation on personal choices and the sense of right and wrong. A Perfect Madness is a moving and well-written novel.

    19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    A Perfect Madness by Frank Marsh

    This book did for me what history books and others have not. It made the story of how such atrocities could have happened and how life could have coexisted during their execution real. Thank you to Mr. Marsh for a wonderful story that held my attention as it unveiled the very minds and hearts of those who lived WWII. It will remain with me.

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    A Different Look

    This book provided a different look at WWII. It was a fast and fascinating read; studying the effects of the horrors of war on one's character and sanity. I found myself feeling compassion for Erich one minute, then getting angry at him the next. Survival brings about many emotions and great turmoil. If I had to find fault in this book it would be in the lesser telling of Julia's experiences. Although less time was spent with this character, the reader is still given great insight into her "adventures" as well. The more I read, I wondered how this story would end. No disappointment there; it was a most appropriate conclusion for this type of novel. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and will most likely read more of this author.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended for Discriminating Readers.

    Well-crafted, thoughtful novel about WW2, the Holocaust, and the Resistance. Takes you from the present to the past and back to the present again in a compelling story with memorable characters who quickly become real people in your mind and emotions.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Powerful, first-rate effort at an awful event in world history.

    Strong. Powerful. Having read hundreds of books (fiction and non-fiction) on WWII, specifically Nazi Germany and the Holocaust, "A Perfect Madness" ranks up there with the best.

    Marsh brings a perspective to the Holocaust, the probability of having seldom been broached.

    Congratulations, Mr. Marsh, on a good book.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    An Excellent Book

    Best free book I have ever downloa,ded. It's not a light read. If you like history, especially WWII, you will LOVE this book. I would have paid to read it

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    good

    I really liked this book. It truely was perfect madness. Taking you through the minds if the tortured and tortuers during hitlers reign.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2012

    Excellent Book. I recommend this as a must read for everyone.

    Excellent Book. I recommend this as a must read for everyone.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Spikeanon

    Cannot say enough good things about this novel. Well written, informative, thought provoking. A must read for anyone who enjoys history, or a good yarn.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    A different approach

    I read a lot of WWII/Holocaust memoirs and fiction, but this one is absolutely worth the read. Different and haunting, going into the pseudoscience of eugenics in America and Germany that led further to concentration camps.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    A Perfect Madness

    This was a really good book. It kept me in suspense

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Very enjoyable

    This was a wonderful read. I thought it was well written.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Could not put my nook down!

    Heart -wrenching perfection

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    didnt like it

    it started out interestimg but then got very boring the book was sad ,and of course this period in history was sad ,i thought it could of ended better

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Good read

    I have read many books on this subgect but never from a Nazi's point of veiw this way.Eric puts a new look from those just forced into killing. We all have choices yet are we strong enough to fight for whats right. Reading this books makes me wonder.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Amazing

    I don't really know what to say about this book aside from the fact that it was absolutely amazing. I could not put it down because i got so drawn in and so attached to the stories of the characters. It was very thought provoking and left you with an entirely new perspective about how such atrocities could occur. I highly reccomend this, and i will be reading it again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Wow

    This was a tremendous book. It drew you into a past filled with horror. At times i had to stop reading because it was so intense. Having an uncle who liberated a death camp and brought back pictures he himself took made this seem all the more real.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Gripping read

    This is a well written story without long winded superfluous paragraphs that tend to flag interest Any account of this period is important to remind us of man's weakness for cruelty when faced with his own survival

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Couldn't put it down.

    A thought provoking look at how war can change a person's ideals stripping away their humanity one layer at a time. How the mind can rationalize even the worst evil deeds when death is feared more than losing your soul. And when faced with the same horrors and devastation some stand courageous holding on to their ideals chosing death rather sacrificing their humanity. A very good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Loved it!

    I couldn't put this book down, the 709 pages, flew by. More than a love story, a history of WWII somewhat.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4