Customer Reviews for

A Slot Machine Ate My Midlife Crisis

Average Rating 4
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Review by Robin Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    Review by Robin
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    What a wonderful, smart and hilarious story. That takes us on an adventure in mid-life crisis.

    Wendy has dated Roger for seven years when they decide to finally get married. The perfect wedding and a long honeymoon find them moving from LA to Houston because of career moves. She has been in retail and works for a wonderful couple. Only when she gets to Houston things aren’t wonderful for the newlyweds.

    They soon find that the honeymoon is over. Wendy has lost her job because the company is sold and finds her following Rogers bosses around (who are older than her). They want her to not worry about a job but, look to doing volunteer work.

    Then there is the matter of Roger and the long hours with his job. The house needs allot of repairs.

    When Wendy Sinclair gets a call from her friend she jumps at the chance to go to Vegas. It is only for the week-end, girls only. So Wendy doesn’t even really bother discussing things with Roger, her new husband, but instead makes plans and heads to Vegas. 

    Things happen at Vegas and yet after the week-end Wendy decides to stay on and find a job.

    Caught up in the quirkiness that is Vegas, Wendy actually makes things work. After all she is 45 years old, newly married and no job. To many normal life things going on the best thing to do is to ignore them and start fresh. Well at least that is what Wendy things she needs to do.

    Her best friend Paula ends up going back to LA, but after a while she starts to spend untruths about Wendy.

    Roger not wanting anything to do with Vegas doesn’t come to visit Wendy, so for a newly married couple they may talk on the phone a few times and send emails.

    This may work for some but, really… although Wendy seems to make it work. She comes to make a job happen for her, get an apartment and really enjoy Vegas.

    Over the months she finds a good friend in Kent. He is always there and things start to develop. 

    A funeral, needing some black pantyhose and her husband, almost bring them to where you think things just may work out. But, there is always a twist in this story and things are never as they seem.

    I wouldn’t want to spoil this delightful story.

    Ms. Woodbury has your guessing the outcome all the way to the end. A most enjoyable read. I can’t wait to read more from Ms. Woodbury.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This Has Lots of Potential - But Not for Me

    Wendy was working for a big store when she decided to move to Texas to be closer to her fiancé. After they have been married for four months, she is starting to feel the pressure. First, the store decided to sell out to a cheap retail chain and she looses the possibility of her job. Then they are having numerous house troubles. And it doesn’t help that her husband, Roger, is more wrapped up in his houses then with Wendy. The final straw is when Roger’s bosses Stepford wives try to make Wendy just like them.

    Wendy decides to call up her friend, Paula. Paula is going to Las Vegas to attend a wedding and invites her along. Wendy has had great trips in the past and is instantly ready for the change of scenery. Things go wild with shopping, spa treatments, partying at clubs, and dinner at Paula’s sister’s place.

    Wendy starts out complaining about everything. Then she decides to get together with Paula to have a girls weekend, no consideration or discussion with her husband. Then they go out and spend ungodly amounts of money on clothing, spa treatments, and food. Then the go partying at clubs, have a fiasco at the wedding dinner, and find out Paula’s sister is a blackjack dealer and Dolly Parton look alike.

    I will be brutally honest; this book was not one for me. I’m sorry to say that I was so irritated by how spoiled and shallow Wendy and especially Paula are. They are they type of women that don’t mind paying $300 for a purse or $200 for a pair of sunglasses. The whole wedding dinner part just irritated me with how Paula just dismissed the whole thing. I had to stop reading after the dinner at Paula’s sister’s house.

    The story may get better from there; unfortunately I couldn’t keep with it. I guess I have never been that kind of girl so I might not understand. I think that is a lot of the problem.

    Anyway, all I can say is give the book a try. This will probably be a better fit than it was for me.

    I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Wendy and Roger have a 7-year-long honeymoon before their actual

    Wendy and Roger have a 7-year-long honeymoon before their actual wedding in the book A Slot Machine Ate My Midlife Crisis. This madcap romp, on the surface, has a deeper storyline in which endearing Wendy tries to figure out what love and marriage are all about. As one catastrophe follows another as soon as she and Roger get married, she moves to Houston to be with him as he starts a promising new career. Wendy gets after-the-ceremony cold feet and takes off for a Girls-Only weekend in Las Vegas with her nutty frenemy, Paula. The weekend away stretches into nearly two years away and the reader encounters an entertaining cast of characters in hilarious situations. Wendy often finds herself in the middle of these situations, wondering how she got there.

