Customer Reviews for

A Plain Death (Appleseed Creek Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awesome book- a must read Amish mystery

I love reading Amish mysteries, and this first book of this series -An Appleseed Creek Mystery was awesome! Amanda Flower has become one of my favorite Amish Mystery authors! Iam interested in reading more of her books, and can't wait to read the next book in this seri...
I love reading Amish mysteries, and this first book of this series -An Appleseed Creek Mystery was awesome! Amanda Flower has become one of my favorite Amish Mystery authors! Iam interested in reading more of her books, and can't wait to read the next book in this series!

posted by Amish1949 on July 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I liked how A Plain Death was equipped with a large dosage of my

I liked how A Plain Death was equipped with a large dosage of mystery. The suspense constantly kept me on my toes. I had to keep reading till the end because I wanted to discover the mysterious conclusion to the story.Also, I enjoyed the presence of Grandfather Zook. I ...
I liked how A Plain Death was equipped with a large dosage of mystery. The suspense constantly kept me on my toes. I had to keep reading till the end because I wanted to discover the mysterious conclusion to the story.Also, I enjoyed the presence of Grandfather Zook. I would love to have him as my grandpa.Rebecca was such a determined individual, that I began to admire her for her desire to pursue art.

posted by Starryblue on July 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Enjoyed the book, hope the author will write more. This book giv

    Enjoyed the book, hope the author will write more. This book gives a different slant to life in the Amish community. I did not realize that some people are jealous of them.


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2012

    A Plain Death Amanda Flower Book Summary: Welcome to Appleseed C

    A Plain Death Amanda Flower Book Summary: Welcome to Appleseed Creek,
    the heart of Ohio’s Amish Country, where life is not as serene as it
    seems. While her Cleveland friends relocated to Southern California and
    Italy, 24-year-old computer whiz Chloe Humphrey moves with some
    uncertainty to Appleseed Creek to direct technology services at a nearby
    college. Her first acquaintance is Becky, an ex-Amish teenager looking
    for a new home. While driving Chloe’s car, Becky collides with a buggy,
    killing an Amish elder. But what looks like an accident is soon labeled
    murder when police discover the car’s cut brake line. Now, Chloe must
    take on the role of amateur sleuth to discover who the real intended
    victim was before the murderer makes a second attempt. Becky’s handsome
    Amish-turned-Mennonite brother, Timothy, a local carpenter, comes in
    handy along the way. With God’s help, they’ll solve the mystery that’s
    rocking this small community. Review: I enjoyed this book very much. It
    was a great debut series by this author. It was a good introduction to
    the characters and gave enough information to keep me going throughout
    the book about the main character. I found the story to be well
    developed and it had a little surprise at the end the story which was
    welcomed. I think the extra characters were diverse. They were made more
    real by their flaws and that is not always visible in characters. I am
    looking forward to reading the next book in the series. I would like to
    thank Net Galley and B & H Publishing Group for allowing me to read
    and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never asked to
    write a favorable review by anyone.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    Awesome book- a must read Amish mystery

    I love reading Amish mysteries, and this first book of this series -An Appleseed Creek Mystery was awesome! Amanda Flower has become one of my favorite Amish Mystery authors! Iam interested in reading more of her books, and can't wait to read the next book in this series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2014

    must read

    this was really well written. loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    Comet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2014

    This is an Amish murder mystery. It was different and enjoyable.

    This is an Amish murder mystery. It was different and enjoyable. I liked how it twisted and turned. There were so many suspects that I was constantly changing my mind as to who was the killer. I liked the characters. I also liked the lessons on the Amish that were part of the story. I learned but I also was lost in a murder mystery. I didn't figure it out but I knew the reason, which was very plausible and realistic. Chloe is going to be fun to watch as she wriggles her way into Amish lives. She's an Englisher but the Amish seem to trust her. I do want to know what is going on with her and her father. I'll be reading this series. Well done

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Loved this Amish mystery Becky Troyer is walking alone on a cou

    Loved this Amish mystery

    Becky Troyer is walking alone on a country road as she's leaving her Amish home for the English world when some burly men see her and try to get her into their green truck. Along comes Chloe Humphrey in her loaded down car looking for her newly rented house in Appleseed Creek, Ohio and seeing a girl alone, walking along a green truck with a disgusting looking man giving her a bad time, she takes a chance and stops to see if the girl needs help. Becky gets in with Chloe and now Chloe gains a houseguest and soon becomes the target of the two men in the green truck with a murder mystery to follow.




    I've been wanting to read this series for a long time but as my 'to be read' list kept getting longer and longer it seemed like I was forgetting about it. For some reason I would think about reading the series, then would pick something else out. Finally I decided this is the time and it was a GREAT book. Now I wish I'd read it sooner, this book keeps you guessing and I wasn't quite sure who the target was or who was after the target. Amanda did a wonderful job!




    I read this on my Kindle and I normally only read my Kindle when I'm in a vehicle, waiting in a doctors office, etc., but the closer I got to the end of this book I had to finish it TONIGHT! So, yes, I even read at home, my paperback had to wait! I will be starting the next book, "A Plain Scandal" tomorrow as I wait for my granddaughter to get out of school.




    If you like Amish books and you like mysteries, you'll love this book. It's a great combination of Amish, English and a good mystery.




    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the NetGalley   book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2013

    Amanda Flowers presents a twist on Amish fiction ¿ a mystery tha

    Amanda Flowers presents a twist on Amish fiction – a mystery that takes place in Ohio’s Amish country, proving that life among the Amish community is not as peaceful as one assumes.

    A Plain Death finds Chloe Humphrey moving into Appleseed Creek. She has just accepted a position as the computer services director at a local college. Her plan is to be there for a few years before taking a promotion elsewhere. On her first day, she saves Becky, a young Amish woman who was being accosted by some “English” men. She left her Amish family and wants to pursue a career in art. Becky moves into Chloe’s house and looks for a job. Her brother Timothy, another former Amish, wants to keep an eye on his sister. He befriends Chloe and helps her make repairs on her house.

    When Becky borrows Chloe’s car without permission, she causes an accident, killing an Amish bishop. It is labeled murder when the police discover the car was tampered with. Meanwhile, Chloe discovers that she was hired to fire some of her staff and bring about some other changes. She faces dissension in her work environment. Could one of them be behind the murder? Was Chloe the intended victim? Or was someone targeting the Amish? Chloe needs to find out before the murderer strikes again.

    Flower writes a cozy mystery that engages the reader. Her book has interesting characters (Grandfather Zook is a charmer!) and several twists to the plot. A Plain Death ends differently that expected, which is how a mystery should end. Discussion questions are also included. The second book, A Plain Scandal, will be published in February 2013.

    Recommended to public and church libraries.

    Disclaimer: Book reviews are my opinion of books I either purchased or received free of cost from the publisher in exchange for a honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2012

    I just loved "A PLAIN DEATH" it was awesome once I

    I just loved "A PLAIN DEATH" it was awesome once I started this book I had a hard time putting it down it is different from otherAmish books and once you start from page one you will be hooked, if I could give this book 10 stars that would not even be enough. When you are reading this book you will feel just like you are there with them, there were really some surprising turns in this book you will go wow, I did not see that coming. I have told so many people about this book , and I wish I could read the next one now. All I can say is "AWESOME"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1