Customer Reviews for

A Season for Tending (Amish Vines and Orchards Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    A Great Read!

    This series was wonderful. I couldn't put the book down and couldn't wait to start the next book in the series. I felt like I was a part of the community and that I was friends with each of the characters. Now I am waiting on book #4. Hope Cindy Woodsmall is working on it already!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Great start.....

    This book introduces Rhoda Byler, who has two amazing gifts: canning and the ability to forsee. Samuel King is trying to keep his orchard up and running, so when his little sister ends up in Rhoda's garden and he comes to pick her up, he thinks he might have just found the help he needed. Will Rhoda agree to come and help the orchard, or will her grief over her little sister's death keep her secluded inside of her garden?

    If you like action on the pages, I know you will love this book!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2014

    I finally have finished this Amish book, and I have to say I was

    I finally have finished this Amish book, and I have to say I was rather disappointed. Yes, this is a clean Amish romance, and it can certainly be classified as Christian. There are some unique elements within the story, and I even found myself smiling over some of the interactions between the characters. It even deals with some non-traditional issues, and I did find myself impressed with how those issues played out.

    Unfortunately, the author truly had me confused for much of the book. I was surprised that this was considered the first in the series because I repeatedly felt like I was missing something. I wish there had been some other volume to consult because it seemed like the author assumed that the reader would know certain things (that I did not know). I also believe that the story did a disservice to the gospel message. The author missed some perfect moments to share a strong gospel message. I have to admit that I would not read any other books in this series, and I do expect better from this author. But that is just my opinion.

    I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Carley

    Today I will kill my self!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2013

    I've never really been a fan of the Amish fiction books, but I h

    I've never really been a fan of the Amish fiction books, but I had decided t give this one a try.
    As it turns out, I am still not a fan of them, even though the book is written well.The plot is full of lies and deceit, and the only difference in that it is in the Amish community instead of the English community,
    which is why I think that people are drawn to it.
    The main character, good girl Rhoda, ends up finding herself in trouble after being in the wrong spot at the wrong time,
    things get messy. A guy who needs her special skill comes to her rescue in order to save himself as well as get
    her out of a bad situation. My impression of this book was that it is just another romance novel, full of drama and unrealistic love stories.
     If one enjoys this, then I would suggest this book, for it is well written grammatically. I, however, am not enticed to finish the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2013

    Well I¿ve put this off long enough, I didn¿t want to write this

    Well I’ve put this off long enough, I didn’t want to write this blog post book review because I didn’t like this book very much. It was a bit too sweet for my taste. I knew starting it that it would be part of a series, but usually when you get a book that is part of a series, the story you are reading wraps up in the book and other characters storys continue  the overlaying events in additional books. That did not happen with this book. Its more like the end of the season show on a tv drama, they build up to a relationship between 2 characters and then you have to wait for the next book to see where it goes.




    I will not be reading the rest of this series, I could care less at this point because when I read a book I expect a conclusion at the end of the volume I hold in my hand.




    The story that was in the book was ok, like I said before it was a bit too sweet for my taste, a nice gentle predectible story.




    I’m sure someone else will enjoy this set of books, but its just not for me.




    “I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review”.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2013

    A Season for Tending Cindy Smallwood Book Summary: In a communi

    A Season for Tending
    Cindy Smallwood

    Book Summary: In a community where conformity flourishes, seeds of Rhoda's odd behavior were planted long ago. Can she cultivate her relationships with the same care and tenderness that she gives her beloved garden? Old Order Amish Rhoda Byler's unusual gift and her remarkable abilities to grow herbs and berries have caused many to think her odd. As rumors mount that Rhoda's "gift" is a detriment to the community, she chooses isolation, spending her time in her fruit garden and on her thriving canning business.
    Miles away in Harvest Mills, Samuel King struggles to keep his family's apple orchard profitable. As the eldest son, Samuel farms with his brothers, the irrepressible Jacob and brash Eli, while his longtime girlfriend Catherine remains hopeful that Samuel will marry her when he feels financially stable.
    Meanwhile, Samuel's younger sister Leah is testing all the boundaries during her rumschpringe, and finds herself far from home in Rhoda's garden after a night of partying gone badly. But Leah's poor choices serve as a bridge between Rhoda and the King family when a tragic mistake in the orchard leaves Samuel searching for solutions.
    Rhoda's expertise in canning could be the answer, but she struggles with guilt over the tragic death of her sister and doesn't trust herself outside her garden walls. As the lines between business, love, and family begin to blur, can Rhoda finally open up to a new life? And what effect will this odd, amazing woman have on the entire King family?