    This truly enjoyable book takes the reader to some of the world's most vibrant and interesting cities, including Los Angeles, Las Vegas, London, and Paris. Put on some sunscreen and a hat, get comfy in a lounge chair, and find out what Wendy does about the midlife crisis she insists she isn't having.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I can honestly say that A Slot Machine Ate My Midlife Crisis was

    I can honestly say that A Slot Machine Ate My Midlife Crisis was one of the most enjoyable and fun books that I have read recently. I found the Wendy to lovable, and I could relate to how she was struggling to discover what she truly wanted out of life. The supporting characters were equally as lovable and crazy. I found all of the situations Wendy found herself in during her time in Vegas to be absolutely entertaining, especially her stint as an Ann Margaret impersonator. This is a great book for anyone who is looking for a great weekend read or something to read by the pool.

    Wendy travels to Las Vegas for a girls weekend away, while there she discovers that her life at home isn't everything she expected. She decides to stay for a few extra days to sort out her feelings on her new marriage and job. Her few extra days turn into weeks and then months; during her stay she meets many different friends and tries a few careers. She also begins to discover who she really is and what she really wants out of life. This is a great book that I highly recommend to anyone looking for something new to read this summer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Injoyable but not what I expected.

    As a slot machine player I expected more about gambling, from the title. It was more about a woman finding her place in life. And it was an easy read, talked a lot about Vegas. I didn't like the abrupt ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Complex and entertaining

    Reviewed by Paige Lovitt for Reader Views (10/11) Already forty-five years old, newlywed Wendy is facing a pretty major mid-life crisis. Hers actually extends into a total identity crisis. Having dated her husband Roger for seven years, and only recently marrying him, she finds herself uprooted and unemployed. Sharing an idyllic life in Los Angeles; each had their own career. When Roger¿s career involves accepting a dream job in Houston, Wendy readily agrees to sell her condo and move with him. Recently unemployed, she is not leaving behind any prospects. However, shortly after they arrive in Houston, Roger turns into a major workaholic. Losing her identity as a career woman, being ignored and living in a home with critters and other problems, Wendy does not settle in easily. While Roger is eager to become a part of high society in Houston, Wendy does not enjoy the snooty women who she feels pass judgment on her. When an opportunity arises for her to go away to Las Vegas for five days, Wendy jumps on it. Feeling the honeymoon is over after less than four months, part of her feels disappointed that she is looking to get away from her husband. After spending five crazy days with her friend Paula, that include a wedding being cancelled because of Paula¿s indiscretion with the groom, Wendy finds life in Las Vegas, crazy, but she is also enjoying massive amounts of food, retail therapy, and spa treatments. She has also made some eccentric new friends. When it is time to return home, Wendy bolts from the airport and begins living her own life in Sin City. While she tells Roger that she is just staying on for a little while longer, she actually doesn¿t know when she will be home. As weeks turn into months, Roger¿s frustrations at not having his wife with him cause many arguments. The communication between them becomes sporadic. Meanwhile Wendy begins building a life for herself that also involves achieving some of her career dreams. Fighting her attraction to some charismatic men, she is determined to stay faithful while she figures out what she is going to do. Wendy has to decide whether or not she wants to be a wife and live in a place where she will see little of her husband and be miserable, or continue on with a rewarding career that helps her make headlines. While Wendy¿s decision result in her making extreme changes in her life, I suspect that there are a lot of middle-aged married women out there who fantasize about doing what she has done. Unlike Wendy, many of these women probably married their high school sweethearts and never had a chance to establish their own identities. Circumstances caused Wendy¿s identity to be taken from her, and her desire to reinvent herself, based upon her terms, does not mesh well with her role as a wife. Wendy¿s dilemma is tough, especially since she has a husband that loves her but is waiting for her to return to his world. I found ¿A Slot Machine Ate My Midlife Crisis¿ to contain both humor and drama. The ecc

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2011

    A Great Escape!

