Customer Reviews for

A Risk Worth Taking: A Red River Series Book

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I loved this contemporary romance. It's been 10 years since Holl

I loved this contemporary romance.
It's been 10 years since Holly Carrington lived in Red River.  She left at the age of 18 to go to school and pursue a career in interior design, which she has become very successful at.  She has finally achieved her goal and worked her...
I loved this contemporary romance.
It's been 10 years since Holly Carrington lived in Red River.  She left at the age of 18 to go to school and pursue a career in interior design, which she has become very successful at.  She has finally achieved her goal and worked her way up into the position of senior designer.  The only family that Holly has left is her sister, brother-in-law, and baby niece Ella, who she adores.  When she receives word that there has been a tragic car accident that has taken the life of her sister and brother-in-law, she is completely devastated.  Thankfully, baby Ella is fine, but now Holly finds herself as Ella's sole guardian, a task that she fears she can't handle or live up to.  Having already planned to take 2 months off to renovate her grandparents home in Red River for her sister, she and baby Ella pack up and head home.  Home has lots of memories, good and bad....memories that Holly doesn't know if she can handle.  She has called Quinn Manning to head up the renovation project for her and is really nervous about seeing him again.  She has had a crush on him since she was big enough to have a crush.  At 18, she confessed her feelings to Quinn, who was 25 at the time, and was crushed when he didn't reciprocate, telling her she was too young.  When she sees him again, all those feelings come back to the surface, the crush and the hurt caused by Quinn's rejection.  Quinn is also faced with his feelings, the past, and has his own wounds and guilt to deal with.  Will these two be able to overcome the obstacles set before them and find love once again, or will Holly's fears for the future and Quinn's guilt from the past be more than they can overcome?




I really loved A Risk Worth Taking.  Holly's character was great and I enjoyed getting to know her as she transitioned into her role as Ella's mom.  Her Coach bag, which was once a symbol of her success has now become a diaper bag, and her fancy clean car is now filled with baby stuff.  Holly is very strong and very stubborn, but she also has a lot of hurt that she has buried deep inside.  She totally adores Ella, and Ella is an absolute doll that will melt your heart, a fact that Quinn Manning finds out shortly after meeting her.  Quinn is a total hottie.  I mean the man just has it going on.  He steps in to help Holly in any way he can, but  soon realizes that the feelings he once had for her are still there, and the feelings that he has for Ella really throw him for a loop.  Quinn and Holly are both stubborn, and dealing with the renovation of the house proves to be both entertaining and challenging, with some really humorous situations that I totally enjoyed.  The chemistry between Quinn and Holly is undeniable, and I loved watching their relationship develop as they dealt with their desires, their hurts, and their fears, butting heads along the way.  I found A Risk Worth Taking to be a wonderful contemporary romance that is funny, sexy, fast paced, with some sad moments,and some really heartwarming ones.  If you are a contemporary romance fan, then A Risk Worth Taking is something you should definitely check out.  

posted by AlwaysYAatHeart1 on March 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Ugh

This book was lacking feeling. I mean no real plot just that she was scared to love. I really didnt enjoy it and i felt it was a waist of my time. Could have been a good book. Short only about 140pgs

posted by 12085143 on April 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 22, 2013

    Holly has had so much loss in her life, loss her mother and gran

    Holly has had so much loss in her life, loss her mother and grandparents, but she refuses to let it hold her down.She leaves her small town pursue her dream of interior design. She made it, just got a huge promotion a senior designer, she's ecstatic. Then with a phone call her whole world changes. The death of her sister and brother-in-law, leave her a new mother and the feeling that she has no one left. Deciding to go back to her hometown, where she hasn't been in 10 years, to renovate and sell the family home, to ensure a secure future for her niece. Well she is there her perspective on life changes.




    Quinn is a old friend of Holly's family, he also runs a large contractual business. Holly hires his company to complete her renovations. During the time spent together there is a lot of tension between them. Before Holly had left for school she had professed her love for him, he turned her down and now realizes that was a mistake.




    I thought this was a wonderful story, that has a beautiful lesson. I felt for Holly and her fears that she had developed through her life. I loved Quinn!!! All the characters were very likable and relatable!!! I can't wait to read another of Victoria James books!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this contemporary romance. It's been 10 years since Holl

    I loved this contemporary romance.
    It's been 10 years since Holly Carrington lived in Red River.  She left at the age of 18 to go to school and pursue a career in interior design, which she has become very successful at.  She has finally achieved her goal and worked her way up into the position of senior designer.  The only family that Holly has left is her sister, brother-in-law, and baby niece Ella, who she adores.  When she receives word that there has been a tragic car accident that has taken the life of her sister and brother-in-law, she is completely devastated.  Thankfully, baby Ella is fine, but now Holly finds herself as Ella's sole guardian, a task that she fears she can't handle or live up to.  Having already planned to take 2 months off to renovate her grandparents home in Red River for her sister, she and baby Ella pack up and head home.  Home has lots of memories, good and bad....memories that Holly doesn't know if she can handle.  She has called Quinn Manning to head up the renovation project for her and is really nervous about seeing him again.  She has had a crush on him since she was big enough to have a crush.  At 18, she confessed her feelings to Quinn, who was 25 at the time, and was crushed when he didn't reciprocate, telling her she was too young.  When she sees him again, all those feelings come back to the surface, the crush and the hurt caused by Quinn's rejection.  Quinn is also faced with his feelings, the past, and has his own wounds and guilt to deal with.  Will these two be able to overcome the obstacles set before them and find love once again, or will Holly's fears for the future and Quinn's guilt from the past be more than they can overcome?