    Review: I really like Cindy Smallwood’s writing style. While this book took me a little while to get into it was worth the effort. Once I got into the flow of it I was hooked! The characters were fresh and completely different from anything I have read by her. This was a well thought out series and I look forward to the next two. This story made me laugh, cry and realize that Rhoda was truly a fresh face for Amish readers. The Kings were fun and lively. While problems seem to plague all of them Rhoda, Landon and the Kings are realistic and fun. I knew what was coming at the end and I was still hanging on the edge of my seat when the events finally came about. Poor Rhoda really needed the Kings and they needed her. Her Daed was fantastic and truly a great addition to the entire story. I want to see more of him. There are so many different things going on at once that I wished I could read faster. I needed time to soak up everything too!
    I would like to thank Edelweiss, Library Thing and Waterbrook Press for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Awsome book

    Loved reading this book. Think you will like if you read amish books to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    booksbysteph says "First Amish Book...Love It" I GIVE

    booksbysteph says "First Amish Book...Love It"

    I GIVE THIS BOOK: 4 3/4 out of 5 stars

    This has been my first dip into the Amish genre. I never really knew how much Amish fiction is out in the world and that I can say with ease that it has its own genre. I do not know if it is this way with all Amish books but as I was reading, I felt peaceful and innocent.

    This book was a fast read. I read it in two sittings and that is only because I had to sleep. The beginning of the Rhoda/King partnership is exciting! Some people may think, "could all this bad stuff happen to one person?" In my world, the answer is yes. I had so much empathy for Rhoda and what she has gone through and continually has to deal with. A lot of people are ignorant about the Amish. Myself included. Not being around them, it is easy not to gain knowledge of them. I passed an Amish farm on a road trip once. A huge group of men were working together to build a barn. Throughout the book, I had to keep reminding myself that I was reading about the Amish and not a historical book. Reading about horses and lanterns easily put my mindset into the past.

    This book set the ground for many different small stories that combine into the bigger story. Not only does it give you a look into Amish living but what they have to go through was tragedy strikes. Things we take advantage of. You also see the struggles from different teenagers going through their rumschpringe - the time when they are free to learn the outside world to make the decision to leave the Amish community or pledge themselves to Amish life.  This book has given me so much knowledge of the Amish without taking away from the story. And the story is a good one. 

    One piece of advice - wait until the series is finished being written. I think you will enjoy this story so much that you should not have to wait for the next book to come out, like I do!

    Until next time, live life one page at a time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2013

    This is a book that took me a while to fall into the groove of t

    This is a book that took me a while to fall into the groove of the story. I am not into gardening or anything along those lines so I wasn't really sure what to think at first. But as I got more and more into the story I grew to care for the characters and the use of gardening and caring for orchards became a great part of the story.
    Rhoda Byler has a gift from God. But it is gift that is misunderstood by those around her. Not only does she need to learn to trust God but she needs to learn to trust her gift.
    I can very much relate to Rhoda and this difficulty in trusting her gift. As a worship leader I often get complaints about the music choice and there are just going to be people who don't like how I lead worship. I have no choice but to get back up on the stage each and every Sunday and do what I know God has called me to do, even in the face of opposition.
    Rhoda must do the same. She must ignore public opinion and so what she knows God wants her to. He doesn't give us gifts just to bury them and never use them. Remember the story about the talents and the man who buried his so he didn't lose it?
    There are so many Genesis 5020's in this book too. From Samuel's sister Leah landing in Rhoda's vineyard to Rhoda's vineyard being destroyed. But you'll have to read the book to see what I mean.
    On the last page Cindy has me crying, "Nooooo!" She ended the book with a major turn of events, one I didn't see coming and that has me itching to read the next book, which I hope to review for you soon.
    An ebook of this book was given to me by Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing Group in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2013

    Excellent book!

    I loved reading this book. The author kept the story going, even though there were several lead characters. You were never at a loss as to what was going on. Its one of those books that when you start reading it, you don't want to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A Season for Tending is the first book in the Amish Vines and O


    A Season for Tending is the first book in the Amish Vines and Orchards Series from Cindy Woodsmall. It starts out by introducing Rhoda Byler, an Old Order Amish woman who has a knack for gardening and how the strict community she lives in views it. Preferring to spend time alone allows Rhoda to tend to her garden and process a tragedy that haunts her daily.

    Samuel King is a kind, responsible and hard working Amish man who lives in the neighboring town of Harvest Mills. He runs his family's apple orchard business and tries to hold everything together when he too endures a tragedy.

    God brings these two families together in a way that only He can. Many choices have to be made and relationships are tested as business and love start to merge.

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book and can't wait to get my hands on the next one in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Highly Recommended. Worth checking out

    This is a very good read. Well written and very good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    Great book

    Can't wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    Disappointed

    Very hard to get into. Not as good as most of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    There is a plentiful supply and selection of Amish themed books

    There is a plentiful supply and selection of Amish themed books available in the Christian fiction market. Cindy Woodsmall is among the best authors of this genre. I believe in A Season for Tending she presents some interesting insight into life among the Amish.

    With Rhoda, our mail female character, we have an unwed Amish young lady who is dedicated to growing herbs and berries. But other issues are at play involving Rhoda. She has something akin to "second sight" though it is not called that in the story. Need-less-to-say, her ability to glimpse into what is about to happen is not looked upon favorably with the Amish nor in the community in which they live along side of non-Amish. She also possesses knowledge of herbs and how the various herbs can aid in the healing process and in making folks feel better. This, too, creates suspicious thinking regarding Rhoda.

