Customer Reviews for

A Slot Machine Ate My Midlife Crisis

Average Rating 4
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Wendy and Roger have a 7-year-long honeymoon before their actual

    Wendy and Roger have a 7-year-long honeymoon before their actual wedding in the book A Slot Machine Ate My Midlife Crisis. This madcap romp, on the surface, has a deeper storyline in which endearing Wendy tries to figure out what love and marriage are all about. As one catastrophe follows another as soon as she and Roger get married, she moves to Houston to be with him as he starts a promising new career. Wendy gets after-the-ceremony cold feet and takes off for a Girls-Only weekend in Las Vegas with her nutty frenemy, Paula. The weekend away stretches into nearly two years away and the reader encounters an entertaining cast of characters in hilarious situations. Wendy often finds herself in the middle of these situations, wondering how she got there.

    This truly enjoyable book takes the reader to some of the world's most vibrant and interesting cities, including Los Angeles, Las Vegas, London, and Paris. Put on some sunscreen and a hat, get comfy in a lounge chair, and find out what Wendy does about the midlife crisis she insists she isn't having.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I can honestly say that A Slot Machine Ate My Midlife Crisis was

    I can honestly say that A Slot Machine Ate My Midlife Crisis was one of the most enjoyable and fun books that I have read recently. I found the Wendy to lovable, and I could relate to how she was struggling to discover what she truly wanted out of life. The supporting characters were equally as lovable and crazy. I found all of the situations Wendy found herself in during her time in Vegas to be absolutely entertaining, especially her stint as an Ann Margaret impersonator. This is a great book for anyone who is looking for a great weekend read or something to read by the pool.

    Wendy travels to Las Vegas for a girls weekend away, while there she discovers that her life at home isn't everything she expected. She decides to stay for a few extra days to sort out her feelings on her new marriage and job. Her few extra days turn into weeks and then months; during her stay she meets many different friends and tries a few careers. She also begins to discover who she really is and what she really wants out of life. This is a great book that I highly recommend to anyone looking for something new to read this summer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Complex and entertaining

    Reviewed by Paige Lovitt for Reader Views (10/11) Already forty-five years old, newlywed Wendy is facing a pretty major mid-life crisis. Hers actually extends into a total identity crisis. Having dated her husband Roger for seven years, and only recently marrying him, she finds herself uprooted and unemployed. Sharing an idyllic life in Los Angeles; each had their own career. When Roger¿s career involves accepting a dream job in Houston, Wendy readily agrees to sell her condo and move with him. Recently unemployed, she is not leaving behind any prospects. However, shortly after they arrive in Houston, Roger turns into a major workaholic. Losing her identity as a career woman, being ignored and living in a home with critters and other problems, Wendy does not settle in easily. While Roger is eager to become a part of high society in Houston, Wendy does not enjoy the snooty women who she feels pass judgment on her. When an opportunity arises for her to go away to Las Vegas for five days, Wendy jumps on it. Feeling the honeymoon is over after less than four months, part of her feels disappointed that she is looking to get away from her husband. After spending five crazy days with her friend Paula, that include a wedding being cancelled because of Paula¿s indiscretion with the groom, Wendy finds life in Las Vegas, crazy, but she is also enjoying massive amounts of food, retail therapy, and spa treatments. She has also made some eccentric new friends. When it is time to return home, Wendy bolts from the airport and begins living her own life in Sin City. While she tells Roger that she is just staying on for a little while longer, she actually doesn¿t know when she will be home. As weeks turn into months, Roger¿s frustrations at not having his wife with him cause many arguments. The communication between them becomes sporadic. Meanwhile Wendy begins building a life for herself that also involves achieving some of her career dreams. Fighting her attraction to some charismatic men, she is determined to stay faithful while she figures out what she is going to do. Wendy has to decide whether or not she wants to be a wife and live in a place where she will see little of her husband and be miserable, or continue on with a rewarding career that helps her make headlines. While Wendy¿s decision result in her making extreme changes in her life, I suspect that there are a lot of middle-aged married women out there who fantasize about doing what she has done. Unlike Wendy, many of these women probably married their high school sweethearts and never had a chance to establish their own identities. Circumstances caused Wendy¿s identity to be taken from her, and her desire to reinvent herself, based upon her terms, does not mesh well with her role as a wife. Wendy¿s dilemma is tough, especially since she has a husband that loves her but is waiting for her to return to his world. I found ¿A Slot Machine Ate My Midlife Crisis¿ to contain both humor and drama. The ecc

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2011

    A Great Escape!

