Customer Reviews for

A Rising Thunder

Average Rating 4
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Terrific, complex and a series that I still enjoy.

Terrific, complex and a series that I still enjoy.

posted by naslund on March 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Even the most die hard fan (and I am one) has to have some reser

Even the most die hard fan (and I am one) has to have some reservations about the latest Honor Harrington novel - exposition passages are lazy, and the ending owes more to the ability of a software word count app than an authors intent.
As any reader of series fiction ...
Even the most die hard fan (and I am one) has to have some reservations about the latest Honor Harrington novel - exposition passages are lazy, and the ending owes more to the ability of a software word count app than an authors intent.
As any reader of series fiction knows there is the inevitable need to cover some backstory in any new addition to an authors canon-unfortunately Weber chooses to lift entire scenes verbatim from earlier works rather than do some heavier lifting and move the story forward from the viewpoints of a current cast of characters that now numbers in the hundreds. "Cut and Paste" functions are handy in any word processor program, but I wish Weber had used those pages to give some characters not otherwise heard from a chance to do the background brief.
The ending is abrupt. As in I have 2676 characters left for this review abrupt. Clearly driven by word count this is the weakest ending of any Honorverse work.
My recommendation is a two parter-if you are a Honorverse junkie, go ahead and buy it as nothing I say is going to stop you, but if you can hold off for another year or so wait.

posted by Sysafus on March 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    Even the most die hard fan (and I am one) has to have some reser

    Even the most die hard fan (and I am one) has to have some reservations about the latest Honor Harrington novel - exposition passages are lazy, and the ending owes more to the ability of a software word count app than an authors intent.
    As any reader of series fiction knows there is the inevitable need to cover some backstory in any new addition to an authors canon-unfortunately Weber chooses to lift entire scenes verbatim from earlier works rather than do some heavier lifting and move the story forward from the viewpoints of a current cast of characters that now numbers in the hundreds. "Cut and Paste" functions are handy in any word processor program, but I wish Weber had used those pages to give some characters not otherwise heard from a chance to do the background brief.
    The ending is abrupt. As in I have 2676 characters left for this review abrupt. Clearly driven by word count this is the weakest ending of any Honorverse work.
    My recommendation is a two parter-if you are a Honorverse junkie, go ahead and buy it as nothing I say is going to stop you, but if you can hold off for another year or so wait.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    Terrific, complex and a series that I still enjoy.

    Terrific, complex and a series that I still enjoy.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2012

    Clearly the story lines are becoming more complex and distance b

    Clearly the story lines are becoming more complex and distance between
    books longer. In any case the story is not degrading and the wirting is
    still great even if the book ends abruptly. It leaves me wanting more
    which might be the point.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Great series

    Great series

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    I'm a huge David Weber fan and have been anxiously waiting for t

    I'm a huge David Weber fan and have been anxiously waiting for the latest chapter in the Honor Harrington series so i really hate to write a bad review. With that being said, this book was a huge disappointment. I think there are a lot of different reasons for this but will only mention a few.
    1) Who is the protagonist? If I didn't know this was a Honor Harrington book and she wasn't on the cover there really isn't any way to tell. We see many different characters but spend very little time with most of the them and see little character development in the rest. In my opinion you need to be emotionally engaged with the characters(both good and bad) for the story to hold any interest at all.
    2) Talk Talk Talk. I'll date myself a little here but I'm reminded of the old Wendy's commercial where the old lady kept saying "Where's the beef?". It felt like the entire book was meeting after meeting that didn't advance the storyline or contribute to character development. Most of the book I was thinking enough talk, time for some action.
    3) Weber does such a good job writing gripping battle scenes that I can't for the life of me figure out why he wouldn't include some in this book. The only combat scenes were boring because the outcome was never in doubt. I remember reading the very first Honor book and literally being on the edge of my seat during the final battle.
    I know this was originally supposed to be two books but if its sold as a single book it should be worth reading on its own. I hope the next book is better but I think I'll wait to read reviews before i buy it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    I thought is was a good book that advanced the plot in preporati

    I thought is was a good book that advanced the plot in preporation of the next main series book due to come out later this year.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    I thoroughly enjoyed this continuation of the many stories that

    I thoroughly enjoyed this continuation of the many stories that make up the universe, unfortunately it is only the first half of a much larger novel. David Weber recently tweeted that he is still trying to find out when the second part will be published :( which means it won't be anytime soon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    If you are into the Honorverse series it was an excellent book. The section with the wedding drug on a little. I kept waiting for one of those mind controlled people to show up and was a little disappointed when they didn't. I am ready for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    It's all about Honor

    Either you're a fan or you're not - the David Weber series continues and, in my opinion, it's excellent - couldn't ask for anything more in the undated version of classic Space Opera - Bravo David

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Amberstar?

