Customer Reviews for

A Promise for Miriam (Pebble Creek Amish Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

An Absolute Delight!!

Miriam King loves her life in Pebble Creek, Wisconsin. She loves her teaching job at the local Amish school. At twenty six many wonder why she has not married. She is beautiful and adores her students. Gabriel Miller is a widow who decides to move to Pebble Creek. Gabe ...
Miriam King loves her life in Pebble Creek, Wisconsin. She loves her teaching job at the local Amish school. At twenty six many wonder why she has not married. She is beautiful and adores her students. Gabriel Miller is a widow who decides to move to Pebble Creek. Gabe is determined to leave his past in Indiana and start a new life with his daughter Grace. Grace is an adorable little eight year old who has not spoken in three years. When Grace comes to Miriam’s school, Miriam is determined to help her speak. Gabe moved to Pebble Creek to keep to himself and not take any help or handouts, but now that’s all out the window because the feisty Miss Miriam with jet black hair and beautiful gray eyes demands his attention. He has guarded his heart well since the death of his wife, but feels a spark when he is around Miriam. Torn by his feelings for her and also realizing he is but a humble man with nothing to offer her, he pushes her towards Aden Schmucker. He feels Aden can provide an easy life for her. Miriam feels a connection to Gabe and is confused when he encourages her to give Aden a chance. She knows he feels something, so why is he rejecting her? How can she make him realize his heart is the one she longs for? A Promise for Miriam is an endearing love story written by Vannetta Chapman, who has quickly become one of my favorite authors. This was such a heartwarming story. I found myself laughing, crying, and smiling, all the while feeling a sense of joy reading about these characters. I loved reading from Grace’s point of view. It’s very refreshing to see the world through a child’s eyes. I am only covering the tip of the iceberg with this review because this book has so much more to offer than I can put into a few paragraphs. It’s a book filled with honest and genuine characters that will make you feel right at home in Pebble Creek. This book was provided to me from Harvest House Publishers via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.

posted by destinationamish on July 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great book story was well written

Great book story was well written

posted by Jean8 on February 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    This was an exceptional story, I loved it! This is the first Am

    This was an exceptional story, I loved it! This is the first Amish fiction book that I have read, that takes place in Wisconsin, and it was very interesting to read about the Amish from there. I enjoyed all the characters, and my favorite was Grace, for a little girl, she had tremendous courage and insight. Miriam was an excellent teacher, and I enjoyed reading about how days at an Amish school were like. I also enjoyed reading about Miriam's family dog - Pepper, ...it made me smile everytime!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    An Absolute Delight!!

    Miriam King loves her life in Pebble Creek, Wisconsin. She loves her teaching job at the local Amish school. At twenty six many wonder why she has not married. She is beautiful and adores her students. Gabriel Miller is a widow who decides to move to Pebble Creek. Gabe is determined to leave his past in Indiana and start a new life with his daughter Grace. Grace is an adorable little eight year old who has not spoken in three years. When Grace comes to Miriam’s school, Miriam is determined to help her speak. Gabe moved to Pebble Creek to keep to himself and not take any help or handouts, but now that’s all out the window because the feisty Miss Miriam with jet black hair and beautiful gray eyes demands his attention. He has guarded his heart well since the death of his wife, but feels a spark when he is around Miriam. Torn by his feelings for her and also realizing he is but a humble man with nothing to offer her, he pushes her towards Aden Schmucker. He feels Aden can provide an easy life for her. Miriam feels a connection to Gabe and is confused when he encourages her to give Aden a chance. She knows he feels something, so why is he rejecting her? How can she make him realize his heart is the one she longs for? A Promise for Miriam is an endearing love story written by Vannetta Chapman, who has quickly become one of my favorite authors. This was such a heartwarming story. I found myself laughing, crying, and smiling, all the while feeling a sense of joy reading about these characters. I loved reading from Grace’s point of view. It’s very refreshing to see the world through a child’s eyes. I am only covering the tip of the iceberg with this review because this book has so much more to offer than I can put into a few paragraphs. It’s a book filled with honest and genuine characters that will make you feel right at home in Pebble Creek. This book was provided to me from Harvest House Publishers via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    Anonyous

    Great book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Excellent Amish story about building a family.... First off let

    Excellent Amish story about building a family....

    First off let me say first that this A Promise For Miriam is now my all-time favorite Amish novel. I don't know if it was the likable and real characters, the different location (Wisconsin), the storyline that was a little different than the average Amish story, or what it was...

    One thing I like about this book is that Vannetta Chapman shows us that even though the Amish dress alike they are just as individual in personalities as the Englischers. Miriam is outspoken at times and you will love how she tricks her brother, not exactly stereotypical Amish.

