BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Perfect Pet for Peyton: A 5 Love Languages Discovery Book

Average Rating 5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome Interactive Children's Book

    The boys and I, ages 4 and 6, spent a really fun time reading and enjoying this great book. They loved that the twins were a boy and a girl...Peyton and Penny, and were celebrating their birthday!
    Besides the delightful story there are so many interactive pictures for them to participate with! One of the first fun activities was to find a very small insect in each of the big pictures. For their party they are going with their friends to Mr Chapman's Perfect Pet Emporium. The boys both decided they wanted their next parties there!
    We have been through this book a few times now, and it has become a real favorite! They also like it when we get to end and get to the Quiz!! There they are introduced to the Five Love Languages for Kids..we talk about Gifts, Words of Affirmation, Quality Time, Physical Touch, and Acts of Service.

    I really recommend this book for a good quality time with your children!

    “Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or
    services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it
    on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally
    and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance
    with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2013

    Twins Penny and Peyton are celebrating their birthday at a very

    Twins Penny and Peyton are celebrating their birthday at a very special place, Mr. Chapman's Pet Pal Emporium, where each guest is matched with their perfect pet pal. There are all sorts of fun activities for the twins and their guests to experience at the Pet Pal Emporium, all under the supervision of Mr. Chapman. All the children are excited to see the animals, but Peyton wonders if he will receive a perfect pet pal. Will he or won't he?

    When I first received this book, the first thing I noticed was the sturdiness of it. It seems like an odd thing to take note of in a book, but it really impressed me that it was so sturdily bound that it would last for a long time, so I wanted to make sure to share that with readers.

    Next, I noticed that beautiful illustrations on the pages, along with the extra challenges for readers to find an assortment of hidden details on the pages. Very helpful when simultaneously reading with children of different ages! The little ones can look at the pictures and find the hidden animals, while older ones can really focus on the story!

    Finally, when reading the story, I enjoyed the storyline. The alliteration was fun to read and I really liked the way the authors included just enough characters to demonstrate the five love languages in action, without making it too confusing for younger readers to keep track of all the people. I had already read two of The Five Love Languages books, so I was familiar with them, but it helped me to assess my children's love languages. I think the questions at the end were also very helpful in discussing the different love languages with my children.

    I would highly recommend this book for anyone with small children. It is a beautiful book, with a lovely story. I read it out loud to my multi-age children and they all said they would recommend it, too!

    I received this book from Moody Publishers in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Just finished reading this with my 6 & 7 year old and it, wa

    Just finished reading this with my 6 & 7 year old and it, was great. Pictures are great. It things on each page to do that keeps kids interested and waiting for what next. At the end we talked about each love language and I, have to say its great. Its a great family book recommended to all with kids and work with kids. I, feel it will help,all. My son chose one work that decribes the book he said awesome and my daughter said caring

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    Fdudjdjdgffhgf

    It's the best book I ever read:-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Today is a special day! The twins, Penny and Peyton, are celebra

    Today is a special day! The twins, Penny and Peyton, are celebrating their birthdays! At breakfast, Penny says a breakfast prayer and then thanks God for their birthday adventure. Could they possibly, hopefully, maybe be going to Mr. Chapman’s Perfect Pet Pal Emporium for their birthday? Yes! Mom says “yes!” and the adventure begins.

    Penny and Peyton meet several of their friends at the Pet Pal Emporium where they see many of the wonderful animals that live at the park. From farm animals, to jungle animals, and even robotic dinosaurs, this park has it all. While Penny is beyond happy and running around with her friends, Peyton keeps hoping that this animal or that will be his “perfect pet pal.” His choices are not practical and the reader will likely know that before Peyton. Eventually, the young man is convinced that he won’t get a perfect pal like the other kids and starts to get a bit grouchy.

    After playing, opening presents, and having some rather interesting snacks (bug pizza anyone?), the children sit quietly as Mr. Chapman introduces the Five Love Languages. He explains that “Each of us especially likes to love and be loved in one or two of these languages…” and because “pets do the same things naturally…when you find one that matches yours, that’s a perfect pet pal.” Will each child find a perfect pet pal to compliment the way they show their love?

