Customer Reviews for

Shot of Sultry

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    Good

    Read first book and thought this was better more of a story line

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Enjoyed very much!

    After reading Sultry with a Twist, I was excited about this book! I love book series that keep you wanting to know more ! This is it! I'm waiting for the next! Great read, great romance and great characters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Book

    Mmmm, good! I like this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Love

    I love this story. This was a great book, would love to see more about these characters.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Highly recommened

    Awesome book I love this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2013

    I loved this book. Trey is such a great character - so many laye

    I loved this book. Trey is such a great character - so many layers to him and it is so fun to discover them all. The banter between Trey and Bobbi is so much fun and I loved every scene with them. Even the backing characters are well done and so much fun to watch. I want to go to Sultry Springs!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2013

    This review was first posted at Reading Between the Wines! M

    This review was first posted at Reading Between the Wines!




    Macy Beckett has quickly become one of my favorite contemporary romance authors. The woman is flat out hilarious! A Shot of Sultry was a fantastic follow up to her debut book, Sultry With A Twist. Bobbi is an extremely amusing heroine who seriously puts her love interest Trey through the ringer. She does this by showing up in Sultry with an agenda of making a ridiculous reality tv show based on your common country boy's love lives, and somehow Trey gets wrangled into participating in it. So while Trey has pretty much had the hots for Bobbi from the moment he lays eyes on her, Bobbi makes him go out on these dates that he doesn't want to go out on.




    You also have the back story of Trey's relationship with his parents. It's intriguing and very complimentary to the love story here. Bobbi is a little crazy in my opinion, but I absolutely love it. She's also a woman who flounders with a relationship with her brother, although she desperately needs one with him. There are plenty of engaging facets to the book and everything flows wonderfully together. I loved the first book, but I love this one more. The crazy thing is, I have a sneaking suspicion that the third book in the series, Surrender to Sultry, which is set to come out August 1, 2013, will actually be even better than the first two books and I can't freakin' wait to read it! 5 Wine glass toast and you haven't had the pleasure of reading a Macy Beckett book, then you need to buy one today!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I love the style of Macy Beckett's writing. She is funny and lov

    I love the style of Macy Beckett's writing. She is funny and loving at the same time. As much as I enjoyed June and Luke's story in Sultry With A Twist, I LOVED Bobbi and Trey's story. Bobbi is trying to recover from something that happened in her professional life and decides to go back home to Sultry Springs where she used to live as a little girl before her mom moved her away. She wants to try and connect to the brother she never knew. Little did she know, but big brother's best friend, Trey is just what she needed. Trey was the perfect type of guy every girl wants to meet.

    Get this story. If you enjoy books from Carly Phillip, Jill Shalvis or Donna Kauffman, you will love it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    It closes with me giggling and a little sniffle and wiping my ey

    It closes with me giggling and a little sniffle and wiping my eyes. Awww.....what a sweet, well paced, nice ending. Happiness. Even if it comes in kind of a weird way. Maybe could have used a few more pages. Instead of such a quick drop off. But still. Happiness all around. I enjoyed this story. Professional writing and pleasant reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    A small town love story that will make you laugh, cry, and swoon

    A small town love story that will make you laugh, cry, and swoon.


    Okay, how did I not about the Sultry Springs series before now?! I am seriously bummed that I've been missing out on all the fun. A Shot of Sultry works as a stand alone, but you better believe that I am so going to get book one, A Twist of Sultry, as soon as possible. In the Sultry Springs series, author Macy Beckett offers up a slice of small town life, where the laughs come often and the romance is hot, hot, HOT.

    Why did I adore A Shot of Sultry so much? For starters, the story, and the style, was fun. Beckett did a fabulous job of incorporating Southern dialogue and the ridiculous phrases we Southerners use on a daily basis, without making her characters cartoonish. Sultry Springs is a very small town, in a dry county, where a lot of the social activities revolve around the church. I can identify with this lifestyle to a ridiculous degree, it's almost as if A Shot of Sultry was based on my hometown.

    A Shot of Sultry is about Bobbi Gallagher and Trey Lewis. Bobbi left town, due to tragic circumstances, as a small child. After a horrible childhood, she built herself a great life in California. After being duped, Bobbi has ended up broke and alone. With a chance to earn a second shot at her career, Bobbi heads to Sultry Springs to reunite her long-lost brother Luke, while filming a dating reality show.

    The man Bobbi wants as her subject? Trey Lewis, her brother's best friend. Trey agrees, but Luke puts his baby sister off-limits to the sexy former soldier. Trey has made a great life for himself in Sultry Springs, but the discharge he received from the Service has left a blemish on his life. The son of a career Army man, who's in the midst of a nasty divorce with his mom, Trey's only choice is to head to the Middle East and work towards having his record cleared. But when Bobbi walks into Trey's life, he begins to have second thoughts about his upcoming duty, and to his perpetual bachelorhood.

    I loved Bobbi and Trey together! Due to her horrible childhood, Bobbi has trust and control issues. She uses her amazing organizational skills to help calm herself, and continually locks her doubts and fears away. She doesn't see herself fitting in in Sultry Springs, or having a relationship with Trey, but is all for a summer romance. Trey, because of being burned by love and his parents' messed up marriage, never wants to settle down. But Bobbi's spririt (and luscious thighs, lol) capture his attention, and he can't stay away from her. I can't even describe how much I loved Trey! He's honorable, has a fantastic sense of humor, he's a great friend, and a great mentor. Trey is my favorite type of guy: a good guy with a wicked, naughty streak. And wow, does Trey know his way around a lady. Seriously, when I'm given a good guy, a guy who has that sort of a wild streak, y'all can keep your bad boys. Sigh....

    A Shot Sultry gave me everything I love in Contemporary Romance: endearing characters, a story that pulls at my heart, and a romance that makes me cheer and swoon. Oh! And a fantastic Happy Ever After. I will be eagerly snapping up the rest of the Sultry Springs series. Look out, Macy Beckett, you have a new fan(girl)!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Another awesome Sultry novel! I'm really enjoying this series...

    Another awesome Sultry novel! I'm really enjoying this series...Macy Beckett really knows how to do funny, sexy contemporary romance that is full of heart. It's easy to lose an entire day lost in Sultry Springs with these awesome characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wow, I was so lucky to receive an ARC of A Shot of Sultry!!! Lov

    Wow, I was so lucky to receive an ARC of A Shot of Sultry!!! Loved, loved it!!! Romance with a lot of steam and a really good story behind it. :) Bobbi and Trey's meeting was a hoot and it was great to 'see' their relationship evolve through the book. The story line was unique and intriguing. I love Macy's books...same with Sultry With a Twist, the characters are realistic, they don't play games, tell it like it is, and you can really relate to them! Funny, romantic and sexy...this book sucked me right into Sultry (again)! I am really excited for the third book now!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1