    I had a fun weekend reading A Slot Machine Ate My Midlife Crisis by Irene Woodbury. I didn¿t plan on reading it so quickly but it was such a fun book I couldn¿t wait to see what would happen next. I¿ve been passing the book around to my friends & family members. So far each person has given this book 5 stars! The characters are so real. After a bit you feel like you know each one of them. Wendy¿s friend, Paula, who sleeps with just about every guy she meets, tries to get married Wendy to double date with her while in Vegas. Besides that part of the trip Wendy is having a ball. Paula and Wendy shop, eat like queens, share girl talk, etc. The thought of going back to Houston to her husband is just too much for Wendy. Wendy decides to extend her stay in Vegas! If you like Sex in the City--you¿ll love A Slot Machine Ate My Midlife Crisis! I highly recommend this book to all women!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Does the Eifel Tower lean in Vegas?

    Telling you no lies and I believe you will laugh as much as I did on the way Wendy exposes herself to her new life, she just didn't know it yet. Have you ever gone on vacation and wondered what would happen if you didn't go back home? Wendy did and didn't and it gets better from there.she faces her new life and gives no one any warning. As they say if you truly want to be in all places at one time then go see the lights at Vegas. You never know what you will find and who you will enjoy it with at any given moment. We as women always think we know what's best for us until we wake up the next day and have a chance to re-think the matter. You can imagine what kind of things Wendy can get into and out of on her travels throughout the town, but to read them is hilarious. I found this book by Irene Woodbury titled "A Slot Machine Ate My Midlife Crisis" a fun read. It will be one that finds its way as a stocking stuffer to some of my closest friends. There is room for another down the road on this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Highly recommended - definitely a must-read

    Imagine the zaniest, quirkiest characters you can think of coupled with a midlife crisis that seems to be working in overdrive. A Slot Machine Ate My Midlife crisis is action-packed and full of light-hearted humor about very real situations. Wendy Sinclair, a 45-year-old newlywed, has just realized the full extent of her new and overwhelming life when she takes off on what is supposed to be a weekend in Vegas with the girls. What starts out as a few days in Sin City turns into an open-ended ticket with many adventures along the way. Throughout her journey, Wendy learns much about herself, her life and those around her. Upon marrying Roger, Wendy finds her life changing in ways she never expected and isn't ready to face. Forced to live in a different city and find a new job while adjusting to married life, she decides to take a short break before settling down into this unfamiliar situation. This, of course, does not turn out the way she or anyone else expects. This book delves into the lessons of true self-discovery with a few stunning revelations and realizations along the way. The personal battles fought by each character all show how lives are intertwined and how each decision made affects everyone involved. While it is written in a light-hearted, fun manner, A Slot Machine Ate My Midlife Crisis is about the real life issues people face when undergoing monumental life changes. It's an easy read that will make a great addition to any book collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable and Full of Humor

    A Slot Machine Ate My Midlife Crisis introduces us to Wendy who is a newlywed, recently lost her job and is planning a girls weekend to Vegas. While in Vegas, Wendy and her friend Paula take us along as they visit every high end store in town and eat their way up and down the strip. Wendy, who is enjoying her time away from the demands of married life is enjoying her trip and freedom a bit more than she should. At the thought of returning to Houston and her life with Roger she nearly has a panic attack at the airport. She takes that as a sign and extends her vacation for a few days at first, and eventually ends up staying for months. She continues to explore Vegas on her own and tries to shop her unhappiness away, while still telling her husband she'll only be a few more weeks. I won't ruin the ending by telling you what happens, but I will say that this is a very humorous and fun filled novel that kept me reading even when I was tired. I think many women will relate to Wendy and find humor in the ways in which she tries to cope with being married, unemployed and unfulfilled. This is a great book and I know that everyone who picks it up will feel the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    Cracked Me Up In Several Spots!