    She is exceptionally talented in making her small plot of land product copious amounts of quality fruit and herbs. Is this because she has talent and knowledge or because she is a witch or something similar. The community wonders.

    Samuel King comes into Rhoda's life and sees the possibility that her plant care and canning talents can assist him with the apple business in King's Orchard. Throughout the book, we are given a good look into the troubles, trials, and joys of being in the business of growing apples.

    Emotions run taunt throughout the book as lives interweave. The books does not end like a typical romance where boy meets girl and all live happily ever after. There is a bit of a cliffhanger.

    A good read; and as usual Cindy Woodsmall doesn't disappoint with her characters' development, the story line, and the twists and turns it takes.

    Disclosure: I received a free copy of A Season for Tending from Blogging For Books on behalf of the publisher, WaterBrook Press, and the author, Cindy Woodsmall for the purpose of an honest review. I was not required to write a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2012

    I will state up front¿I am NOT a fan of Amish fiction and A Seas

    I will state up front–I am NOT a fan of Amish fiction and A Season for Tending is not the book that will change that. It was slow moving and a bit too soapy for me. Cindy Woodsmall is a fine writer, no doubt about it, but I simply did not enjoy the storyline at all. I would love to see her take a step away from the Amish fiction fad and write a Christian fiction book of a different genre.

    Fans of Amish fiction will probably love A Season for Tending. The writing is good and if you enjoy this sort of story line, then I would say that you’d enjoy this one. As for me, I felt it was too slow and stilted. I just didn’t connect with the characters at all. If Woodsmall continues to write Amish fiction alone, this will be the last book of hers I read. But, I hope that at some point she steps away from this genre to write about a different subject. If you like Amish fiction, then give this one a try, but if you’re like me and don’t enjoy it, I’d say skip this one.
    NOTICE:

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Library Thing in exchange for my honest review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A wonderful story Rhoda Byler has enjoyed working in her garden

    A wonderful story

    Rhoda Byler has enjoyed working in her garden since she received her first blueberry bush from her Daed as a birthday gift when she was a little girl. He continued giving her one plant every year on her birthday and now she has a garden of all kinds of berries and herbs. She owns Rhode Side Stands, selling home canned goods by mail order and in stores. She had other uses for her herbs and that along with her intuitions cause everyone in town, Amish and English, to think she practices witchcraft.

    She loves gardening so much that she ignored her sister's plea's to go to town one day so Emma went by herself. Suddenly she had a feeling that Emma was in trouble, went looking for her and tried to get to town because she knew that Emma was about to get shot. This didn't help her reputation with the people in town. Rhoda now blames herself for Emma's death and other than her family, she only has one friend, Landon, and English man who helps her mail her in Rhode Side Stands.

    The King family comes to know Rhoda because Leah King went to a party at her neighbors house and passed out in Rhoda's garden. Samuel, Leah's brother, comes to get her and shows an interest in Rhoda's garden and canning business. When they run into trouble with King's Orchard apple trees, Samuel remembers what he saw there. He and his brothers, Jacob and Eli, go to Rhoda and try to talk her into helping them out by canning their salvageable apples.

    Rhoda is very reluctant but the King's keep trying to talk her into it. She is forced to dig up her herb garden because of rumors and one night when everyone is gone, someone comes and runs over all of her berry's and ruins the rest of her garden. Will this influence a change of mind for Rhoda and what happens when a tornado hits King's Orchard?

    Cindy did her usual good job on this book. I wondered at first what kind of story this would be, but there is a wonderful story here. The bad thing, at the end of the book you think you know what is going to happen in Rhoda's life but there is that hint that things may take a different path in the next book. Come on Cindy, how long do we have to wait? ? ? ?


    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this ARC (Advanced Reader Copy) free from the publisher through the BloggingforBooks book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Highly Recommended-Check it out!

    It is a great book to read and to learn about the amish.I would read other books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Season For Tending

    I am a fan of Cindy Woodsmall's books, once you read them, they linger with you for a long time. This one is a compelling page turner and a big insight into the strength of Amish family life.
    As with all communities, people are not always what they present themselves to be. People who claim to love the Lord and then do violence to another one is an example. Poor Rhoda has been bullied by some in her Community because she told the true about this individual. When first her garden, and them her beloved fruit plants are destroyed, she is beyond grief.
    Enter the King family. Samuel has been in charge of the families apple orchard, and when a chance meeting with Rhoda, gives him an idea. So begins changes. Some are far reaching. As with the end of this book, we are heading down hill without breaks. Can't wait for the next book in this series.
    Will Rhoda end up with one of the King brothers? What about Catherine? How about Leah? There are more questions, and I have to wait for answers, please soon!!

    I received this book from Blogging For Books, and the Publisher Waterbrook Press, and was not required to give a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2