Customer Reviews for

A Question of Honor (Bess Crawford Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    Another great book in this excellent series

    One of the best historical mystery series going. I was already reading Charles Todd's Ian Rutledge series, so immediately bought the first in this one. Bess Crawford, a British nurse serving in France and England in WWI, is faced with mysteries as well as the influx of soldiers wounded in the trenches. This book is as good as the first five. Already impatient for publication of #6!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    Good read

    I bought this bookfrom the 2.99 and under section without realizing it was part of a series. I was able to follow it without a problem without reading the books preceding it. The story is good and holds your attention. The characters are believeable and likeable. The only thing that bothered me is how lucky Bess is! People seem to just pop up right in front of her! Out of all the people in England, the people she needs to find just happen to show up without her even looking for them most of the time! All in all though, great book and i will read the next in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2013

    This is a very well written series. I am impressed with how it i

    This is a very well written series. I am impressed with how it immerses the reader in the world of WWI.
    Bess and her family and friends are admirable people. But, they have their failings, too.
    The flashback to 10 years earlier works well. The intensity of the need for regimental honor at all cost is quite clear. This is something people today have much less experience about. For them, at that time, it was black or white.
    Bess' whole family (plus Simon) are interesting and likeable.
    I keep wondering what, if anything, will develop between Bess and Simon. With the chaos of the war I think people either got "serious" very quickly, thinking tomorrow might not come, or held themselves "in check", figuring it was unrealistic to get involved when there was so much uncertainty.
    The part about the service children living away from their families with people in England was very touching. It was such an unpredictable thing, placing ones children with strangers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Wolfpet

    Kkk

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    More than You Expect

    Discussable for book clubs, nicely nuanced characterizations, a compelling central theme. I'd never heard of Charles Todd, but will look for more from him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Stimulating historical mystery that keeps you guessing

    I thoroughly enjoyed the previous Bess Crawford mysteries and this was no exception. It was very interesting to learn more about her life in India as well as the lifestyle of the families that were stationed there. There was a lot historical detail; from the lives of WWI nurses, soldiers, the flu pandemic, to life in early 1900 India. It was very informative but in a way that draws you into the story. My only issue was that it was not always clear how much time had passed. She crossed the channel a lot! Other than that, it was a very good read. I look forward to reading her newest mystery!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Disappointing series and i have tried to like them

    And hoped each time that they would get a a solid plot but this will be the last borrowed the genre combo is multi flawed oh to be in england now thats april there anglo reader

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Read this if you like this genre

    Always enjoy Charles Crawford and learning of this time in history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Excellent series

    I got hooked from the very beginning of Book 1, this is an excellent series of who-don-it and some history thrown in. Would like to see more character development of Simon. I appreciate that not everyone is described as a raving beauty or dashingly handsome, but some more details of characters would be nice. All in all, would highly recommend the series to any historical mystery buff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Good Read

    An interesting murder mystery. The story moves the reader to guess who is the murderer each time a new character enters the plot. I guessed wrong until the last few pages. Recommended reading to those who love to guess at outcomes of a well written mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Love this series

    Bess is such a great character, I can't wait to read more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2