Customer Reviews for

A Smart Girl's Guide to Boys: Surviving Crushes, Staying True to Yourself and Other Stuff

Average Rating 4.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

I loved it. Like, Really loved it.

This was a good book for me! It explained a lot of stuff, and helped me out a lot. I think it is a good book for all you people with crush trouble.

posted by Anonymous on April 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

this book was okay. it was a little too basic but the pictures were cute so it help children understand better. give this to your 11 year old.

posted by Anonymous on April 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2008

    I loved it. Like, Really loved it.

    This was a good book for me! It explained a lot of stuff, and helped me out a lot. I think it is a good book for all you people with crush trouble.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    SUPER HELPFUL!!!

    I got some money from my grandpa and got this book. I've been wanted it for a while. I read this book in about 2 days. I just couldn't put it down. It tells you what to do when you have a crush on a boy. It tells you how you can get together with a boy or with your friends and him and his friends. It help me realize (DING DING) it's not gonna be much longer till me and my friends will be hanging with boys together. I HIGHLY recommend it for 6th graders like me.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2009

    Boys are so cute after i read this book.

    This book rocks! I used to think boys were ugly and after I read this book, they're really nervous around girls and are trying to act tough!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2009

    WOW!

    I love boys now! This book tells you techniques of how to win a boy over if you're stuck. This book is NOT for nerds.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2009

    Crush Problems

    DO you have crush problems? Well this is a great book for girls that are confused about boys. This book tells you everything that boys look in girls and more. I love this book. GET IT!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2006

    Awesome Book

    This book was great!! It helped alot w/ my boy problems

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    A smart girls guide to boys

    I simply LOVE this book !!!! I think its educational and fun to read .

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2008

    Perfect

    I thought this book was so good i passed it on to all of my friends, we all agreed that this was a good book for boy problems. You really need to read this book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2008

    A reviewer

    this book was okay. it was a little too basic but the pictures were cute so it help children understand better. give this to your 11 year old.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2007

    A reviewer

    I loved this book! It tells you how you could talk to a boy that you like, and how to be yourself when you're around a boy. I think that this boy guide is great!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2007

    Helpful to girls

    I've been dating this REALLY nice, smart, cute, and funny boy(sounds like i'm bragging about my boyfriend) for about 3 years now, and our relationship has been going REALLY good, it's just... I get kind of shy around him. But sometimes I get over being shy, and this book helped me get over it quicker than usual. It is AWESOME :-)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    AWESOME BOOK!!!

    When I started middle school this year in the 6th grade back in September my mom bought me alot of these books and this one was very helpful for my friends and I.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2007

    THIS IS A NOTE TO KAY, A VIVID READER

    I found that review offensive. The youngest age that either me or my five sisters was when we had our first kiss was 13. You shouldn't just assume that most 12 year olds have had their first kiss. BTW my little sister loved this book and gives it four and a half stars.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2006

    Interesting Book for Younger Readers

    I read this book not to long ago and felt that it was full of interesting information for younger readers. My age recomendation would be 8-11, because most people older than this have already been in an actual serious relationship and have had a first and second kiss. If you've grown up with an older sibling they've probubly already comunicated most of the information included in this book to you. I thought it was a great confidence builder for my sister,who is nine, but the advice isnt really that helpful for someone experiencing serious teenage emotions. For someone who is just beging to feel differently toward boys it is a good starter book. The best thing about this book is its encouragment to be yourself. So that when the young girls who read it are ready to start a more mature relationship with boys they will only snag guys who have a guenuine intrests in the person they are, not the person they are trying to be.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2005

    for NERDS only

    if you are a nerd who can not get a boy by being yourself than read this book, because only nerdy girls would read something as dumb as this. i got it as a gift and my twin brother mike and i read it together and laughed it was just so funny. mike's advice to girls is be yourself. there, that's it: good, free advice. you don't need to shell out a dime for good advice about boys unless you are a pathetic loser who'd give this book five stars. mike says anyone girl who does the stuff in this book must be a deperate nerd and anyone who got a boy friend after this book i garantee you it will be over in five seconds, just like that because this book truly is dumb dumb with horrible advice and i can't express that enough. it talks about being a big nerd and how to deal with crushes but epeople, that is not something you learn from a book, it is called LIVING YOUR LIFE NATURALLY you don't need books except for as enjoyment and to learn about other things, but not on subjects like this i mean how dumb can yoou get????

    2 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2007

    Perfect for ANY girl!

    It tells you about , what to do if you freeze, what to do if you don't know what to say! You get hooked from the title!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2007

    A reviewer

    this book is great. you get great facts and information about boys. i loved it!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2006

    Great book very useful

    i read this book because i was shy around boys and now im not it gives you confidence

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    This is sooooooo stupid come on we are girls we can't just get t

    This is sooooooo stupid come on we are girls we can't just get tips from a stupid book we need to live it !!!!!!!!!! We r not 5 year olds boys r boys we can learn that on our own this book is for stupid girls who don't have a life. U have parents and friends use them. I'm 11 and know ALOT of boys I have friend that r boys talk to them u can do it by yourself this book s ridiculous. It should be called" A Dummies Guide to Boys" Wow STUPID

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Not that Great

    I bought this book for the sake of learning about the basics of kissing and peer pressure when it comes to boys. Unfortunately, it didn't help me out. I really wasn't impressed. Its not worth buying.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3