Customer Reviews for

A Plain Death (Appleseed Creek Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyed the book, hope the author will write more. This book giv

Enjoyed the book, hope the author will write more. This book gives a different slant to life in the Amish community. I did not realize that some people are jealous of them.

posted by 13692372 on December 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I liked how A Plain Death was equipped with a large dosage of my

I liked how A Plain Death was equipped with a large dosage of mystery. The suspense constantly kept me on my toes. I had to keep reading till the end because I wanted to discover the mysterious conclusion to the story.Also, I enjoyed the presence of Grandfather Zook. I ...
I liked how A Plain Death was equipped with a large dosage of mystery. The suspense constantly kept me on my toes. I had to keep reading till the end because I wanted to discover the mysterious conclusion to the story.Also, I enjoyed the presence of Grandfather Zook. I would love to have him as my grandpa.Rebecca was such a determined individual, that I began to admire her for her desire to pursue art.

posted by Starryblue on July 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 7, 2013

    Chloe has just moved to Appleseed Creek , a small Amish communit

    Chloe has just moved to Appleseed Creek , a small Amish community in Ohio.  She is Christian, but not Amish.  Chloe has come to head the Computer Technology Department at the small local "Englisher's" college, but before she can even settle in, she becomes entangled in troubles within the community's life.  Becky is a teenage girl who has decided not to return to Amish life after her experiences in art classes.  She was supposed to marry the Bishop's son, but that will not happen now. 




     When Chloe sees Becky being harasses while walking down the roadway, Chloe offers Becky a ride into town.  Becky takes this as an invitation to stay with Chloe in her new home.  Then Becky, without a driver's license or permission, "borrows" Chloe's car, and she has an accident resulting in the death of the Amish Bishop.  But, was this an accident or a murder made to look like an accident.  Chloe sets out to help Becky prove her innocence.  Becky's handsome brother, Timothy, has become a Mennonite for reasons of his own.  Chloe and Timothy start working together to help Becky, and find themselves becoming closer as they begin to understand each other's troubled past lives.




    This was a fun, interesting mystery. The different community lives between Amish and Englishers was informative. God, and a Godly life as seen in different ways, made this mystery much more involved and exciting. All the characters were wonderfully fleshed out, and I'm really looking forward to the next installments in the lives of Appleseed Creek's citizens. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2013

    4 STARS A Plain Death: An Appleseed Creek Mystery by Amanda Flo

    4 STARS

    A Plain Death: An Appleseed Creek Mystery by Amanda Flower
    It is the first book in An Appleseed Creek Mystery. It is a good clean entertaining read. It is hard for me to say how well the suspense and mystery part was because I read book 2 A Plain Scandal first. So I already knew some facts about the storyline.
    I like this series and see that their is going to be a third book. I want to read that someday.
    Appleseed Creek is a small town in Ohio. It has a collage and a Amish community. It is mostly a friendly town. It has some interesting characters some you love,some you hate and some are dumb.
    Chloe Humphrey does not even make it into town before she becomes involved with three characters. She is 24 and working at a new job at the collage in the computer department. She sees a girl in a dress walking down a road and a truck with two guys trying to get the girl in the truck. Chloe asks the girl if she needs help. The girl gets into her car with her.

    Becky is leaving her family and the Amish faith. She directs Becky to the house she is renting. When the door knob comes off as they enter Becky calls her big brother to come help. Becky needs a place to stay and she just plans to stay with Chloe. It is a big 3 room house. Becky wants to paint people. Her family wants her to marry the Bishop's son.

    Timothy had left the church earlier and works with wood. He is good looking and kind. He wants his sister to go back home. Before he leaves for work the next day drops off groceries for the two of them.

    Chloe is not close to her father he blames her for her mothers death and sees her once a year if that. He moved across country without her when she was only 15. Her best friends family let her move in with them. Now she was alone again. Chloe wakes up to Becky cooking her breakfast. Chloe agrees to let her stay for a few days. She knows how it is to not have a home.

    Someone wants to hurt Chloe or Becky. Becky makes a mistake that costs dearly. It turns a lot of people against the two girls. Chloe wants to find out who and why was her brake line cut.

    The police force in town is three. So the sheriff is not against Chloe asking questions about what is going on. Just being new in town she has friends in the Amish community that the sheriff does not have.

    The dean of the collage wants Chloe to let go some of the personal of her staff. They need to trim the budget. So she is not making friends their.
    I felt like the ending was a little rushed would have liked a little bit more.
    Pub Date: Jul 1 2012 B&H Publishing Group 496 pages ASIN: B008922T7I

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1