Customer Reviews for

A Simple Christmas Wish

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A book to cry for

This is one of the most amazing books i have read. I almost cried a couple of times and even dreamed about this so i would say it could move your heart. While a little girl struggles to find her place in the world, her aunt falls in love with an Amish man named Benjam...
This is one of the most amazing books i have read. I almost cried a couple of times and even dreamed about this so i would say it could move your heart. While a little girl struggles to find her place in the world, her aunt falls in love with an Amish man named Benjamen. The aunt, Rachel, discovers things that she could barely dream of and is healed of old wounds.

This book opened my eyes to things that i never imagined. All forteen chapters enchanted me and brought me half way to tears. This book features a six, later seven, year old whos parents die. She is then taken care of by her aunt, Rachel. But the family will says that she is to live with her Amish aunt who lives in Ohio. And, she dosen't even know this aunt. To tell the amazing ending would not be as fun for you. It is well worth the money. So take a look into the characters' world...

posted by 12502586 on January 1, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This was a pleasant Christmas read even if I had to grab a few t

This was a pleasant Christmas read even if I had to grab a few tissues!

From the very beginning I really liked Holly! A sweet little girl with such a big heart that shines through in her love for Rachael and others! It absolutely crushed my heart to see her go through ...
This was a pleasant Christmas read even if I had to grab a few tissues!

From the very beginning I really liked Holly! A sweet little girl with such a big heart that shines through in her love for Rachael and others! It absolutely crushed my heart to see her go through the pain that she endured! However it paved the way for her to meet other family members that she probably never even dreamed of such as Benjamin who was another favorite character for me! He was such an interesting Amish character that brought a uniqueness to this story! I also liked Rachael as well and could easily relate to her!

I really appreciated that Melody explained some of the beliefs of the Amish in a nutshell! It was extremely interesting to hear Benjamen's story! I could tell their was a good amount of research put into this novel with a focus on family. However not just at Christmas time, but year round!

Overall, I liked this novel! A good short Christmas read to remind the importance of family, but I wish Melody would have included more of a Biblical message!

I give "A Simple Christmas Wish" a 3.5 out of 5 stars!

posted by Laura_Pol on December 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    A book to cry for

    This is one of the most amazing books i have read. I almost cried a couple of times and even dreamed about this so i would say it could move your heart. While a little girl struggles to find her place in the world, her aunt falls in love with an Amish man named Benjamen. The aunt, Rachel, discovers things that she could barely dream of and is healed of old wounds.

    This book opened my eyes to things that i never imagined. All forteen chapters enchanted me and brought me half way to tears. This book features a six, later seven, year old whos parents die. She is then taken care of by her aunt, Rachel. But the family will says that she is to live with her Amish aunt who lives in Ohio. And, she dosen't even know this aunt. To tell the amazing ending would not be as fun for you. It is well worth the money. So take a look into the characters' world...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Jan 28, 2014 rating 5 of 5 stars bookshelves amish-books, chr


    Jan 28, 2014
    rating 5 of 5 stars
    bookshelves amish-books, christmas-books, read
    edit shelves
    status Read from January 28 to 31, 2014
    format Hardcover (edit)
    review I am hooked on books by Melody Carlson, she is most certainly one of my favorite authors!
    This is a wonderful story,it has Amish and Englishers characters in it. I loved all the characters,and Holly, a sweet and loving little girl, made me shed a tear or two. This story brings out how important it is to love your family, and forgive past disagreements, grudges,and hurt feelings...life is too short. I will not write anymore, so I won't give away too much more on the story, but I highly recommend this book!(less)

