Customer Reviews for

Shot of Sultry

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Marissa Book provided by NetGalley for review Review

    Reviewed by Marissa
    Book provided by NetGalley for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    A Shot of Sultry was such a fun book to read. It was obvious there had been a previous book in the series (happily married couple, underwear found on the office desk brings a smile to his face – but not a blush, constant touching and holding – you know the deal) but that didn’t make this book any less enjoyable to read.

    The book begins with Bobbi and the knowledge that she has somehow screwed up a promising documentary film career, but the book never goes into detail about just how that happened. I was a little disappointed there. I like to know how the characters get to where they are, how they become who they are. However, I do like that Bobbi is more interested in paying people back (monetarily, not revengefully) than she is in putting her career back on track. She does get a little tunnel-vision when it comes to her job but the tunnel does open, letting Bobbi redeem herself.

    Trey is the consummate hero – at least in my eyes. He received an Other Than Honorable discharge from the Army, he has a bum leg from a fall off a roof, and his view of marriage is skewed thanks to his less-than-faithful father. At the same time, he knows his interest in Bobbi is more than just a fling. He acts as a cross between a big-brother-like protector and a cave-man-she’s-my-woman kind of warrior.

    This book has all the elements of a modern romance – light-hearted situations, endearing main characters, a few quirky minor characters, and a small town where everyone knows everyone else’s business. I thoroughly enjoyed both the story and the characters and look forward to catching up with book one (Sultry with a Twist) and anticipating book three (Surrender to Sultry), Colton’s story, due out in August.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    4 stars

    Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    A Shot of Sultry is that perfect mix of charm, humor and warmth.

    A Shot of Sultry is that perfect mix of charm, humor and warmth.  The characters are quirky and fun, with the perfect mix of banter and heart, and quite a bit of heat to keep things spicy.  If you are looking for a steamy book on those hot summer nights, Beckett is your go-to-girl.  Full review on BookTrib or RomanticReadsandSuch (dot) wordpress (dot) com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2013

    I didn't think it possible to enjoy A SHOT OF SULTRY as much as

    I didn't think it possible to enjoy A SHOT OF SULTRY as much as I did SULTRY WITH A TWIST. But man, oh man... Macy Beckett knows how to write!
    Even though Luke was swoon-worthy, there was something about Trey that I just like more. So I was thrilled to be able to read Trey's story in advance of A SHOT OF SULTRY's release. {Though, late in my review.} I was not disappointed in the slightest. In fact, I fell in love with Trey and Bobbi. Oh, the tension, the banter! I appreciated Beckett attention to Luke and Bobbi's relationship as well. The tool shed scene was one of my favorites. A Shot to read Every time I picked up where I left off, I was instantly in Sultry Springs with the Luke & June, Trey & Bobbi, Colton & his girl of the day/week ;), and Grandma Pru. And how can you not adore Carlos. Beckett writing is just *that* amazing!
    Looking forward to Colton's story up next in SURRENDER TO SULTRY. I already know I'm going to miss this cast of characters with the series ends.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    I want to live in Sultry Springs!

    As much as I thought I enjoyed Sultry with a Twist, I love A Shot of Sultry even more. Trey is a great character. Macy Beckett does a great job pulling the reader right in and wanting more! She's developed quite the little place in Sultry Springs. Can't wait for book 3.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    I honestly could not put this book down. If it wasn't for the co

    I honestly could not put this book down. If it wasn't for the constant interruptions of sick people at work yesterday I would have had it done in one sitting.
    I wasn't sure how I could love Trey's story more than Luke and June's. However I was immediately drawn in by Bo and Trey's story. Bo was such a great female character. I enjoyed everything about her. She came from so much hardship to make a name for herself and didn't let anything get in her way. Trey was equally as entertaining as Bo and as mesmerizing. I really enjoyed reading about his time with Gopher. Together they always made me smile.

    I don't know how I am supposed to go through the next few months waiting for Colton's story. I think I am already in love with him.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I could not wait for Trey to have his own story.

    I read Sultry with a Twist and Trey was the guy who stole my heart. I couldn’t wait to read his story.