    I identified much with Miriam, even down to liking the middle cinnamon rolls because they are softest.
    She became a friend for awhile and I will definitely be coming back to visit her, not only in the next books in the series, but her own book will be re-read with appreciation.

    Gabe is a good man, loves his daughter and simply wants to build a life for them with peace and no prying eyes.
    Grace is the most lovable little girl I have read about in ages! She is loving, talented, and smart.

    This book is well written, with plenty of family warmth and a dash of romance that isn't saccharine. Once again the little-movie-projector-in-my-head had plenty to work with, the descriptions of Pebble Creek in Wisconsin are lovely and made me wish I could just drive there and spend some time.

    A Promise For Miriam is a gentle and very enjoyable trip into the Amish country of Wisconsin.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    In Miriam's Amish community, for a woman to be unmarried at twen

    In Miriam's Amish community, for a woman to be unmarried at twenty-six years of age is almost unheard of. But she loves teaching the schoolchildren and refuses to marry for less than love. But when widowed Gabe Miller moves to Pebble Creek with his daughter, Grace, Miriam finds herself involved in their lives. While Gabe faces the possibility of letting someone into their lives, Miriam has to decide if she wants that level of involvement, or if she wants to continue her life as before.

    As an avid reader of Amish-themed novels, I can say that this is the best I've read in this genre in the last couple of years. Often, it seems that cliches and sappy sentimentality fill the holes of a poorly-written plot. This is, happily, not the case with Ms. Chapman. She has a strong storyline, three-dimensional characters, and realistic issues facing the Amish community of today. I thoroughly enjoyed the novel and will be looking for the rest of the series.


    Recommended for adolescents and up.

    5 stars


    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Goodreads First Reads book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    A Delightful Read! I have read several books by author Vannett

    A Delightful Read!

    I have read several books by author Vannetta Chapman and I have enjoyed them all. A Promise for Miriam did not let me down.

    I fell in love with the Characters in this book. Who wouldn’t be concerned for Gabe who lost his wife to death 3 years ago. Would he ever get over losing his wife? Could he, would he, be able to move on? His eight year old daughter Grace captured my heart. She is simply adorable. Miriam, the school teacher, has never married but she is content with being single because her students are her life. Will she always be content with teaching? Will she long for a family of her own some day?

    My emotions loved this book. I found myself laughing our loud, I found myself worrying, and I found myself shedding a few tears.

    This book in my opinion deserves a 5 star rating; one that I will gladly give.

    I urge you to buy a copy of this book. I promise you will not be disappointed.

    I can’t wait to read A Home for Lydia, Book 2 of The Pebble Creek Amish Series.



    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    enjoyed

    Loved this story hope to read some others

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2014

    I loved meeting the community of Pebble Creek, Wisconsin. Vanne

    I loved meeting the community of Pebble Creek, Wisconsin. Vannetta Chapman has a knack for drawing such realistic characters - I always feel they are friends I've known for a long time. In this book you'll meet school-teacher Miriam as she welcomes a new student, young Grace Miller. She and her father, Gabe, have moved to the area to start fresh after the death of Grace's mother. Both Millers are crippled by their grief: Grace is literally mute, but Gabe also struggles to express his feelings, and instead, throws himself into rehabbing a run-down farm. He wants to keep to keep his emotional distance from the friendly folks of Pebble Creek, but an emergency shows him his need of friends. I love how each of the characters in this novel develop...they each face their flaws and grow in faith.
    The humor and candor on each page weaves these folks right into your heart. I guarantee once you finish this book, you'll be reading the rest of this series and looking for more glimpses of Gabe and Miriam.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2014

    I loved this book. The characters of Miriam and Gabe are just so

    I loved this book. The characters of Miriam and Gabe are just so personable. Miriam is a loving and smart teacher, able to discern the best ways to help her students learn.

    Gabe and his daughter move into the community bearing a tragic past. They both still struggle over the loss of Gabe’s wife, the mother of Gracie.

    Gabe wants to be left alone, not pitied. He refuses help for so long! Miriam wants to connect and help his daughter with a rather big issue she is having.

    The attraction grows between the two characters and the way the author brings the two together at the end of the book is truly wonderful!
    This is a great book and the first in a series of three stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2014

    This book was such a good read! I was the lucky winner of this e

    This book was such a good read! I was the lucky winner of this excellent book and hope that you will take the time to read this also. You can find Vannetta's link here.

    Vannetta has written many Amish fiction books and her latest is Murder, Simply Brewed. This is from her Amish Village Mystery series.