    flag comment · see review

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2014

    Melody Carlson¿s Novella¿s never disappoint! Give me a wonde

    Melody Carlson’s Novella’s never disappoint! Give me a wonderful, warm Christmas story, and I’m a happy girl; also include an Amish aspect, a child, and a budding romance? You’ll probably be able to hear me sigh! This story will pull on your heartstrings, making you cry on one page and smile on the next.
    I am always amazed when an author can convey such a depth of emotion in such a limited amount of pages, but my heart broke for Holly and for Rachel a couple of times over the course of this read. That being said, this story was written so beautifully that I couldn’t bear to put it down and leave these characters for a second, I had to know how it turned out.
    It was very easy for me to identify with Rachel, and not see the situation from Lydia’s point of view, but Miss Carlson even remedied that with a conversation between Rachel and Lydia’s mother asking Rachel (and readers), to think about what is truly best for the child. The romance aspect of this book is incredibly subtle so as not to take away from the central storyline of the “fight” for Holly, but entirely refreshing, sweet and sincere.
    Please pick up a copy of this book, it will make you feel real emotions for characters that you will quickly love, and leave you feeling satisfied and happy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Melody Carlson is a well respected and highly acclaimed author o

    Melody Carlson is a well respected and highly acclaimed author of Christian/Inspirational fiction. She writes novels for women and teens and even books for young readers. Carlson has recently been releasing a Christmas novella each year. This year's novella is called, A Simple Christmas Wish. It is the story of a little girl and her aunt, who are touched by tragedy just before Christmas. Carlson once again shines in this short Christmas tale that brings the English and Amish worlds together. Carlson's ability to get her message across in this short format is exceptional and readers of both Christmas fiction and Christian/Inspirational fiction will love it!

    As many of you know I am a huge fan of Christmas fiction whether it is main stream romance, Christian/Inspirational or any other genre. Melody Carlson's Christmas novella's are some of my favorites. I was really excited to see Carlson's take on an Amish Christmas in, A Simple Christmas Wish. I will have to say that this is my favorite Christmas novella by Carlson to date. It is inspiring and heartfelt and I think readers will identify with not only the characters but the situation. Tragedy is never easy but when it comes at Christmas time it seems even more devastating and I think Carlson captured that feeling and turned it around. 

    Rachel is babysitting her niece Molly just before Christmas while her parents celebrate their anniversary. One phone call changes Molly and Rachel's lives forever. Molly parents have been killed in a plane crash. Now Molly must travel to Ohio to live with her aunt, Lydia who is Amish. There are so many interesting nuances about this book. You have Rachel's love for Molly. Lydia's unwavering faith. Ben's romantic feelings and everything sort of clashes together all at once. I thought Carlson did a great job of telling this story in very few pages, but with great impact in every paragraph. 

    Carlson writes this story in under 200 pages, but I did not feel like anything was rushed at all. Everything takes it's natural course and feels realistic and smooth. I wanted it to be longer because it was so good, but it wasn't necessary to carry the story. It stood well on it's own. I thought Carlson also used her pages wisely by letting the characters speak for themselves. The reader learns more about everyone through their actions and not through a narrator which was a nice touch. 

    The characters are really the star of this novella. Molly is a wonderful little girl who will touch the heart of every reader. Rachel's love for Molly is so strong that she is willing to do what is best for her no matter what her own feelings are. Ben comes across as a loving son and brother and a man who understands what Molly is facing. Lydia is strong in her faith and wants to teach and nurture Molly. Together these characters make for a wonderful Christmas story. 

    Carlson treats the Amish faith with respect and dignity and it is obvious that she has researched the Amish in detail. I thought she took a risk by having Lydia be less than friendly with Rachel in the beginning, but she pulls it off and readers will quickly understand why it was necessary. I have never met an Amish person who was not the epitome of hospitality and love, so I was taken a little aback by that, but Carlson knew what she was doing. 

    This novella was just a joy to read this time of year!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Melody Carlson in her new book, ¿A Simple Christmas Wish¿ publis

    Melody Carlson in her new book, “A Simple Christmas Wish” published by Revell lets us experience Christmas with Rachel Milligan and Holly.




    From the back cover:  One girl in need of a home. One woman in search of a home for her heart. One Christmas where it all seems possible.




    Rachel Milligan never imagined that she and her seven-year-old niece would spend the week before Christmas on a quaint Amish farm in Ohio. But with so many unexpected occurrences of late, perhaps she shouldn’t have been surprised.




    With her young niece Holly in tow, Rachel anxiously makes her way from Chicago to Ohio’s Amish country. As love begins to blossom, family secrets emerge, and old wounds are healed, Rachel realizes that she will do whatever it takes to ensure that Holly has the loving family she needs.