    Bobbi Gallagher is the little sister of Luke (the hero from Sultry with a Twist). They have the same mother, but different fathers. When Bobbi was about three or four years old, their mother decided to leave Sultry Springs and only take Bobbi to California with her, thus leaving Luke behind. Bobbi grew up with a drug addict for a mother in various crappy, rundown apartment complexes. After her mother died, Bobbi went from foster home to foster home, before she was finally adopted by her Dad.

    Trey Lewis, gosh I love this guy, has a smile that will melt your heart and dimples Bobbi describes as "sure-fire, panty-removing gifts from God". But behind all of that is a man who's hurt. Almost nine years ago while Trey was in the Army, he got into a bar fight and ended up hitting an officer. Trey had a good and valid reason for doing so, but he still got an OTH, Other Than Honorable, discharge from the Army. Getting the OTH put a bigger stain on the relationship he had with his parents. In fact, his father hardly ever talks to him. And when I say hardly, it’s pretty much never. Trey’s mother is cold and distant.

    Trey and Luke have been best friends for ten years. Trey would do absolutely anything for Luke, even if it means disposing of an ex who happens to show up at Luke's bar looking for him. Well, it seems the "ex" is in fact Luke's little sister, which he failed to mention to his best friend. What ensues is truly a reason to NOT drink a beverage, while reading this book.

    Bobbi is in town for the summer to shoot a “red-neck” documentary, sorta like The Bachelor mixed with Jersey Shore, except you have two guys going out with several women, trying to find love by the end of summer. Well, it’s actually crazier and sometimes wilder than that. Since Bobbi and her film crew of Bong and Weezus are going to be hanging out at the local bars, Luke asks Trey to watch his sister and keep her safe. The added request is that Trey (known as a player to Luke) is NOT supposed to sleep with Bobbi. Yeah, good luck with that.

    Both Bobbi and Trey are at a crossroads in their lives. Bobbi has made a mistake that she is trying hard to make up for. She will do just about anything to get her reputation back. Trey wants to get rid of his OTH, as a way of hopefully reconnecting with his parents. But it seems reconnecting with his parents is going to be harder now. What ensues is a surprise. Throughout the book, Bobbi and Trey are both fighting their attraction to each other, each for different reasons.

    A Shot of Sultry is a hilarious story with some serious and surprising moments. Some characters will learn how to overcome their past. Some will learn that when one door closes another one will open, possibly bigger and better than the one before. Some will learn that it’s time to grow up and take things seriously. What I can say is that none of the residents of Sultry Springs will be the same after this book.

    Source: NetGalley/Author
    Reviewed for Read Your Writes Book Reviews

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2013

    I enjoyed this trip back to Sultry Springs. I wasn't sure I woul

    I enjoyed this trip back to Sultry Springs. I wasn't sure I would like Trey as much as Luke, but I did, and maybe even more. I liked how there was follow through with June and Luke's story too, and a lead in to Colt's story, though I am a little leary of him!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog The

    ~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    The characters feel real and genuine, the writing is always upbeat and fun, the humor is relentless and makes my face hurt from grinning too much and the setting is sunny and filled with hot men with that Texan drawl. I think we've got a keeper! ~ Under the Covers

    Bobbi Gallagher has returned home to Sultry Springs after having left years ago. This makes the town of Sultry suspicious not just because Bobbi is planning on shooting a new show that follows hot bachelors on their way to finding love, but also because Bobbi's presence means trouble with a capital T.

    And Trey Lewis - aka Golden Boy aka Luke's best friend - knows it firsthand because the saucy redhead has caught the eye of many of Sultry's eligible bachelors...including himself. But Trey's hands are tied becausee Luke, Bobbi's older stepbrother would have no problem wiping the floor with him if anything happened to her.

    Hence Trey's big problem.

    Macy Beckett pens a spectacular story for Bobbi and Trey. Brimming with sexual tension and heated sexual encounters, A SHOT OF SULTRY jolts readers with a taste of passion. But there's so much more than that. For me, the humor catapulted this story from good to great. I had tears in my eyes as I read this book. It was so damn funny! Any book that can make me cry from laughing too hard is a gem.

    I'm so glad I found this series. The characters feel real and genuine, the writing is always upbeat and fun, the humor is relentless and makes my face hurt from grinning too much and the setting is sunny and filled with hot men with that Texan drawl. I think we've got a keeper!

    *ARC provided by publisher

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1