Customer Reviews for

A SEAL's Surrender (Harlequin Blaze Series #739)

Average Rating 4
( 124 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I fall in love with every charcter this author creates. And Cade

I fall in love with every charcter this author creates. And Cade and Eden were no exception. They were perfect! I felt like I knew them and the story was believeable. The story is very emotional, it's heart tugging and they both have much to lose. Cade is the perfect he...
I fall in love with every charcter this author creates. And Cade and Eden were no exception. They were perfect! I felt like I knew them and the story was believeable. The story is very emotional, it's heart tugging and they both have much to lose. Cade is the perfect hero, especially for Eden. I can't wait for the next sexy Seal read!!

posted by toncalli on March 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

.

If you are going to write a book where the main character is in the military then you should do better research. Someone who enlist after high school and doesn't have a college degree would not be an officer let alone a LT Commander. Also the book takes place in CA yet ...
If you are going to write a book where the main character is in the military then you should do better research. Someone who enlist after high school and doesn't have a college degree would not be an officer let alone a LT Commander. Also the book takes place in CA yet the new vet at the end of the book wants to expand her practice from Ft Bragg. Well that is a serious commute since Ft Bragg is in NC. Maybe I'm just nit picking but get facts right!!,

posted by Anonymous on June 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    .

    If you are going to write a book where the main character is in the military then you should do better research. Someone who enlist after high school and doesn't have a college degree would not be an officer let alone a LT Commander. Also the book takes place in CA yet the new vet at the end of the book wants to expand her practice from Ft Bragg. Well that is a serious commute since Ft Bragg is in NC. Maybe I'm just nit picking but get facts right!!,

    12 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    To be honest, I don't often review, but after I posted a comment

    To be honest, I don't often review, but after I posted a comment to the author's FB page and it was hidden from view, I felt the need to review where she couldn't control the content. The only reason I gave it 2 instead of one as outside of the errors that jolted me from my reading enjoyment, it was a decent read for a Harlequin novel.
    The following is the relevant section of the comment I placed on her FB page for this book. The entire review/comment can be found on Amazon while the portion relating to the previous book is available on that page:

    "While I appreciate your trying to make the hero of a book the correct age for the heroine & a dashing naval officer, might I suggest a moment or two researching before writing a military based character?
    I read the free SEALs book out of curiosity & borrowed a copy of the second because I had to see if you included more detail about Cade's career in it. I always enjoy a good romance, so long as there is realism of some sort when based in current settings, but when there are glaring factual errors, it decreases the enjoyment. People outside of the military community may not notice, but those within certainly would. That being said, I would like to provide a brief education that while I am aware of as a former member of the service with several family members still in, you may not be without the use of a service such as google. You see, there are set time requirements necessary for promotions in the military, especially at the officer ranks.
    [cut]
    There are a few things wrong with the comments his uncle made:
    1) There is a rank between the two - Commander, he would be achieving more time towards the rank of Commander, not Captain. That alone takes 16 years time in service (TIS) to achieve while Captain takes 22.
    2) Pay grade is just that, your pay grade which directly corresponds to rank. 0-1 (Ensign), 0-2 (Lieutenant Jr Grade), etc. And no amount of certification/time as a trainer will change it until you have the TIS, time in grade requirements. Pay is only increased a couple of ways in the service, additional time in as an 0-1 with 2 or more years time in service will get paid more than one with less than 2 years. Two, additional allowances such as hazard duty, combat, jump pay etc. Three, the yearly review of the ECI to determine what percent of a raise base pay will get the following year.
    Then these errors are compounded further by his rank. At the time of this book, Cade left for the Navy 12 years ago, again enlisting straight out of HS. As the rank of LCDR has a 10 year TIS requirement, you are now requiring me to suspend belief that he was able to enlist, complete his initial training, work full time & complete a 4 year college degree within 2 years, just to be able to be at the rank you have him at.
    Now, one thing I may have missed is how long they've actually been SEALs and working together - First off, typically a SEAL team commander is going to be just that: an 0-5 which is the rank of Commander. Cade as an 0-4 would be the XO (executive officer). Secondly, take a look at how SEAL platoons/troops (the smaller units, team refers to the 300 person larger unit) work and how long they typically stay together. It's not normally more than about 4 years or two platoon cycles."
    She responded on the hidden post that she respects and honors the military. Quite frankly, it feels more that the SEALs are a plot device to sell books since she couldn't even be bothered to ensure accuracy.

    11 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    Cute and predictable

    Perfect poolside read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    what happend to the girl in the first one???

    I read the first one and loved it. Then i barely start reading this one and now im confused if cade is still with the other girl. ill try to finish but its hard to get into a book that confuses you.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1