BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Secret Wish (Wish Series, #1)

Average Rating 4
( 501 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(210)

4 Star

(143)

3 Star

(85)

2 Star

(38)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

43 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

A secret wish

One of the best books by B. Freethy I have read. LOVED it & would recommend

posted by Leah-books on December 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Sam

.............. *face palm* g'night....

posted by 10881177 on December 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    Good, but not fulfilling

    I really enjoy Barbara's books. I've gotten every one of them. This one is good, but it could have been SO much better. Each character's story was great, but she cut each story way too short and it leaves you saying..."What? That's it?" Didn't do the stories justice....

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Seriously?

    I can't believe I'm about to write my first sub par review for this author. I looked back at the other reviews to try to remind myself why I picked this book. I saw a review from BookAddictVA that basically sums up my opinion. This book is only about 285 pages even though I thought it was over 400. The end of the book is a preview of another book. Anyway, in 285 pages there are 3 complete stories. The stories weren't bad so much as they were rushed. Plus, once she introduced the characters, I already figured out who was staying and who was going. She put in some secondary people like the old flame who was now a priest, and for a minute, I actually tried to play out how the story would go if she hooked up with the priest.

    Like I said though, I agree with the other poster. This story could've been much better. Even though it wasn't the 400+ pages, even that surprised me because I'm used to her 600+ books. If she wants to do short reads, I think she should've stuck with one of the stories. I'm going to give the series the benefit of the doubt and try the 2nd book. The summary looks like it's about one couple so hopefully it's better.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Good

    This was a good story, but I liked book 2 & 3 better! This is not a connected series,so you don't have to read them together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Good

    Not much to say after 200 reviews other then I enjoyed it. A good clean read.

    AD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Good Book

    Short but good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Didn't interest me

    I found it to be boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Easy read

    Easy read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    secret wish

    Good story line but to short for the money spent was not as long as advertised

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    great book

    I enjoyed this book. It is the first I have read by this author but I will read her again. Can't wait for #2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Cheesy but not bad...

    When i first began reading i was glued... I read it in about a day and well i wasnt very impressed with the ending. Too cheesy and way too fast of an ending. I guess over all not too bad. Very romancy and very "exactly what you wanna hear" and kinda predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    A Secret Wish

    Easy, light and fluffy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    good read

    Wishes! Yeah, we all have them and it's funny how life can change as you're older. This book has some of the what if's we've all thought about, along with helping others have a better life.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Not so sure...

    It was three stories that slightly intertwined... could have been really good but left me kind of flat. Would like to read about each character individually, expanding on each. I guess I was a little disappointed. Too predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    A just OK read

    I was really enjoying this story, but the ending came to a screeching halt way before it seemed appropriate. It seemed the author was tired of writing it and suddenly tied up all the loose ends. I was going to read the series but was so disappointed with this odd way to wrap up the story that I will not continue with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Not what I expected

    I love Barbara Freethy. I did not love this book though. Not her typical story. I had a tough time finishing it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    Great mystery/romance that gets your attention in the beginning and keeps it to the end. So far I have read via NOOK 3 of this Authors books and I love all of them...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    Like this would really happen

    Ok I know this is fiction but really these wishes that come true are so far fetched. First time reading this author. I guess if you want a no brainer easy to read book then go for it. I might give this author another try. Like I said first time reading her stuff. Who knows maybe her other books are more down to earth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    Good, not great.

    This was my first Barbara Freethy book and it was good, not great. It was a quick read (finished in two days). I loved the story lines and characters but I was left wanting to know the characters more. I never got attached to any of the characters and never felt any emotion one way or the other. Its a cute book but definitely not one of my favorites.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Lets ur daughter read what she wants

    Its better for her to read wat she wants than she will be moore edacated 100%

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Anyone read this?

    Havent read this yet but it sounds good. Any reviews?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5