Customer Reviews for

A Restless Knight

Average Rating 5
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2007

    Transfixing medieval romance: a love both sensuous and mystical in its emotional depth

    From the moment Julian, Dragon of Challon, crosses into the Scottish Highlands, ancient visions and present Medieval beauty unite in the handsome body of this one dark powerful warrior. King Edward Longshanks means to use this man in a bid to conquer Glenrogha but Tamlyn MacShane is not a woman to be easily manipulated. Then again, Julian's hot warrior blood relishes the challenge of this feisty woman, not afraid to speak her mind. Does she ever speak her mind --- with power, wisdom and humor all combined in one! As leader of her clan, however, any action against him might endanger her people and plunge them into war. Julian is weary from the horrors he has seen in war. His very soul is enveloped in darkness. Can Tamlyn, with her gift of kenning (knowing or sight) and the blood of Sidhe inside, reach a place deep in this knight's heart and bring him home? Can Tamlyn remain faithful both to her clan and her heart? Can these two hearts find tenderness and love in a world torn by the strife of war? Can the political maneuvers of those remote from Glenrogha destroy the special haven created by their growing love? Reading Deborah MacGillivray's A RESTLESS KNIGHT feels like coming home to this medieval enthusiast. The pure language alone, the rhythm and the imagery, intoxicates with its beauty and medieval vocabulary. A special kudo for the palfrey horses! The sensuous detail of her landscape and characterization evokes the Medieval world as if it were present to hear, see, smell, taste and touch. The emotional depth of this romance creates a love that is both sensual and mystical. Paranormal elements mix with historical authenticity, creating a fictional world that honors the full scope of the medieval literary traditions. In Tamlyn and Julian, Deborah MacGillivray creates a medieval legend that is uniquely her own yet hearkens back to the great legends of old with just the perfect echo to delight any medieval enthusiast. If I didn't know better, I would be tempted to search the news of Medieval scholarship to discover whether a new Scottish manuscript was discovered hidden in the spine of a book in a remote library. And yet I do know better, because Deborah MacGillivray's romance is more than a beautiful medieval tale. A RESTLESS KNIGHT is every woman medievalist's fantasy find --- the longed-for but until now unwritten romance story one had hoped to discover within or behind a Medieval text. The richness, intensity and depth of Deborah MacGillivray's writing transfixes the reader. A RESTLESS KNIGHT is quite simply a mystical reading experience for this medievalist.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    a hero to die for

    I am picky on my Scottish Historical Romances. With a name like Grant would you expect any less of me? Of late, there are been some, even some of the top writers, with little grasp of Scotland scribbling away. They have seen Bravenheart and now they know Scottish history.<BR/>I am delighted to say this book is for someone who wants a beautiful Scottish Historical Romance. And WOW...Julian Challon is to die for. I fell in love with Challon. Tamlyn is an equal to him, a spirit Scots lass, but Challon stole my heart. <BR/><BR/>Anytime this knight gets restless, he can visit me. Sigh...cannot wait for the sequel.<BR/><BR/>Very highly recommend. Five stars is not enough.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2008

    stunning debut

    There is a new wave of historical writers and they are giving such amazingly diverse tales. As a long time romance reader, I cannot say how glad I am to see all these new authors. Obviously historical romance is on the upswing in popularity again. And small wonder with all these writers who really have a true feel for the period. MacGillivray understands Scotland, pagan lore and that is wasn't just an element in the story but a way of beliefs to people of the period. It was woven through the story, though never intrudes upon it, remembering the first job of a romance book is to deliver romance. Challon is an amazing character. So wounded, yet so fierce in his need to refashion the world in order to save himself. This character was 'real'. His love and Tamlyn's was 'real'. This one is on my keeper shelf and will be re-read many times. I only wish it had been longer. I still yearn for the 500 page sagas, where you didn't have to leave these magic stories. I cannot recommend it enough.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2007

    A Restless Night for Me!