    This book grabbed me right from the first page. As a divorcee, I could totally relate to both Wendy (our "heroine") and her friend, Paula. Irene Woodbury has captured perfectly what goes through us womens' heads and I loved every minute of it.

    There's been some criticism about the excessive mentioning of food but that didn't bother me at all. There were a few spots were I felt like the story got a little slow but I appreciate the character development all the same. Often quick-reads like these leave something to be desired in the depth of the characters, but not this one!

    If you love a book with an ending that will leave you totally shocked, this is the book for you. With colder weather coming for some of us, this is the perfect book for reading over a lazy weekend. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    "A Slot Machine Ate My Midlife Crisis" - A Truly Winning Book

    After having read the title of Irene Woodbury's "A Slot Machine Ate My Midlife Crisis," I was pleasantly surprised by the depth of character portrayal in the book. I had expected it to be a light-hearted joke-fest from a grandmotherly type. Was I ever wrong! The main character, Wendy, is anything but grandmotherly. She is sassy, spirited and intense. Her friend, Paula is even more flamboyant. She is a man-chaser from way back, and a little bit crazy in her own way. But she is a fleshed out character with dreams and vulnerabilities of her own. The relationship between Wendy and her husband, Roger, is anything but clichéd.

    Yet, this is not just an extended character study. It is full of action and drama as well. Just when Wendy is supposed to return home from Las Vegas, she gets the urge to run from McCarran Airport and back to the Venetian for an extended stay. There are parties, outings, friendships and other relationships, and promising career opportunities. As the days turn into weeks and the weeks turn into months, the suspense builds. All along, Woodbury keeps you guessing whether Wendy and her husband will ever make it back together. The ending suits the book to a T, but in an unexpected way. I won't give that away, though.

    Yes, there is plenty of dark humor laced throughout the book - enough to make you laugh out loud at times. Woodbury certainly knows how to turn a phrase and has perfect comic timing. But there is also heart and understanding of the human condition. The book reaches every layer of meaning, from the glitzy surfaces of the Vegas casinos to the undertones of emotion coming from every entertainer, host, gambler and visitor in the rooms. The first person narrative voice is authentic and engaging, bringing the immediacy of the setting and situation alive as you read.

    At times the book almost seems like a travelogue, with descriptions and details of dozens of hotels, shopping venues, restaurants, clubs, shows, diners and dives around the gaudy and raucous city. There was also plenty of city history in the pages of the book -and it was interesting history of the people and players who had passed that way. Without painting an unrealistically rosy picture, Woodbury captures the party atmosphere, flash and sizzle of Las Vegas in all its glory. "A Slot Machine Ate My Midlife Crisis" is a must-read for everyone who has ever lived in, visited or even dreamed of going to Vegas. In fact, even if you have never had the urge to try your luck in Sin City, Woodbury's book is bound to change your mind about getting on a plane and flying out to take that trip.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    Reality show in a book!

    If you like to watch reality TV like 'The Real Housewives' you will love this book. The book starts out with two well-to-do women who want to plan a girls vacation to get away from there stressful life and ends up..... I found these two woman having an amusing and relatable friendship between one self absorbed, wild and crazy, no strings attached friend and one friend who goes along for the ride, ending up having her own adventures with so many twists and turns. This book will not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    Worth Reading

    A Slot Machine Ate My Midlife Crisis by Irene Woodbury, was a bit funny and a bit sad at certain times. One thing I loved about this book, was I could actually feel for each of the main characters while I was reading about them.

    Wendy dated Roger for seven years and things were great. After moving to another state to be with Roger, getting married, honeymooning for four weeks, losing her job, critters in the bedroom, things start going sour.

    Wendy decides to join her friend Paula for a girls weekend in Vegas. (Wendy figures five days apart would do both Roger and herself good.) Paula and Wendy do a lot of shopping and pampering. Paula is seeking men on this trip and seems to find a different one everyday! She ends up giving Wendy a heck of a wild five days.

    On Monday, Wendy is suppose to board the plane to go home, but changes her mind at the last minute. Roger wasn't happy about that at all. Well needless to say, five days turns into a lot longer. Wendy ends up getting a job in Vegas, making friends and building a life or so it would seem.

    I won't tell you what happened with her marriage at the end. You'll just have to read it to find out if she went back home where she belonged with her husband!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1