    I had a fun weekend reading A Slot Machine Ate My Midlife Crisis by Irene Woodbury. I didn¿t plan on reading it so quickly but it was such a fun book I couldn¿t wait to see what would happen next. I¿ve been passing the book around to my friends & family members. So far each person has given this book 5 stars! The characters are so real. After a bit you feel like you know each one of them. Wendy¿s friend, Paula, who sleeps with just about every guy she meets, tries to get married Wendy to double date with her while in Vegas. Besides that part of the trip Wendy is having a ball. Paula and Wendy shop, eat like queens, share girl talk, etc. The thought of going back to Houston to her husband is just too much for Wendy. Wendy decides to extend her stay in Vegas! If you like Sex in the City--you¿ll love A Slot Machine Ate My Midlife Crisis! I highly recommend this book to all women!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2011

    One Great Read

    I was looking for a great light read that would allow me to escape from reality for a few hours and I found it in this book. The fun and quirky characters dealt with very real problems as they moved through their very busy, yet sometimes confusing lives.

    A Slot Machine Ate My Midlife Crisis combines a very real plot with conflict and humor. The dialog flows nicely, just as if the characters themselves were conducting a conversation right there in the room.

    Wendy Sinclair is 45-years of age and is going through a midlife crisis, no doubt about it. A newlywed, she is having great difficulty juggling her new marriage with finding a job and living in a new city. She finds it all too hard to take and looks forward to escaping to Vegas for a weekend with the girls. What begins as a short trip turns into a whole new life, one she and her friends, not to mention her husband, certainly did not expect.

    As Wendy's story began to unfold, I found myself relating to her in many ways. I also found myself laughing quite frequently at the various situations she and her friends were caught up in as they tried to make sense of their lives.

    I was, however, a bit surprised at the ending, but not unpleasantly so. Though it wasn't completely unexpected, I have to admit I just didn't exactly see it coming. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a fun, light read that will keep you laughing and cheering the characters on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Does the Eifel Tower lean in Vegas?

    Telling you no lies and I believe you will laugh as much as I did on the way Wendy exposes herself to her new life, she just didn't know it yet. Have you ever gone on vacation and wondered what would happen if you didn't go back home? Wendy did and didn't and it gets better from there.she faces her new life and gives no one any warning. As they say if you truly want to be in all places at one time then go see the lights at Vegas. You never know what you will find and who you will enjoy it with at any given moment. We as women always think we know what's best for us until we wake up the next day and have a chance to re-think the matter. You can imagine what kind of things Wendy can get into and out of on her travels throughout the town, but to read them is hilarious. I found this book by Irene Woodbury titled "A Slot Machine Ate My Midlife Crisis" a fun read. It will be one that finds its way as a stocking stuffer to some of my closest friends. There is room for another down the road on this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Highly recommended - definitely a must-read

    Imagine the zaniest, quirkiest characters you can think of coupled with a midlife crisis that seems to be working in overdrive. A Slot Machine Ate My Midlife crisis is action-packed and full of light-hearted humor about very real situations. Wendy Sinclair, a 45-year-old newlywed, has just realized the full extent of her new and overwhelming life when she takes off on what is supposed to be a weekend in Vegas with the girls. What starts out as a few days in Sin City turns into an open-ended ticket with many adventures along the way. Throughout her journey, Wendy learns much about herself, her life and those around her. Upon marrying Roger, Wendy finds her life changing in ways she never expected and isn't ready to face. Forced to live in a different city and find a new job while adjusting to married life, she decides to take a short break before settling down into this unfamiliar situation. This, of course, does not turn out the way she or anyone else expects. This book delves into the lessons of true self-discovery with a few stunning revelations and realizations along the way. The personal battles fought by each character all show how lives are intertwined and how each decision made affects everyone involved. While it is written in a light-hearted, fun manner, A Slot Machine Ate My Midlife Crisis is about the real life issues people face when undergoing monumental life changes. It's an easy read that will make a great addition to any book collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable and Full of Humor

    A Slot Machine Ate My Midlife Crisis introduces us to Wendy who is a newlywed, recently lost her job and is planning a girls weekend to Vegas. While in Vegas, Wendy and her friend Paula take us along as they visit every high end store in town and eat their way up and down the strip. Wendy, who is enjoying her time away from the demands of married life is enjoying her trip and freedom a bit more than she should. At the thought of returning to Houston and her life with Roger she nearly has a panic attack at the airport. She takes that as a sign and extends her vacation for a few days at first, and eventually ends up staying for months. She continues to explore Vegas on her own and tries to shop her unhappiness away, while still telling her husband she'll only be a few more weeks. I won't ruin the ending by telling you what happens, but I will say that this is a very humorous and fun filled novel that kept me reading even when I was tired. I think many women will relate to Wendy and find humor in the ways in which she tries to cope with being married, unemployed and unfulfilled. This is a great book and I know that everyone who picks it up will feel the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    Cracked Me Up In Several Spots!

