Customer Reviews for

A Place to Stand: The Making of a Poet

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Place to Stand gives me a Leg Up

People who don't think that written word or anything in text can change and transform they're life are proven false after I read this incredible book about a troubled youth and a long 5 year term in New Mexico's Maximum Security prison.
When Jimmy Santiago Baca enters ...
People who don't think that written word or anything in text can change and transform they're life are proven false after I read this incredible book about a troubled youth and a long 5 year term in New Mexico's Maximum Security prison.
When Jimmy Santiago Baca enters New Mexico's Florence State Prison in 1973, he was convicted on a heavy drug charge; Jimmy is a ripe 21 year old boy and has an impressively long history of trouble with the law for being such a young age. There's no reason or no hope left in his life, his father was a drunk and his mother abandoned him to live with as a white person with a white family and a white house. With no more options you would think jail will do turn him into a hardened criminal, with standing up for himself with guards and menacing convicts quickly gains him a reputation as a "BA" troublemaker. But there is hope in Jimmy's life with him illiterate and down on his luck he unsuccessfully tries to get permission to take classes in prison, only fueling his desire.
When a volunteer from a catholic group sends him an emotional letter, writing and learning how to express feelings and words on paper started to unleash something in Baca, who starts writing letters and poems with the help of a mini dictionary. Evaluating literature shows him reasons for understanding his tender family background and expressing his way of thinking. Poetry very literally saves him from being a murderer, as Jimmy stands over another convict with a deadly weapon, ready to take the mans soul, and listened to "the voices of Neruda and Lorca... praising life as sacred and challenging me: How can you kill and still be a poet?"(Baca 231) Baca has a year to go on his sentence and he begins to think about a positive new life, instead of thinking about his next day in isolation he thinks about his next day in the real world.
Without diminishing the brutality of life in jail, Baca shows compassion for the men there who helped him and insists his commitment to writing poetry for people who are misunderstood, telling the truth about the life that prisoners have to endure.

posted by Nolanmiller on October 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Interesting But.......

I thought that this was a good book, but the guy made himself up to be a victim. he deserved a lot that happened to him and gave a one sided opinion. I know the guy went through alot, but come on he did so many horrible things. For example: stole a car, stabbed a pri...
I thought that this was a good book, but the guy made himself up to be a victim. he deserved a lot that happened to him and gave a one sided opinion. I know the guy went through alot, but come on he did so many horrible things. For example: stole a car, stabbed a prisoner with a shank, sold and smoked crack and weed, and did tons of other stuff. But throughout the entire novel, he basically said everyone else was at fault, and he was just at the wrong place at the wrong time. If you like a cool biography, read this book. but if you hate hearing people complain, and victimize themselves, leave this one on the shelf.

posted by Anonymous on November 19, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 7, 2010

    A Place to Stand gives me a Leg Up

    People who don't think that written word or anything in text can change and transform they're life are proven false after I read this incredible book about a troubled youth and a long 5 year term in New Mexico's Maximum Security prison.
    When Jimmy Santiago Baca enters New Mexico's Florence State Prison in 1973, he was convicted on a heavy drug charge; Jimmy is a ripe 21 year old boy and has an impressively long history of trouble with the law for being such a young age. There's no reason or no hope left in his life, his father was a drunk and his mother abandoned him to live with as a white person with a white family and a white house. With no more options you would think jail will do turn him into a hardened criminal, with standing up for himself with guards and menacing convicts quickly gains him a reputation as a "BA" troublemaker. But there is hope in Jimmy's life with him illiterate and down on his luck he unsuccessfully tries to get permission to take classes in prison, only fueling his desire.
    When a volunteer from a catholic group sends him an emotional letter, writing and learning how to express feelings and words on paper started to unleash something in Baca, who starts writing letters and poems with the help of a mini dictionary. Evaluating literature shows him reasons for understanding his tender family background and expressing his way of thinking. Poetry very literally saves him from being a murderer, as Jimmy stands over another convict with a deadly weapon, ready to take the mans soul, and listened to "the voices of Neruda and Lorca... praising life as sacred and challenging me: How can you kill and still be a poet?"(Baca 231) Baca has a year to go on his sentence and he begins to think about a positive new life, instead of thinking about his next day in isolation he thinks about his next day in the real world.
    Without diminishing the brutality of life in jail, Baca shows compassion for the men there who helped him and insists his commitment to writing poetry for people who are misunderstood, telling the truth about the life that prisoners have to endure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2009

    Its a Great Book!

    Its a book that you never want to put down, telling you how Jimmy's life through his hard struggles and life changing events he wanted to turn his life around for the better. Its a very detailed book of Jimmy's life making it seem like you were there with him through every event in his life. Its a great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2002

    Interesting But.......

    I thought that this was a good book, but the guy made himself up to be a victim. he deserved a lot that happened to him and gave a one sided opinion. I know the guy went through alot, but come on he did so many horrible things. For example: stole a car, stabbed a prisoner with a shank, sold and smoked crack and weed, and did tons of other stuff. But throughout the entire novel, he basically said everyone else was at fault, and he was just at the wrong place at the wrong time. If you like a cool biography, read this book. but if you hate hearing people complain, and victimize themselves, leave this one on the shelf.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I felt that Jimmy Santiago Baca did not understand the point of

    I felt that Jimmy Santiago Baca did not understand the point of writing a memoir, to reflect. I was waiting for that ah-ha! moment and it never came, he still blames everyone for his life's life's troubles and it is infuriating that he can't take ownership of his own actions. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Required for a class.

    Great read. Gritty at times. A must on everyone's list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Good book

    Very interesting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Sweet Action!

    The author had a great story to tell, and i loved all the articulate details, it made me feel as if i had actually been there. Everyone should read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    I thought it was a good book i had to read it for one of my college classes and at first i didn't like but when i actually started reading it i got really into and found that it was actually a really good book. I would recommend this book anytime.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2006

    Brilliant!

    Wow! At times I felt I was actually there. The author really, truely knows how to articulate. Well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2004

    Great insight and entertaining too!

    My fiance is and has been incarcerated for several years. Some of the time he has spent behind bars was at the actual prison in the book. I found the book very interesting and gave me more of a feel for the life behind bars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2002

    A great book

    I don't read that much. But this is one of the best book I have read.I have gone back and read parts agian and agian.You just can't put it down.I have recommended it to everyone I know including my daughters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2002

    A Must Have

    I really liked this book. Jimmy went through so much and writes about every detail. After I finished the book, it felt like I knew Jimmy as a close friend. You will not be disappoint if you get this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2002

    From prisoner to poet

    A wrenching yet riveting memoir of a man's journey to self-expression. It's amazing that a life that knew such violence, drugs and imprisonment could have led the way to poetry. The truth of Jimmy Santiago Baca's life story is not easy to read, but it is thoroughly compelling. The violence and scenes in prison ring with a kind of truth I am sure I wouldn't have been aware of had I not read this account. The stories of his loves and hatreds are heartrending, but his account of learning to read and how that affected the rest of his life discloses the incredible interior struggle of an immense creative energy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1