    'A Restless Knight' by Deborah MacGillivray Current mood: productive Category: Writing and Poetry 'A Restless Knight' by Deborah MacGillivray Once in a while, a book comes along that you just can put down. Not even when you know that it's 3:00am and you are suppose to be sleeping! 'A Restless Knight' by Deborah MacGillivray indeed gave me a restless night. Not because I didn't enjoy the book, because I certainly did! I was just so drawn in by this beautiful story that there was no way I was going to wait 8 hours to find out what happened next! I am so pleased when I read a book that has a 'STRONG' male lead!!!!! Our society has all but emasculated our men! What should we be teaching our sons? Men should be strong. Men should be confident. Men should protect what is theirs. Men should fight for the honor of his lady. Deborah has created such a man in Julian, the Dragon of Challon!!!!! Lucky is the woman who captured his heart! 'A Restless Knight' takes place in the Scottish Highlands during that later part of the 13th Century. At this time, Scotland was being taken over and it's people persecuted by the English King, Edward Longshanks. The Norman Knight, Julian, is ordered by Longshanks to Scotland and to Glenrogha to lay claim to it's keep and it's lady, Tamlyn MacShane. On his way there, he comes across some of his men attempting to rape a Scottish lass. He rescues her from their assault and proceeds to take her with him. Unknown to him, it is his betrothed, Tamlyn. Now, I know some people get a bit squeemish about dealing with attempted, or even carried out rape scenes. No, there is nothing romantic about them. Unfortunatly, we forget how perilous it was for women in Scotland at that time, and I firmly believe that in order for a story to be written correctly and the characters to be understood, scenes like this are important. 'A Restless Knight' was an absolutly beautiful love story between Tamlyn and Julian! Often times, I found myself holding my breath until the turn of the next page! I was completely drawn in and was lost within it's pages. Once again, thank you Deborah for sharing your exceptional talent of story telling with us! 5 stars for 'A Restless Knight!' Hugs and kisses and happy reading! Annie Marshall

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2007

    amazing debut

    I just finished reading In Her Bed and had to go back and re-read this one. The two books are like puzzle boxes, a story within a story. I loved this book, but after reading the second I am amazed by the differences in the books, the likeness. I don't think I have seen any series presented in this manner, and I cannot say how amazing it is for a debut writer to handle such a strong world-building within world-building as this. The author creates a vivid Medieval Scotland that just carried me into that period with such realism. Then she creates the world within the world of the dynasty of the Dragons of Challon. I loved Tamlyn and Challon, but I think Damian and Aithinne was just as strong, possible just a wee bit more of heart-stealers. I am eagerly looking for more in this series as with the contemporary series, too.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2008

    great Scottish Historical

    I recently read this book, and not currently reading the second in the series. My sister adored this book and gave it to me to read, and I can see why. Challon and Tamlyn were beautiful characters, which stole my heart. The author catches Scotland so well, and has such an amazing feel for the period. My sister could not recomment enough. Now I have to do the same.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2007

    A reviewer

    A RESTLESS KNIGHT tells the tale of Tamlyn Macshane and Julian Challon. She is a bewitching Scottish beauty, who possesses a deep hatred for the English and all that they stand for. She has seen what their greed and brutality has done to most of Scotland .And she is determined that they will not touch her beloved pocket of that country. Julian is a battle weary Englishman seeking peace and respite in a land that he has long dreamt of. Tormented by the death of his beloved brother, Julian hopes to find a new life for himself in the beautiful lands of Glenrogha. As a champion of King Edward, Julian has been ordered to go to Scotland to take Glenrogha as his land and it's owner, Tamlyn, as his wife in the hopes of uniting the two countries and suppressing the Scottish rebels. However, according to Scottish law, Tamlyn is allowed to choose her own husband. Julian now has a fight upon his hands one he relishes hungrily as soon as he sets eyes upon the beguiling Tamlyn. The physical attraction between the hero and heroine is palpable as soon as they meet. But, do not be fooled into thinking that this is a simple tale of sexual magnetism. Ms. Macgillivray's interest in Scottish lore comes to the forefront as she plays out the character's beliefs in fey and dream interpretation, against the backdrop of their conflicting emotions. Despite her hatred of Julian's English blood, Tamlyn is drawn to him in more ways than she can ever explain. I must admit that I was absolutely riveted by A RESTLESS KNIGHT. It holds not only a story of passion between lovers but passion for one's country, for one's beliefs and a deep love of family and traditions. I found that there were plenty of twists in the tale to keep the reader on the edge of their seat and have them wondering just what the eventual outcome would be. For me, this proved to be an excellent introduction to what promises to be a truly remarkable series.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2007

