BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Slobbering Love Affair: The True (And Pathetic) Story of the Torrid Romance Between Barack Obama and the Mainstream Media

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

41 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

unfair and unbalanced with the media and the 2008 election

bernard goldberg has put together a remarkable book with most indepth documentation showing how the media does not give equal and fair coverage in the 2008 presidential election. he clarly shows how the media did not cover any of this candidates questianable activities ...
bernard goldberg has put together a remarkable book with most indepth documentation showing how the media does not give equal and fair coverage in the 2008 presidential election. he clarly shows how the media did not cover any of this candidates questianable activities or people that make him look bad like william ayers.in other words the media did not want to cover the election they were more intrested in electing a candidate. this is a very fasinating book . mr goldberg has documented a very indepth bestseller and alot of very intresting reseaerch that shows that the press should be showing both sides so people could be properly educated on the issues and the candidates.

posted by stormsTC on January 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 79 people found this review helpful.

Sour Grapes

The author seems to be one of those people who thrives on slinging mud. I thought we had seen enough of it during the recent campaign, but I guess Bernard Goldberg can't get over it that it's over. While the majority of Americans is anxious for Barack Obama to rescue th...
The author seems to be one of those people who thrives on slinging mud. I thought we had seen enough of it during the recent campaign, but I guess Bernard Goldberg can't get over it that it's over. While the majority of Americans is anxious for Barack Obama to rescue this country from ruin, there remain people such as Mr. Goldberg who prefer the continued hate mongering. It is most amazing, however, that there is no mention of the Republican opponent's skeletons in the closet that were never mentioned by the media, as for example presciption drug abuse by Cindy McCain and its coverup. The liberal media is a myth. The outgoing president and his helpers were able to ruin this country precisely because the coroporate owned media gave them a free pass.

posted by History-sponge on January 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 113 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    What we always knew!

    Anyone that lived through the last presidential election felt that there was something wrong!! This book confirms all the unusual happenings that made you shake your head and wonder! The author lists all the times that the media ignored or elaborated upon situations to provide a glorious view of Barak Obama.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Too True To Be Ignored

    Bernard Goldberg's ruthless critique of the mainstream press coverage of Barack Obama's Presidential campaign is too well researched and too cogently written to be ignored. It encapsulates my experience of the campaign and explains why I couldn't bring myself to vote for Obama. I felt that no reliable news source was providing me with any useful information about the candidate. Quite the contrary, I saw hit job after hit job performed in the mainstream press on Obama's rivals, which caused me to turn in disgust toward support of a third-party candidate. I disagree with Goldberg in one important respect. I believe his right perception leads to a wrong conclusion. He regards, almost paranoiacally, restoration of the fairness doctrine as a liberal ruse to cleanse broadcast journalism of its conservative stars. I believe restoration of the fairness doctrine will give news directors the incentive they need to rebalance their newsrooms, bringing responsible journalists of every stripe under the mainstream tent. Moreover, Goldberg fails to observe that the vigor of right-wing journalism has inspired a counterattack from the left that was largely responsible for putting Obama in the White House. Restoration of the fairness doctrine would force bias in journalism into the blogosphere and restore the public interest to its rightful place at the center of mainstream news reporting.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2009

    Whatever Man!

    It is so funny that when the spotlight was on Sarah Palin no one seemed to mind that the media was focused on her. I did not hear any protest from the right wing. O I get it when they lose elections its because of the media, and not because the last adminstrations policies were bankrupt. Not the fact that many people jobs were lost. Some of these are friends of mine. Could not be the fact that even though I went to school and got and education, I still pay more in taxes . I chose to be a nurse instead of investment banker. But I'm sure if the author were in a hospital he would want me to be there. Do me a favor keep on keeping on with this message filled with hate. Keep blaming the media for your faulty polices, it helps us when our elections. I guess that old adage what you focus on you become.

    5 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2009

    Do you really know the truth?

    This Book is nonsense¿ but what will be will be. The world and the nation have spoken and Barack Obama will be our president (You and others have no choice). I did not have a choice with BUSH and now those who are unhappy will feel the same way I and others have felt thus far. Give this man a chance, BUSH had a chance (two many) and we are not any better off¿ or are we? This man will change things and will hopefully make this world better for my kids one day. This misguided book just continues to suck hate and misery out of those who did not want him in the position that he currently IS IN. Enjoy the book and I will enjoy OUR president¿ because no matter what..he is the President and there is nothing you or others can do about it for the next FOUR years.

    5 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2009

    Slobbering Love Affair

    I found this book to be very enlightening. Just about what I thought the media was doing. It is a shame that the media in all forms can't be objective anymore. This election was won by the media's help which is a shame. I was angry as I read what had happened during the campaign and election. The bias media is disgusting. No wonder people don't watch the news on CBS, NBC, and ABC

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2009

    excellent read

    difinitively exposes the news media's bias and puppy-dog love of Obama. anyone that doesn't believe this, then this book is for you. all items throughly researched and foot-noted. after reading this book, you will no-longer believe anything the mainstream medai says about obaama

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    Sobering Facts the Media Elite Cannot Deny

    Goldberg uses much of the book to restate his conclusions reached in his book Bias.