    Hello? Its Mintfur

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    Awesome

    Wonderful addition to the series...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Great book

    David Weber's honor universe is full of intrigue,and adventure. Can't wait for the next book in the series.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2013

    I waited a year for this book and got more than I expected. Miss

    I waited a year for this book and got more than I expected. Mission of Honor ended with the expectation of a massive Solarian League fleet taking the long road to the Manticoran star system to force our heroes into submission. I expected the new Manticoran/Haven alliance to handily defeat that fleet, but how they were going to do it has been on my mind for the past year.

    Weber had the foresight to see that for that battle to be properly appreciated, he needed to build up to it in the second book. So he took a few steps back in time and laid the groundwork for the battle by showing how the badly damaged and overstretched Manticoran forces were preparing for the coming war with the Solarians by pulling their shipping home while fending off the opposing forces who still can't quite believe the Manticorans are standing up to them.

    This build up was very thoughtfully done and artfully constructed. There is also an economic and political background being developed here that is the backdrop that makes Weber's military thrillers so believable and exciting. Most writers can't pull off this level of depth in their works but I've come to expect it from Weber and he doesn't disappoint.

    The battle I waited for was even better than I had anticipated. It's hard to build tension into what should have been a completely one-sided affair without making your heroes look like fools, but Weber accomplished this perfectly. He then went on to deal with the aftermath in a believable fashion, showing that even with their disastrous economic problems and horrendous technological disadvantages, the Solarians are going to be a very dangerous opponent.

    I only gave this book four stars for two reasons. First, and this may be unfair, as much as I enjoyed this book and look forward to the next one, it didn't hit the absolutely stellar heights of so many other books in this series. Had I not enjoyed those thoroughly, this one probably would have gotten five stars. Second, I would have appreciated a glossary of characters. There is a lot of history here, and I was surprised how well I remembered some of the less important members of the supporting cast, but there are a couple of scenes where I still only have a vague idea of who the heck I was reading about.

    I'm really looking forward to the next book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    Interesting developments in the ongoing story. HOWEVER... As the

    Interesting developments in the ongoing story.
    HOWEVER... As the, what? 13th? in the series, a whole lot of stuff has gone on before,
    and even the most dedicated follower will find it hard to keep track of the entire Honorverse history.
    This actually seems almost like an Honorverse book, with Honor not appearing until well into the story.
     It also needed to be written more as a stand-alone volume, with more explanatory references made to
     prior happenings. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Another good one David.

    Another good one David.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    a usual , good entry in the series. it does little with the Mesa

    a usual , good entry in the series. it does little with the Mesa line , but moves the plot on other lines. not his best , but good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book is the setup of the climax of the upcoming "Shado

    This book is the setup of the climax of the upcoming "Shadow of Freedom". The story is very complex and may not be for those new to the plot line. Please go back to "Storms from the Shadows" for a spin-up to this universe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    This is essentially the same story he's told over and over again

    This is essentially the same story he's told over and over again, though he's gotten better at it over time, and we're talking maybe 30 years or more. The value here is not the plot line. The value is in the telling of it. If I wanted a unique storyline I'd absolutely go somewhere else. But this is a pleasant, rendering of an expected story. I'll get the CD and listen to it for the next time I drive to Ohio.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Filler material

    Ok. as most of you who have read the reviews you will realize that this is not the penultimate end story to the series. It is a prelude to that end- it lays out the groundwork for it. If you are looking for the high action battle scenes, you will be disappointed. Mostly going back and forth by the principles and secondary players. The Solarian League is on the precipice of revolt and secession as a few Solarians are starting to piece together the truth of the deception. In earnest hope, the next or final book will be out soon as I have finished this book in 5 days.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2012

    I wish they would release these kinds of filler books in paperba

    I wish they would release these kinds of filler books in paperback so we would know when a significant book in the series was available.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2