Customer Reviews for

A Skillet, a Spatula, and a Dream

Average Rating 3.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Great Cookbook!

I really enjoyed reading this book! Great recipes and the stories she recounts for the recipes are great as well. I've read many of her novels and that keen sense of humor she writes those with carry on in this book. Give it a try...after all it's free!

posted by Para-Fan on November 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable

This is as fun read

posted by santurcer63 on December 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    Great Cookbook!

    I really enjoyed reading this book! Great recipes and the stories she recounts for the recipes are great as well. I've read many of her novels and that keen sense of humor she writes those with carry on in this book. Give it a try...after all it's free!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Loved it!

    What a fun story book with recipes...or is it a recipe book with stories? Either way, a delight to the senses. I would love to meet the author. We would have a fabby afternoon filled with laughter as we traded stories and recipes.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    For the same reason the previous reviewer did not like it, I did!

    This was free and turned out to be pleasantly delighful. I loved the intros to the recipes (many of which I am anxious to try). The recipes seem a little heavy on garlic, but there are many recipes for sweets as well. 176 pages, and I read it cover to cover. The writing comes across as friendly. For a special treat, go ahead and visit her website (link on last page). Lots of un stuff and free bookmarks and book plates.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Fun to read.

    A very enjoyable read with great recipes.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2011

    Enjoyable

    This is as fun read

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    Sammy

    This is great

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Funny and informative all at the same time!

    A really good read, as well as great sounding recipes! I just sat and chuckled and laughed as I read this. It was a free book also.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Easy ingredients

    If you like chicken, beef, shrimp, salads, vegetables, Greek and Italian dishes, --oh, and deserts-- you will find this book has yummy choices in just a few pages. I like that it is not overwhelmingly long --not 40 ways to cook the one package of chicken breasts you better cook tonight before it expires. I like the easy-going style of giving ingredients and that the ingredients are easy to buy most everywhere and maybe aleady in the house. And, yes, I enjoyed her family stories. When I get stuck on ideas for everyday or on my dish for a potluck, this will do.

    The only negative is to say this is easy cooking, but maybe better for cooks who already know their cooking vocabulary.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Good recipes

    A few good recipes to add to my collection.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2013

    Great free cookbook. 40 recipes with clear step by step instruc

    Great free cookbook. 40 recipes with clear step by step instructions.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Mostly Recipes

    I was hoping for something more along the lines of Drunk, Divorced and Covered in Cat Hair. Funny stories, and a few really good recipes. Instead I got a bunch of a recipes and a few lines of prose.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    Nice book

    this is a short read but a very nice book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Good book

    You people should just read this novel yourselves and write your own review on this book. I enjoyed reading this book very much. ShelleyMA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    Cutegirl267

    Here i am again have not received any answeres from you guys

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Dani

    It is ok

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Not my favorite.

    Book was a fast read. Recipes are nothing interesting or new. Stories that go along with the recipe were cute, but seem manufactured for purposes of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Pretty good book

    Good recipes and good story in between

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Yes,

    I began reading this looking for recipes, but it also has a lot of funny comments and stories. I think you will find good recipes and enjoyable reads along with thwm. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    So cute!

    Really enjoyed this book. Cute anecdotes and memories of recipe origins. Cant wait to try some - they sound very tasty.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Darkness

    Whatever... *sleeps* *wakes up and goes on*

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2