    This book is a keeper

    Once again, the master of medieval history, Deborah MacGillivray delivers an exciting, in-depth tale, depicting the times in such a way that the reader actually 'travels' in time. What a rush! In Her Bed fully lives up to the excellent reputation of Deborah Macgillivray for telling a wonderful tale. The hero, Damien St. Giles leaves you breathless. The heroine, Aithinne Ogilvie, makes you wish you were bold and beautiful--just like her. Take one kidnapped sperm donor [who happens to be a lord], one strong-minded heiress determined to hold her castle and lands by becoming a mother--without the bother of a husband--and mix in a few zany characters. Like the overly obsequious giant Viking servant/bodyguard and the foolish triplet brothers, Hugh, Louis and Deward and you have a mix of fun and some serious, sensual love scenes. This sequel in the Dragons of Challon series is a wonderful read and I await the next book with great nticipation!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2007

    everything I want in a historical romance and more

    Set in the year before the body of the movie Braveheart takes places, an English warrior is sent to claim the valley of Glen Shane. The peaceful valley is protected by a magic fog, which keeps all away--except the Black Dragon of Challon. Julian Challon is war weary, he is aging, want a home, sons. He still grieves for the death of his younger brother, just a year or so before. A man who has been a soldier too long, coming to the tranquil holding that is now his feels like coming home. At the end of the journey is Lady Tamlyn MacShane. She is a strong-willed woman, yet has a tender heart...and she is a witch. Just what Julian needs to heal his torn soul. The second book in the series as marvelous!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2007

    Take a trip to Medieval Scotland!

    Lady Tamlyn MacShane had the gift of the kenning, but she did not see soon enough ahead of what was about to happen. The Dragons were invading Glenrogha and there was naught she could do to stop them...or could she? Lord Julian Challon enraged at the thoughts of his men trying to press rape on an innocent woman of Glenrogha, he interceded to stop the men before succeeding. Her eyes captivated and drew feelings inside he had never experienced before. She was the woman who could make his dreams of family and a son come true, its a shame she wanted nothing to do with him. Julian is haunted by dreams of his brother's untimely death and the massacre of Berwick. He just wants peace and to share his life with this Highland Enchantress. But first the two must come together to save the lands from destruction. Along the way love seeps into their hearts, but will Tamlyn give in and let her heart fall to the one man she despised? Deborah MacGillivray transports the reader back into the Highlands of Scotland year 1296. Lively, spirited characters brought this story of historical romance to life right before my eyes. This is the first book in The Dragons of Challon Series and if the rest of the books are as wonderful as this one, you better believe they will all be on the top of my bookshelf. Magically and skillfully written, A Restless Knight will bewitch you. I have discovered Ms. MacGillivray's books are addictive, staying up late into the morning reading ensures, no reader will be disappointed.5 Hearts

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    beguiling Highland romantic fantasy

    In 1296 King Edward is frustrated and irate with the MacShane sisters who have eluded his demands for them to marry. Since they will not obey their monarch he sends his most trustworthy ¿dragons¿ to the Sacred Mists of Glen Shane hidden in the Scotland Highlands. Julian the Black Dragon and his two brothers, Sir Guillaume and Sir Simon, are bone weary after years of seemingly non-stop fighting. Each seeks domestic tranquility and serenity but know that filling Edward's coffers will never end so they willingly accept his Highness¿ offer to wed the MacShane siblings. --- Edward assigns Sir Julian to wed Tamlyn and take charge of her estate Glenrogha. Though she loathes Edward and would cherish saying no to his agent, Tamlyn has the gift and realizes she and Julian are tied together and besides she saw what he saw at the bloody battle of Berwyn. She acquiesces to Julian¿s demands for the sake of her people, but he soon realizes that is not enough at least for him. He needs her as his loving wife and partner sharing the bond of dragonmasters. --- A RESTLESS KNIGHT is a beguiling Highland romantic fantasy. The storyline uses fae magical elements to enhance the strong historical plot. Her touch enables Tamlyn to see the horror that eats at her soulmate¿s heart and consequently hers. Still this bewitching protagonist knows she must keep her people¿s welfare first before any personal happiness. Fans will enjoy this delightful pairing of two spirited dragons whose love for one another refreshes the Scottish Highland historical romantic landscape. --- Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2007

    Challon is to die for!

    I got away from reading historicals for along time because I missed the sweeping saga style of writing. I am delighted to say this book hits that target. A wonderful love story between Tamlyn and Challon. Eager to read the next in the series.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2007

    The union of two predestined warriors in a magical land.