    This book grabbed me right from the first page. As a divorcee, I could totally relate to both Wendy (our "heroine") and her friend, Paula. Irene Woodbury has captured perfectly what goes through us womens' heads and I loved every minute of it.

    There's been some criticism about the excessive mentioning of food but that didn't bother me at all. There were a few spots were I felt like the story got a little slow but I appreciate the character development all the same. Often quick-reads like these leave something to be desired in the depth of the characters, but not this one!

    If you love a book with an ending that will leave you totally shocked, this is the book for you. With colder weather coming for some of us, this is the perfect book for reading over a lazy weekend. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I've never met a crisis I haven't liked

    Wendy Sinclair, 45 year old newlywed is in the middle of some serious marital turbulence. In an effort to regain some of her sassiness she jets off on a girl's weekend with on again/off again friend Paula to none other than Sin City. Once she's there, she has a midlife meltdown and decides to extend her stay...for what seems to be an eternity.
    I love stories about women who struggle against conformity. I love them even more when they include humor. This story has both.
    So why the C grade? Honestly, I felt this story had soooo much potential; but it seemed to spend an inordinate amount of time repeating the same theme without any variations. It focused far too much on food for my taste (and I love food) and other details that detracted from the humor and slowed the flow.
    Up until the very last page of the book Wendy moves back & forth between loving her husband, Roger, wanting to see him & rekindle their marriage--and despising the man. The amount of time she spends making the decision of "Yes, I love him; he's mine, nobody else better go near him" and "We'll never make this work. Maybe I should move on and go with one of these other dudes?" is in the real world of marriages (most marriages) about two years too long. If I were Roger, she would have been served in the first eight months; but that's just me.
    This book is a pretty quick read. It has some humorous moments peppered liberally with some "Oh hell no!" shockers. I will admit, I didn't see the end coming. I found reading pace picking up as I got closer to the end just to see where Wendy would finally end up. And I also started researching Vegas, as this book gives you the entire history of the city from stem to stern. I also realized, when it comes to Sin City, I missed 3/4 of it on my visit. Maybe I'll have to go back?
    If you're the type of person who analyzes a characters motivation/situation/outcome against probable real life scenarios, this book will challenge you. However, if you just want to hop on board and go for a ride...this might be your book of the year. I fall somewhere in between.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    "A Slot Machine Ate My Midlife Crisis" - A Truly Winning Book

    After having read the title of Irene Woodbury's "A Slot Machine Ate My Midlife Crisis," I was pleasantly surprised by the depth of character portrayal in the book. I had expected it to be a light-hearted joke-fest from a grandmotherly type. Was I ever wrong! The main character, Wendy, is anything but grandmotherly. She is sassy, spirited and intense. Her friend, Paula is even more flamboyant. She is a man-chaser from way back, and a little bit crazy in her own way. But she is a fleshed out character with dreams and vulnerabilities of her own. The relationship between Wendy and her husband, Roger, is anything but clichéd.

    Yet, this is not just an extended character study. It is full of action and drama as well. Just when Wendy is supposed to return home from Las Vegas, she gets the urge to run from McCarran Airport and back to the Venetian for an extended stay. There are parties, outings, friendships and other relationships, and promising career opportunities. As the days turn into weeks and the weeks turn into months, the suspense builds. All along, Woodbury keeps you guessing whether Wendy and her husband will ever make it back together. The ending suits the book to a T, but in an unexpected way. I won't give that away, though.

    Yes, there is plenty of dark humor laced throughout the book - enough to make you laugh out loud at times. Woodbury certainly knows how to turn a phrase and has perfect comic timing. But there is also heart and understanding of the human condition. The book reaches every layer of meaning, from the glitzy surfaces of the Vegas casinos to the undertones of emotion coming from every entertainer, host, gambler and visitor in the rooms. The first person narrative voice is authentic and engaging, bringing the immediacy of the setting and situation alive as you read.

    At times the book almost seems like a travelogue, with descriptions and details of dozens of hotels, shopping venues, restaurants, clubs, shows, diners and dives around the gaudy and raucous city. There was also plenty of city history in the pages of the book -and it was interesting history of the people and players who had passed that way. Without painting an unrealistically rosy picture, Woodbury captures the party atmosphere, flash and sizzle of Las Vegas in all its glory. "A Slot Machine Ate My Midlife Crisis" is a must-read for everyone who has ever lived in, visited or even dreamed of going to Vegas. In fact, even if you have never had the urge to try your luck in Sin City, Woodbury's book is bound to change your mind about getting on a plane and flying out to take that trip.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    Not your average midlife crisis!