    Published in 2012, A Promise for Miriam is about a 26 year-old Amish woman, a teacher in the Amish community school. She loves teaching and those that she teaches. This heartwarming story is about Gabriel Miller who moves to Cashton, Wisconsin from his former home in Indiana. He finds himself in a much more conservative order than what he is accustomed to, yet a warm, friendly and helpful community.

    Gabe is a widower with an eight year-old daughter, who has not spoken since the death of her mother. He and his daughter, Grace, meet the school teacher, Miriam where Grace begins to attend school. Gabe is somewhat taken aback when Miriam tries to encourage Grace to try to speak again. He feels this might be too difficult and informs Miriam of this fact causing some friction between them.

    Because of the frightening incidents that occur, Gabe softens both towards Miriam and to the new community he has come to love and depend upon.

    This book shares the importance of healing, friendship, community spirit, and love towards your fellow man. As their little community becomes involved in situations, both important to the Englisch and the Amish, Gabe plays an important role in matters of a civic nature. It is good to read how, even though there are differences in the Amish and Englisch, teamwork and community efforts can work out for all involved.

    A Promise for Miriam is a warm and cozy read that will leave you wanting to read the rest of the series of The Pebble Creek Amish books by Vannetta Chapman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2013

    Another delightful Amish fiction romance! This is the first in a

    Another delightful Amish fiction romance! This is the first in a series. I read the second in the series, A Home for Lydia, first but each is a stand-alone book. I adore little Grace in both books. She puts precocious on the map! You fall in love with the characters and root for them as they find their way through life. I so admire the Amish way and Vannetta's real-to-life approach to writing helps me get back to what is important in my own life. You will enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    I loved the story line between Miriam and Gabe. Just when they

    I loved the story line between Miriam and Gabe. Just when they both thought there was no one for them, the found each other. I love to read these wholesome love stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    Widower, Gabe Miller and his 8 year old daughter, Grace, have j

    Widower, Gabe Miller and his 8 year old daughter, Grace, have
    just moved into an old farm in an Amish community in Wisconsin.  He plans to start a new life by taking care of everything himself, without help from others.  Happy and friendly Grace doesn't speak but she draws like a dream.  Gabe starts her in the Amish school, where Mariam King teaches.

    Twenty six year old Mariam, and her friend, Esther, teach the children.  Grace fits in nicely, but why doesn't she speak?  Mariam loves teaching and her school children, and wants to help Grace. Esther is sewing a quilt as she prepares for her upcoming wedding.  Gabe questions changes for her daughter.

    All Is going well, when a potential tragedy throws the whole community into action.  We grow closer to all the characters , becoming part of their community through the charming writing of Vannetta Chapman.  This is a well written start to a new series about this peaceful, loving, but 'character filled' Amish community  and their Englisher neighbors.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Sweet Love Story

    A widower, Gabriel Miller, and his daughter Grace move in next door to Amish schoolteacher Miriam King. When she goes bearing food to welcome them she finds him as a man who wants to be left alone. He spurns all offers of help to restore his barn and house. But when he takes Grace to the two-room schoolhouse for her first day at school, Miriam learns that Grace can’t or won’t speak. After a near tragedy Gabriel is surprised that all the community comes to his house to help. Gabriel has a past he doesn’t want to talk about and is astonished at the community turning out to help him. Can he trust his secret and his heart to love again? A well written book that will pull you into reading one more chapter. Memorable characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    Wow! And that still doesn't describe how wonderful A Promise for

    Wow! And that still doesn't describe how wonderful A Promise for Miriam turned out to be. Vannetta did an awesome job pulling me into the lives of Miriam, Gabe, and Grace. I lived with them for a whole day--the amount of time it took me to read the book--and loved every minute of it. I especially loved the ending, so unexpected, but no spoilers here, so you'll have to read it to find out. :)

    ***I received this book free from the publisher/author for the purposes of review. The above is my honest opinion***

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Vannetta Chapman has a unique voice in the world of Amish fictio

    Vannetta Chapman has a unique voice in the world of Amish fiction. Her ability to portray Amish men and women as human beings, her daring to portray the clashes with the modern world and the challenges involved have truly won me over to reading Amish fiction. The growth of her storytelling, so wonderful in A Simple Amish Christmas, has become even deeper, richer and more complex.

    The story of Gabe, Miriam and Grace is one many of us can relate to in our own lives. A Promise for Miriam is about hiding from the world's hurts and being coaxed out by love. The first in a new series by Chapman, this book is a promise to her readers to deliver a truly marvelous series of stories about an Amish community and its residents in Wisconsin. Can't wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1