    A Restless Knight (The Dragons of Challon, Book 1) A beautiful romance delivered in an engrossing plot. I loved the character portrayals of the legendary Black Dragon, Lord Julian Challon and Lady Tamlyn MacShane, the mistress of Glenrogha. Two strong yet vulnerable warriors who are predestined for each other. Deborah MacGillivray's narrative deftly illustrates their profound love for each other. Ms MacGillivray's in-depth insight into Scottish Medieval period is ever present in her detailed descriptions and certainly conveyed me to the magical ambiance of Glenrogha and of the period. The Challon saga continues with, In Her Bed (The Dragons of Challon, Book 2), Damian St Giles and Lady Aithinne Ogilvie, another must read!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Sweeping Debut Novel!

    There are book writers and there are storytellers. Deborah MacGillivray is a storyteller in the Auld Ways, and it shows. A Restless Knight is a masterfully-told story, drawing her readers into the Pictish tradition as if we were born there, and weaving a tale of high adventure and passionate romance. I found this book to be an entertaining and satisfying read on every level. <BR/><BR/>I will definitely urge my friends to read this wonderful story, and I'll be impatient for the release of Ms. MacGillivray's next book. Challon has some handsome and intriguing brothers, and I hope we can have their stories soon. Meantime, Deborah MacGillivray will go my autobuy list!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    a wonderful historical romance

    My sister loved this book, and I half to agree Julian Challon and Lady Tamlyn were characters who stole my heart. The author catches Scotland so well, and has such an amazing feel for the period, the pagan beliefs, how strong a woman had to be for the times. My late sister could not recommend this book enough. Now I have to do the same.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2007

    A reviewer

    It's hard to believe this was the author's first book. The historical details are so real, the passion between Challon and Tamlyn so vital. It's a sweeping drama that is on my keeper shelf now.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2007

    beautiful book with soul!!!

    I just finished this book again. It was so haunting I had to re-read it to enjoy it all. I love the history, the pagan lore, most especially I loved the real love between two very special characters. I cannot wait for the next book in the series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2007

    Wow!!! A Cata-Network Winner

    I picked up this book because I am a member of Cata-Network Romance site. They just gave this book the Reviewers' Choice Award for 2006 as one of the Best Single Title Romance for that year. So I had to try it. Boy, I am I glad. Rich in lore, history and a pinch of magic, I fell in love with Lord Julian Challon. Sigh. This is a hero for the ages! I noticed her other book was a Cata nominee as well. I am off to get it, too. A beautiful book I will keep on my keeper shelf and read again. I cannot wait for the next book in the series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2006

    Here there be Dragons

    Dragons of Challon that is. MacGillivray gives us Julian Challon, the Black Dragon of Challon. Since I have pre-ordered Ravenhawke, we can see this dragon is the first in a line of sexy warriors in the Challon line. If they rest in the series match this level, this is a series that promise all to be keepers. With lyrical prose - something you see sighted often in reviews of this book - MacGillivray transports the reader to Medieval Scotland in the time of Edward I (the king in the Braveheart movie). In fact you get to see brief meetings of William Wallace, Edward Longshanks and Robert the Bruce in this book. MacGillivray's novel has the sweeping majesty of Braveheart, but it's a more personal view of a brave warrior ground down by the horrors of war (a timely theme even today). In fact many of the themes skillfully woven in this novel - love, honor, war and it's effect on the men who wage it are timeless. MacGillivray's novel is a mix of today's style writing, with a wee dram of historicals of the last decade, when historicals WERE historicals. With the delightful Heather Grothaus's The Warrior out earlier this year, Kensington seems to be putting to lie that historicals are dead. I am eagerly looking forward to more from MacGillivray and Grothaus both.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2007

    A terrific debut novel

    The Restless Knight is the kind of debut novel every writer wishes for and works toward, with rich, deep emotion and plot. Tamlyn and Challon¿s first meeting was thrilling and sensual, Challon¿s innate chivalry instantly obvious. As Tamlyn fought against her attackers for all she was worth, she was no match for the profound connection to her restless knight. Ms. MacGillivray skillfully built sexual tension until I, for one, really panted for the release. She¿s a master at creating main and secondary characters. It takes time and love and talent to do that. I am totally looking forward to the next story with Damian and Aithinne in Ravenhawke.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4