    I really loved A Risk Worth Taking.  Holly's character was great and I enjoyed getting to know her as she transitioned into her role as Ella's mom.  Her Coach bag, which was once a symbol of her success has now become a diaper bag, and her fancy clean car is now filled with baby stuff.  Holly is very strong and very stubborn, but she also has a lot of hurt that she has buried deep inside.  She totally adores Ella, and Ella is an absolute doll that will melt your heart, a fact that Quinn Manning finds out shortly after meeting her.  Quinn is a total hottie.  I mean the man just has it going on.  He steps in to help Holly in any way he can, but  soon realizes that the feelings he once had for her are still there, and the feelings that he has for Ella really throw him for a loop.  Quinn and Holly are both stubborn, and dealing with the renovation of the house proves to be both entertaining and challenging, with some really humorous situations that I totally enjoyed.  The chemistry between Quinn and Holly is undeniable, and I loved watching their relationship develop as they dealt with their desires, their hurts, and their fears, butting heads along the way.  I found A Risk Worth Taking to be a wonderful contemporary romance that is funny, sexy, fast paced, with some sad moments,and some really heartwarming ones.  If you are a contemporary romance fan, then A Risk Worth Taking is something you should definitely check out.  

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Victoria James paints a poignant picture using words in this sto

    Victoria James paints a poignant picture using words in this story of unrequited teen love and the losses that happen to all of us as we journey through life. I absolutely fell in love with these characters and you will too.




    Holly Carrington is promoted at work and in the next few moments her joy is overtaken by intense sorrow after being informed that her sister and brother-in-law are dead. Holly takes custody of her niece and returns to her hometown to remodel her grandmother's house and sell it. She has chosen Quinn Manning's company to do the renovations. Quinn is the man Holly has loved all of her life. It's too bad he turned down an opportunity to be in a relationship with her when she was 18.




    This is the classsic the one that got away story with a twist that involves an adorable baby girl, Ella. I loved that both characters were honest, had integrity, and courageously shared their vulnerabilities. I enjoyed how the author allowed the reader to understand the backsory to Quinn and Holly's romance. Quinn was such a strong, sensitive character that showed love for Holly and Ella. Holly experienced the loss of her parents, grandparents, and her sister. She was afraid to open up and love anyone because she felt that it would destroy her to lose anyone else. For anyone that has ever felt the loss of someone you loved with all of your heart it's easy to see how Holly would withdraw from an emotional attachment with Quinn. Quinn felt that he was undeserving of happiness because he wasn't a good husband to his former wife.




    Through the pages you can see how their love helps each one to heal and find the courage to love each other and take ""a risk worth taking"". There were some romantic scenes and definitely chemistry that crackled between them. The real treasure is the emotional connection between the two of them. The story is well written and the characters will stick with you long after you put the book away.




    Reviewed by Michelle for Cocktails and Books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2013

    Sizzling Chemistry, Heartwrenching Romance! I loved this book!

    Sizzling Chemistry, Heartwrenching Romance!
    I loved this book! Very surprised. New author for me. I was entertained and invested in the heroine's life right from page one. Fast-paced, clever dialogue. The hero was exactly what a hero should be: strong, smart, with a very tender side. Highly recommend!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2013

    Hot Chemistry, Heartwarming Romance! I normally don't pick


    Hot Chemistry, Heartwarming Romance!



    I normally don't pick up books by new authors, but I saw a review for this one and it sounded pretty good. I was pleasantly surprised!! I was so surprised by the depth of emotion in this book. The heroine was strong, stubborn, but had a very soft, vulnerable side to her. The hero was one of the best Alpha's I've read-hot, strong, and tender. Beautiful love story. Amazing dialogue-it read as though people were actually talking. Really witty banter-I was laughing out loud more than once. The characters came alive-even the supporting characters which I'm assuming are going to be in the next book. I love stories about brothers so can't wait to see which brother's story is next-both seem very hot too. I will definitely look for more from this author! Excellent contemporary romance, highly recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly Recommend. This is a definite must-read if you love reuni

    Highly Recommend. This is a definite must-read if you love reunion romances-or any contemporary romance. I really enjoyed the premise, and the characters were totally relatable. The hero, Quinn and heroine, Holly had lots of chemistry, and there were certain scenes that brought tears to my eyes. Some really funny moments too-and great dialogue. I loved that Quinn and Holly didn't hate each other-they were both stubborn, both headstrong, and had tons of passion. I thought the author did a great job with baby Ella too. Usually kids are in the background-but she had a personality and totally melted my heart. Especially the scenes with Quinn and Ella. Definitely a feel-good read that reminds me of why I read contemporary romance. I'll be looking out for the next book from this author for sure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    Loved this book

    I love this series! This book especially had me laughing out loud a lot!! The back and forth dialog between Mal and Ann was great!
    Great story line and very sexy too! Can't wait to read books 3 and 4!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Great

    I really enjoy this series. A quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2013

    This is a tear-jerker. Who says you can never come home again?

    This is a tear-jerker. Who says you can never come home again? Holly only planned to return to Red River with her sister to renovate their family's home. As an interior designer they could finally make their dreams come true and renovate the house for her sister to live in with her own family. Then tragedy strikes and she is the guardian of her niece Ella. Now she is returning home to renovate and sell her home. The problem is Quinn, the man she fell in love with when she was in high school. Quinn let her go once and doesn't plan on doing it again. He has his work cut out for him though because she has no intention of getting close to anyone ever again.


    Holly has endured more heartache than any person ever should. No-one can blame her for wanting to protect herself from more loss. I spent a large part of the book wondering when she was going to realize her heart already belonged to Ella. Now she has to figure out that Quinn isn't a risk but someone to help her hold it all together.


    Thank you To Entangled Publishing and NetGalley for allowing me to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1