Customer Reviews for

A Place Where I Belong

Average Rating 3
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Good Story- Enjoyable read!

Amanda (Mandy) is on a quest to find a place to call home. After her abusive marriage, Mandy leaves and begins her quest by driving her car. Around 6 mths of driving,Mandy ends up near her hometown. She meets Buddy (and other members of Buddy's family) and so begins t...
Amanda (Mandy) is on a quest to find a place to call home. After her abusive marriage, Mandy leaves and begins her quest by driving her car. Around 6 mths of driving,Mandy ends up near her hometown. She meets Buddy (and other members of Buddy's family) and so begins the story. Many & Buddy do live haappily ever after. I enjoyed the book and as an avid reader, will read just about anything (at least once). This book has Christianity as the characters background, which I lenjoy reading and it also have 1 or 2 bedroom section/paragraphs that I did not have a problem reading (caught off guard just a tiny bit....but I did not find it offensive nor vulgar. It was tastfully written/(no pun intended). It is around a level 1/level 2 (very low/small lines in the book). Other readers might find it offensive(at least according to some of the reviews on B&N) so for those readers you may or may not wish to read this book (or maybe skip sections of the book). From an abusive marriage/death/terrible accident/cattle rustlers, the story was entertaining. I thought it was enough to appease a wide audience. It is tastfully done some might (acccording to some of the reviews on B&N) be a bit offended. Christainity sections were fine and I thought the bedroom scenes were tastfully written. The story good & the secondary characters were enjoyable, especially the little kids (Paul/Lisa & Chris).

posted by MagnoliaSummer on June 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Cheesey

Read 20 pgs and stopped. Author needs more education on writing. Character spent too much time talklng to herself.

posted by 17179419 on June 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Cheesey

    Read 20 pgs and stopped. Author needs more education on writing. Character spent too much time talklng to herself.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    No good.

    I really thought I'd like this book, as I'm drawn to the country/western love stories. It was very obvious that this is an amateur writer. She was all over the place, and very repetitive on how characters "loved" each other after only 2 days, which is VERY un realistic. Also it was hard to keep up with her, as she would start something and skip ahead and go back to where she started. Not really a book I would recommend even though it was free.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Read 33 pages of the 243, skipped ahead to to 175 and finished the book.

    This Christian Book has 243 pages. I read 33 and didn't really care for the writing style or where the book was going, so I skipped ahead to page175 and found I hadn't missed out on much, because this book keeps retelling the key elements over and over. It could use some editing. Not a lot but some. I really did not like the heroine, the author kept writing about her beauty and goodness. She was way to perfect and talented, why, she could sing a song in a perfect voice, dance a jig without missing a beat, fide a horse and fight off bad guys, she was the perfect nurse maid and a great in bed. Everyone just loved her, she was smarter, more giving, braver and more masculine then even the men. While being the most feminine of women. In the end she had even more going for her. I like Christian books, but this one was over the top, it was also more violent, filled with tragedy, and had an awful lot of extreme sexual situations in it. A chick book. I did not care for it. For adult readers.

    AD

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Disappointed

    The synopsis of this book was more interesting. It is extremely "wordy". For an inspirational book it was unbelievable and boring. Just because we believe doesnt mean we are in this happy bubble with rainbows and waterfalls. I got to pg 30 and had enough.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Ugh

    I have a bad habit of not being able to NOT finish a book, and right now I really am disliking this bad habit of mine. I'm halfway through this book and I spent the first quarter trying to figure out what kind of special needs Buddy is. He is not MR or special needs apparently, just slow. I then started questioning how is this a Christian book with people lying to each other, and all the sexual tension that continues to pop up. Now the lead character just got married to someone that she doesn't even know his name?!?! Ok. I might just have to break my...'always finish a book habit'....
    I don't know if I can do it. Q

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2014

    Boring

    I tried to read it but its so poorly written i just couldnt do it. I deleted it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    Boring

    Slow, could not finish. Poorly written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    Horrid Cliched Drival

    I read all sorts of books all the time but with this one, the writing was so full of horrid cliches, I couldn't even get through the first chapter. It needs so much editing and rewriting for me to even consider trying to try to read this mess again. Good luck.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    Didnt finish

    Not worth the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Highly disappointing

    I have read other religious romance books but this is the first time I have ever stopped reading a book. It's forced and unrealistic. The characters are too fake to make the book read well. Glad this was free.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Ok

    Liked the storyline but it was hard to read. The charactors didn't seem real with the way they talked and acted for a western religious romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Christian book

    The story line seemed forced. It is a very book if you are looking to read something that is very Christian based. It was not what I expected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Bad book

    Ive never quit a book before, but this was way to much religion and the way they talked to each got annoying quick .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Awful book.

    Sucked badly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Religious indoctrination

    Its bad enough we are indoctrinated from childhood but i'd like my romance without a side order of religion. Thank you very much

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    nice story

    Good story for someone who is really into religion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Well, it was free.

    Too much blah-blah between any action. The author was half
    way through the story before the conflict element was introducted then it was too easly solved. Too much unrealistic religion dialog. I am glad it was a free book, I would be unhappy if I had payed for.it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    Bad

    Not good, writen poorly

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Ok

    Very christian writing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2