    Join bestselling author Melody Carlson on an emotional journey into the heart of what family truly means at Christmastime.




    There is a reason why there are so many stories about Christmas on the television about this time and that reason is everyone loves a good story where the spirit of Christmas changes a person by healing them of old hurts to free them to be themselves.  That’s why everyone wishes Christmas could last all year round.  Melody Carlson knows how to write and she has delivered one of the finest Christmas stories yet.  What makes a family?  Obviously a mother and father.  But what happens when they die and you are seven years old?  What do you do for a family?  Rachel, Holly’s Aunt, has to answer these questions and more as she is forced to travel from Chicago to Ohio’s Amish Country.  ”A Simple Christmas Wish” is all about Rachel and Holly coming to grips with the knowledge that there is another part of the family that is Amish and has custody of Holly.  This is a wonderful story that begins with a tragedy, exposes old wounds and brings about healing in a family and on top of everything there is a romance.  ”A Simple Christmas Wish” is one sweet read that you might want to read twice and then keep it handy to read again next year.




    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell.   I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”




    “Available November 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A very quick Christmas read. Only 168 pages, and easy read for a

    A very quick Christmas read. Only 168 pages, and easy read for an evening. This is both an English and Amish story. We find fate bringing Rachael Milligan, a world traveling flight attendant, wearing Amish attire. Huh? There is a lot that leads up to her spending time living with the Amish. The main reason is her seven year old niece Holly. We find Holly quite infatuated with all the newness of Amish life, like most children, their love the animals. Dogs, cats, horses, cows....a dream place. Can you imagine being a child and ending up at an Amish 3 hour service in German? She had to be one sweet girl to endure what was so unfamiliar to her. She has all this family she has never known.
    This is not your typical Amish story, and the reality of everything that has happened to both Rachael and Holly. Will Rachael be able to return to her previous life after being with the Amish? Or will God have some other plans for her. How about Holly can she stay with this new family, Grandmother, Aunts and Uncles, and Cousins she has never know?
    Melody Carlson has woven a really refreshing Amish story, and you won't be disappointed.

    I received this book through Baker Publishing Group Publishing Blogger Program, and was not required to give a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2013

    With the gound covered with snow, and the temperatures hovering

    With the gound covered with snow, and the temperatures hovering around 0 F here in the north country, it is beginning to feel a lot like Christmas. And a perfect time to grab a cup of tea or hot chocolate, grab a cozy blanket, cuddle close to the fire, and read a Christmas story. 
    A Simple Christmas Wish touched my heart as Melody Carlson introduced me to six, almost seven year old Holly and her aunt Rachel. So much emotion, so much detail written into a book sure to win a place on your Christmas shelf. Orphans, family secrets, forgiveness and more, set in an Amish setting tug at the heart strings, especially when it all happens around what should be and is often called the “Happiest Time of the Year”. Just as it is not happy for a lot of people at that season, so Rachel finds herself facing despair, but family is, after all, the heart of Christmas, and in Ohio, far from the streets of Chicago, where she has lived, it all seems possible. 




    "Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. 
    Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group". 
     

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2013

    A Great Christmas Read! Do we believe in life changing situat


    A Great Christmas Read!


    Do we believe in life changing situations that are out of our control?  In this story
    that is just what happened.  Life was going pretty good for Rachel Milligan when a
    terrible tragedy struck.  Heart broken and left with a niece to care for Rachel set to
    work trying to create a good life for her young niece.  Just when she thought
    everything was under control another life altering situation blind sighted her.  
    How did she not know of this secret life of her sister-in-law?  Why was she not
    told?  

    I read this book in one day because I had to find out what happened.  I found
    myself getting a little antsy because things just didn’t seem to be going the way
    I would hope this book would go. 

    This is a book you don’t want to miss for this Christmas season.  I found it to be
    frustrating on one hand and heart warming on another.  One thing we do learn is
    God is in Control and it is all in His time, not ours.

    I would love to see author Melody Carlson write a follow up book on the characters.
    Perhaps a Christmas sequel is in order for 2014?  I do hope so! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1