Customer Reviews for

A Perfect Madness

Average Rating 4.5
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommend

Frank Marsh takes the reader on a thought-provoking exploration of his characters as they are drawn into events that challenge their integrity and threaten their survival. While telling a tale of forbidden love, the novel also addresses the effects of fear and desperati...
Frank Marsh takes the reader on a thought-provoking exploration of his characters as they are drawn into events that challenge their integrity and threaten their survival. While telling a tale of forbidden love, the novel also addresses the effects of fear and desperation on personal choices and the sense of right and wrong. A Perfect Madness is a moving and well-written novel.

posted by ForeverTexan on January 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

didnt like it

it started out interestimg but then got very boring the book was sad ,and of course this period in history was sad ,i thought it could of ended better

posted by 11267897 on June 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Couldn't put it down.

    A thought provoking look at how war can change a person's ideals stripping away their humanity one layer at a time. How the mind can rationalize even the worst evil deeds when death is feared more than losing your soul. And when faced with the same horrors and devastation some stand courageous holding on to their ideals chosing death rather sacrificing their humanity. A very good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Loved it!

    I couldn't put this book down, the 709 pages, flew by. More than a love story, a history of WWII somewhat.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Loved it

    Great book. At times i wanted to cry but others i found very enlightening. Page turner and loved how everything comes together at the end. Its a omg kind of book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    EXCELLENT

    This book is a very accurate portrayal of WWII. If you enjoy historical fiction you will love this. Be prepared for a heavy read and gut wrenching decisions made by the characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Beautiful and Haunting

    This book is amazing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Explaining the unexplainable

    A fabulously woven tapestry of lives, capturing the motivation and the impossible decisions forced on ordinary men & women and the consequences of those decisions.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    MUST READ!

    This is a horible story the whole world should read and remember.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    A good read

    I really liked this book, it gave insight as to what may have been going on in the hearts and minds of the citizens, not soldiers, stuck in the middle of WWII

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Just a reader

    This was an awesome book. Good till the very end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    very interesting read

    this is a story of war in the late 1930s-early 1940s. It is about the choices that were made by both Jews and Germans along the way. It is also a love story. It is just over 700 pages and well worth reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    A Perfect Maddess

    A well written book - a well chosen title for the time in History. It is a must read for all and especially for those who did not live through those war years and have not realized the evil a Devil as Hitler can spawn. Will certainly recommend this book and this Author. HM

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2015

    Highly recommend

    This novel has been the best free book I have read and I have read a lot of free books! Perfect Madness is a well written, thought provoking look into the minds and souls of those affected by the madness of Nazi Germany. Heart wrenching from beginning to end. Well done Mr. Marsh, I will definitely be reading more of your works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2014

    Must read

    Wonderfuly nuanced treatment of the otherwise unimaginable horror and, indeed, perfect madness of Nazi inhumanity. Would make a powerful required supplemental reading to more purely historical materials for any class dealing with the Holocaust and Jewish persecution.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2014

    Thought provoking

    Who can pass up the combination of "Strongly Recommended" and free? A very thought-provoking read, indeed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    Compelling read!

    This book was very thought-provoking and well-written. Definitely a tear-jerker and I can't believe it is free because it is an amazing book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2013

    well thought out, excellent read.

    well thought out, excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    This book touched my soul!

    Very rarely do I read a book that hurts me like this one did. Of course, with a subject like the Holocaust, it was bound to emotionally affect me, however "A Perfect Madness" did more than tell the facts. It brought humanity and the struggle to stay sane in an insane time to light. At times, I found myself begging for the story to end, because I didn't think I could handle anymore. What an incredible and powerful book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Chilling

    An amazing historical fiction tale of the Holocaust and the stories leading up and through WWII.

    This novel has excellent character development and is very well-written.

    Loving, chilling, dark, beautiful, sordid, honorable, and degradable the author creates a web of a cast of characters to represent an unlikely but believable weave of interconnected account of human nature at its worst and its best.

    This is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Could not get into it i thought it was boring

    Dee

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    War Changes Everything, Especially People

    This book was of two people torn apart by war. One thought he would never change his views and actually spoke out against what was happening "for a while" until the majority of people were against him. When his name and his father's fanatical ways made him stand out he had to choose....life or just go along with it because it couldn't last forever right? Then there were the ones who had to run away to save their family and leave a lover behind but not all could survive. Even the survivors lost.. I would recommend this book to everyone because convictions alone are not enough to stop insanity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5