    Wendy Sinclair has just gotten married and it seems as a result her life is falling apart! She loses her job and begins arguing with her new husband over their new house. A friend invites Wendy to join her on a trip to Vegas, that's just what the doctor ordered to cure Wendy's impending mid-life crisis. The reader is taken along for the ride as Wendy try's to figure out what she really wants from life and how to go about getting it! This is a great book filled with humor and insight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Quirky Good Read for A Slow Day

    A Slot Machine Ate My Midlife Crisis is a great book to read on a day where you don't have much going on. It's a pretty quick read in my opinion, the story just seems to go by pretty quickly. Don't get me wrong though, I really enjoyed the story! Following the life of Wendy Sinclair is like trying to watch a reality tv show. She goes on these crazy adventures with her best friend, and there are always exciting twists! Life in Las Vegas for sure will not let you down, and this book shows the best of it. The writing style is easy to follow for the casual reader, it isn't anything too complicated. Which is great, because right now with summer dragging on we all need a book that is funny and easy to follow!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Pass.

    Where... where do I even begin?

    Okay, some parts were entertaining. At least, entertaining enough that I finished the whole thing. I've been to Las Vegas and I know how crazy it is out there. I've also been around the glamorous part of LA. The places mentioned in the book are familiar to me. But...

    I really don't know how to say this and I do not want/like giving negative reviews but getting through this book took more effort than usual. Don't forget to factor in personal tastes here. Chick lit is not a genre that I read often. And with good reason (that I shall keep to myself). I just did not enjoy this. It was more tedious than amusing. It got redundant with all the tacky "hunka-hunka burnin' love" mentions, the constant revisiting of Wendy and Roger's unconventional married life, shopping and enumeration of items bought and ate, the catfights... everything. It was all filler and it droned on and on. I think the adventures are supposed to be the exciting parts but it bored me. The Vegas parts were pretty accurate and were somewhat interesting but that's about it.

    I didn't like any of the characters. Wendy, especially. They were pretentious, fake, and frustratingly immature. I'm not saying 40-year-olds can't have fun but at least they can be wiser about it. If I knew Paula in real life, I don't think I'd want to be friends with her. Wendy tolerating and making up with her every time they have a falling out made her look like a desperate social climber. Midlife crisis? Sure, maybe. By the 5th Wendy-Roger phone fight, I've lost any interest. This had a ton of Paula meltdowns too many.

    Less is more. This had potential to be a funny story about a woman going through midlife crisis. Instead, the author concentrated on all the wrong things. Like Las Vegas, it had so much excess. Readers do not need to be constantly reminded of how Las Vegas works. Time and space was spent on shopping lists than plot. And the ending? I... no. Just no.

    Rating: 2/5.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    Highly Recommended For Laugh Out Loud Funniness!

    This hilariously funny novel tells the story of confused Wendy Sinclair. She decides to stay in Las Vegas after a wild girls weekend and not return to her home in Houston. Her life is a funny downhill spiral from there. This newlywed does not opt for the glamor of Las Vegas, she definitely goes a different route. All of the characters from her best friend Paula to her confused hubby in Houston are animated and hilarious. A witty and smart novel I enjoyed it from beginning to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    Good easy read

    A Slot Machine Ate My Midlife Crisis is a book about a woman named Wendy Sinclair and the havoc that marriage has brought to her life! Through humor and crazy adventures with even crazier friends Wendy gives the reader insight into what marriage is really about. She had a perfectly good relationship with Roger for seven years and once they married it was as though they didn't even know each other. They fought over leaky roofs, furniture, friends, work and lizards! The book is well written and the flow is good, once you begin reading you find that you just can't put the book down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    Quick Read

    This is a lighthearted, quick and easy afternoon read. The main character Wendy is smart, fun loving and very well dressed! Her friend Paula is no holds barred, live life to the fullest, do what you want when you want, no excuses kind of girl. And when the two get together in Vegas for a Girls weekend hilarity and drama ensue! It was like watching one of my favorite dramas with a healthy dose of comedy. This book offers insight into the worlds of girlfriends, marriages, dating and women with careers. This is a must read in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2