Customer Reviews for

A Regimental Murder

Average Rating 4.5
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    Highly Recommended.

    Well written mystery novel with complex characters and good plot. This is not a fluffy romance novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    Excellent, worth reading the whole series

    Such a good series! Well written, very complex set of characters that are compelling all the way through. Not a fluffy, shallow romance at all, despite the cover.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Good, no heavy sex sceans

    Nice to read a nice period piece without sex being the main topic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Highly recommend

    This is a different kind of mystery, but very readable, good plot and I am not reading the 3rd in the series. Really enjoy this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    GREAT SERIES GET THEM

    I own all in this series and cant say enough. I highly recommend them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2013

    Fantastic.......................................................

    Fantastic....................................................................................
    If you like mysteries don't pass this up.   A  total page turner.     Captain Lacey is a  Sherlock Holmes with a personality and a libido.  His friends are quirky.   His integrity unbenda
    le.   I don't normally read regency mystery .  For mystery Michael Connelly, Ken Bruen or Lee Childs are usually my go to ---but Ashley Gardner has me hooked.  Good stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    ***** Highly recommended - Check it out!

    Good believable story. Strong characters. Several inter-related events keep the action moving. Based on this book, I purchased the next three books that follow. I have enjoyed the all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2012

    Another Excellent Captain Lacey Book

    I have read most of this series, out of sequence, but no matter because with every story I read, I like them better and better. I just wish there were more of them! I'm certainly not tired of the characters yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    Must Read

    This is a great mystery series and I love Captain Lacey. Makes me wish I lived in England during the early 1800's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    A really good read

    I have really enjoyed this series thus far. Great story telling, well written characters. I am getting the next book in the series. I recommend this book to anyone who likes a good historical mystery. Lots of surprises!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Definite must

    Great mystery books. You will love the characters and Captain Lacey. I like the friendship between Lacey and Grenville. Clynnb

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    This book is a great one to read I could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    Enjoyable reading- highly recommended

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. I read the first one in the series- The Hanover Square Affair. I thought I would try a new author and new genre(I don't usually read Regency novels)because the NOOK price was right at 99 cents. I was hooked! I like this author's style of intrigue with a bit of romance that is without the graphic sex so common in so many of the books these days. Captain Lacey is a very likeable character and his adventures as a sleuth are riveting. I'm looking forward to reading the other books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2004

    strong Regency mystery

    In 1816 Regency England, Captain Gabriel Lacey is just starting to recover from the depression he suffered after seeing atrocities committed during the Iberian Peninsula campaign. One night while strolling in London he sees a woman on a bridge seemingly poised to leap to avoid a man with a knife. Gabriel chases the mugger away and brings Lydia Westin to the safety of his home. <P>Lydia is a widow who asks her host to help her prove that her deceased husband never killed Captain Algernon Spencer following the Battle of Bedejaz in Spain in 1812. She believes that Lord Richard Eggleston, Viscount Breckenridge and Sir Major Edward Conraught managed to find a means to get her spouse to confess to a homicide that she insists he did not commit. Though reluctant to turn back the hands of time to Iberia, Gabriel agrees to help, not realizing the outcome of his acquiescing to investigate will be many deaths and attempted murders of him and his guest. <P>Ashley Gardner is a name worth following as this author shows deep talent for vividly recreating the era and people of the Regency period inside a powerful mystery. The complex protagonist suffers from post battle fatigue caused by what he witnessed during the war. His slow recovery (see THE HANOVER SQUARE AFFAIR) seems real, but his willingness to jump back in the fray to ensure justice is served demonstrates the inner strength of a man with both morals and ethics that should make him a fan favorite. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5