    This is a lively and fun book that teaches children about the different ways people show their love. Readers will guess along with the children in the book about each character’s ways of loving. Mr. Chapman gives hints and then it’s time to figure out what type of love that person displays. The author has found a unique way to show how “God made us each special and we all love a little differently.” As an added bonus to keep children engaged, there is something to do on many of the pages: find various animals or bugs (some very well hidden), and even identify the mythical creatures surrounding a birthday sundae (which may require a little research). Note that the story is a bit long so younger ones who don’t like to sit may have trouble staying still throughout the story although the interactive aspects will help keep them engaged.

    Quill says: Interactive, with a unique story and characters (and animals!) kids will love make this book a winner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    I thought this book was absolutely wonderful . The story follows

    I thought this book was absolutely wonderful . The story follows a set of twins , Penny and Peyton as they celebrate their birthday with friends, a a pet emporium. through the story you learn about each of the kids and what there special love language is . I found it absolutely delightful that a love language had been created in such a fun way for younger children . As I mentioned before the story itself was wonderful , but the book did not just stop at the story . Each page had a little something more for the child to interact with . Every page there was a hidden insect to be found and on other pages there were animals to find and name . If the story and the interactions were not enough, at the back of the book one could find a quiz so the reader can learn what their special love language is.

    I would highly recommend this book to children . It was such a neat way to show how each child is different and wonderful in a special way. .

    * I received this book from Moody Publishing in exchange for my honest review.. no other compensation was given.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Everybody loves children. Children seem to simply exude love -

    Everybody loves children. Children seem to simply exude love - receiving and giving. But..... but..... did you realize that each child is different (of course, you did, since you also realize that each and every person is different) and each child needs to receive love and give love in his own particular way?

    Gary Chapman and Rick Osborne show us how to understand our child's way of expressing his or her love and how we can show love to each of our children in that special way that he or she needs.

    This wonderfully imaginative children’s hardcover book by bestselling authors Gary Chapman and Rick Osborne, featuring four-color illustrations (with hidden details!) by Wilson Williams, Jr., will help children learn the importance of love. Based on Gary’s highly successful The 5 Love Languages®, A Perfect Pet for Peyton tells an entertaining and playful story of five children who each, with the help of Mr. Chapman and the unique pets at his special emporium, discover their own personal love language. Children and parents alike will experience firsthand the power of the love languages as they cuddle up and spend precious time together reading this book over and over again.

    The book is primarily for ages 5-8. It is a fun and entertaining read, not to mention chock full of in-book activities (like finding the hidden animals on the pages) (Facebook: Gary Chapman)

    Peyton and Penny are twins and they get to go on a birthday adventure to Mr. Chapman's Pet Pal Emporium. While there, they find their perfect pet pal.

    The five languages are......

    Gifts,
    Words of affirmation,
    Physical touch,
    Quality time, and
    Acts of service.

    DISCLOSURE: I was provided a complimentary copy of "A Perfect Pet for Peyton" by Moody Publishers and the authors in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A great children's If you have ever heard about the 5 Love Lan

    A great children's

    If you have ever heard about the 5 Love Languages for Children, then you will love the introduction that "A Perfect Pet for Peyton" by Rick Osbourne and Gary Chapman gives young children. In this amazing and beautifully illustrated children's book, the story involves the hints that Peyton and his sister Penny have been providing as hints to their parents in preparation for their birthday. Hoping that they will get just the right pet for their birthday, their parents begin their day with a party at The Perfect Pal Pet Emporium. Along the way, Peyton and Penny along with their friends learn about what they each love about how the celebrate their day and in so doing so show what each of the 5 Love Languages are and how they relate to the children.

    Besides just a beautifully illustrated story book, there are activities for the kids to do as they are reading through the book, a scavenger hunt of sorts that begins at first page and lasts til the very end. It's a great way for parents as well as their kids to understand the meaning behind what the 5 Love Languages are and how they relate to what the kids appreciate from life and others. In the back are questions for parents to ask their kids as they re-read the story. It helps both parents and their kids to understand what is truly important to speak the language of "Love" to our kids and in return is a great way to share quality time together.

    I received this book compliments of Propeller and Northfield Publishing for my honest review. I've read about the 5 Love Languages for adults and knew that ones also existed for kids as well. This takes a step further and brings it to a beginner level for younger children. Perhaps while reading it, they can share what they think different love languages are for each member of their family or even friends. I rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars and highly recommend this to anyone working with young children as well as for parents and grandparents alike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1