    As I listened to the book I stopped periodically and checked on a number of statements he presented as facts. I found his research to be dead-on. In spite of his condemning research, Goldberg does remain forgiving of the guilty parties in the media. They are much less forgiving of him. His research makes it easy to understand the failure of several large newspapers in recent months. He offers constructive solutions to the media bias issue.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    Slobbering Love Affair

    This book is the best analysis of the main street media approach to Obama I have ever seen. It clearly shows the bias they have shown from the start of his campaign till today. It is a sad commentary on where our media has gone and how they are no longer fair or balanced regarding politics.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very entertaining.

    I expected this book to be about B. Obama and his campaign, but it was a commentary on how Obama was covered by the media. I consider myself someone who keeps up with the news. But I could never have chronicled the media coverage the way Bernie did. He disected so many different mainstream media personalities in a scholarly and entertaining fashion that makes the book easy and enjoyable to read. I hope that more people chronicle the downfall of the American media the way that Bernie does, so when we look back and wonder why they country failed, we can point the finger at the people who allowed it to happen.

    I also think that the "professors" at the various institutions that teach journalism use this book in their classes so that future generations of jouralists aren't poisoned by their ideology when "reporting" the news. If you deny that there is a bias, you simply need to look at the CNN correspondent that gave a guy with a two year old a hard time because he was saying something she didn't believe in. What a joke they have become.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2009

    can't handle the truth?

    I read the book and I don't think he is biased. rather, I think he just pointed out things that happened and presented them as facts. The point is, main stream media outlets were in the tank for Obama and did make it their job to get him elected. He is not taking a shot at the candidacy of obama but merely the free pass from the media he recieved as questionable people in his past were being uncovered. Why is it that those who view the President as some sort of saviour don't like it when the truth is discussed? Goldberg's books are always, and I stress always about how the media handles itself. Though I haven't read all the reader reviews, I'm surprised someone has not called him a rascist yet. That seems to be the modus operendi for those that don't like when something bad is said about the president. get over it, this is a study of how the media acted, nothing more, nothing less. Oh my, writng this sent a tingle up my leg!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2009

    best book ever on the media

    B. Goldbert could not have described any better what I saw during the campaign.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Provocative and hilarious

    Bernie Goldberg is a talented writer who researches his facts. Slobbering Love Affair is hilarious, informative, and a candid look at the comedy that has become our nation's political system.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Book but....

    Barack Obama and Larry Sinclair, Sex, Drugs and murder is more of the Obamas life!!! Now that book is a true story!!!

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    Another Goldberg Rant

    Goldberg ranks with Ann Coulter in the Venom in their writing. American has almost been destroyed by the rants of these kinds of people, does not deserve a star, does not belong in what is needed to restore America.

    4 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Slow and EXTREMELY BORING.

    At first I thought this guy had a point but after reading this "book" it just proved to be a biased work of fiction. I'm sorry I bought it.

    4 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2009

    Goldberg's Vendetta...

    Mr. Goldberg just can't seem to get over his fixation on labeling every news outlet (expcept Fox Noise)as being biased and to the left. Mr. Goldberg has had a vendetta against the mainstream media since his falling out in CBS news, and for the past few years hes been bashing every media outlet that doesn't prescribe to his conservative mentality. I don't deny there is a media bias, but that media bias is reserved for the corporate owners of these news networks. Being corporatly owned and totally relying on ratings, the networks swing in every which way depending on which way will get more ratings. So there is a media bias, just tends shift on a constant bases either side. Mr. Goldberg seems to ignore the fact that in two seperate occasions the media was not friendly with Obama. The Reverend Wright fiasco and the suppposed real estate deal with Rezco. Not to mention the constant reminder of the inexperience in Obama, while completely ignoring Sarah Palins. Also, I find it amusing that just one week ago the Sales rank for this title was ranked in the 50,000's, and now just a couple of days after the release, it manages to reach the top ten. Having worked in a bookstore, titles usually get press and advance notice within a month of its release. Popular authors like the ever so-evil Ann Coulter reaches the top 50 two months ahead its release. Its kind of suspicious that the book reached so many sales in so little time. Makes you think there was some sort of massive buyout from bookclubs and organizations with a particualr taste for this type of rhetoric.

    4 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2009

    How do those grapes taste?

    If you're reading this, you've probably just lost the election. Goldberg has a hard time with losing. So much so he'd like to pin the whole thing on the liberal media, even though he pops up on Fox News more than anyone who's not an employee. America made their choice, not because CNN or MSNBC misrepresented the truth or gave Obama more air time, but because of his ideas. Should we believe we could be so easily manipulated by our media outlets? I think most Americans get their news from a wide variety of sources and make their choices based on a collective of those outlets. But go ahead, please continue to blame the big bad liberal media. It's much easier than coming up with new ideas and solutions to our nations woes. Which, by the way, Mr Goldberg gave none.

    3 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2009

    Bernie is right on the money

    Bernie gives a good insight into the Media and it's motivation and intent.I do agree with what he presents in this book.The examples he uses are very precise in making the point he is presenting. He is always very entertaining and amusing while he informs the reader.It did repeat information at times in the book,giving me the feeling he was padding it up a bit.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    Goldberg confirmed for me what happened in the mainstream media during the 2008 election cycle. I have passed my book on to my daughter.

    This book reveals how biased mainstream media is and how they report only favorable things about Obama...I am so glad I finally saw the light.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Bernard goldberg book talks about the obamastream media like chris matthews saying i have a funny feeling is my leg and keith olbermann hates george w bush and america.

    there is a double standard in the media for conservatives and republican like carrie prejean, sarah palin, glenn beck, fox news and other people this book tells the truth about what going on is america.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 113 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6