Customer Reviews for

A Song for Julia

Average Rating 5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Great

    I read this book after reading 'Just remember to breath' and then 'the last hour', which were terrific. I was delighted to go back in time and read about Julia and Crank. It is as good as the other two books and you get to reconstruct the dynamics of this disfunctional family and how the sisters cope with their own tragic pasts. The book's writing is superb, as the other books, and I cannot wait to read a new installment. I must also add that I am amazed that a male writer can create heroines with such depth of emotions and vivid descriptions of their struggles and hopes. Highly recommended!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    "Crank said to me one time that everyone has to have someth

    "Crank said to me one time that everyone has to have something to rebel against. I don't know what yours will be, but min is deciding my own life."




    Every once in a while a book comes along that I just have to take my time and digest it. This is that book. THAT book! This is the most beautifully written story of two broken parts becoming one whole...Julia and Crank. This is definitely going on my shelf of favorites for 2012, and I encourage you to add it to your shelf. This is my first book from this author, but it won't be my last. I plan on rectifying that this weekend with another of this author's works, Just Remember to Breathe.




    Crank is the lead singer and lyricist in the punk rock band with an edge, Morbid Obesity. Crank is the edge. Considered a pit rat, Crank is from the wrong side of the tracks and has a record of getting into trouble with the police. He's described as crazy, assertive, arrogant, and I absolutely fell in love with him. He offered humor throughout this story to relieve my angst and tears, but he is so much more than I can describe. Women fall at his feet, and he takes a different woman to bed every night....until he meets Julia.




    "I want you to be serious about me," he said. "I can get a girl to sleep with me any time. But there's something different about you."




    Julia is a diplobrat from a family of privilege, but she has suffered so much that her trust is nonexistent. She was horribly betrayed by her first love, betrayed by her best friend, betrayed by the media, and betrayed by her own mother. She is alone and wants to remain that way. Music is her escape, and she naturally becomes drawn to Crank. He is her complete opposite. but he was so captivated by her essence. He wanted only her.

    Crank has moxy. He introduces Julia to life by teaching her how to let go and have fun. Julia wants to be in control, but with Crank, she feels like she loses all control. But he created a change in her, and she did the same for him. Crank never knew he was lonely until he met Julia. She made him not want to be alone, and he reciprocated that feeling. Together, their broken pieces form a whole.




    Charles Sheehan-Miles has written a story filled with love, family, angst, and destiny. The chemistry between all the characters in the story was amazing, but Crank and Julia were something special. The author gives us opportunity to get to know each character intimately, while keeping the focus on the hero and heroine. Fate and destiny played a huge role in bringing these two together time after time. This book immediately drew me into its pages, and I was able to connect with the reality of this story. Yes, reality. It seemed so real to me! The characters actually became family to me. This book gave me everything and came full circle, and still left room for a sequel, which I would love to see. *hint* I was completely satisfied at the end that I had experienced a great book. I laughed. I sobbed (on a number of occasions). I gasped. I screamed. I squeeed. And then my heart stopped. Yes! I read that heart stopping moment! I had every emotion running through me. This is a must read book and once you start it, you won't put it down. This book has earned so much more than my 5 star stamp of approval, and I recommend it to everyone who just wants to feel.




    Thank you to the author for supplying me a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    ~Reviewed by FRANCESCA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blo

    ~Reviewed by FRANCESCA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    A SONG FOR JULIA was a surprise for me.  I saw this book in the blogsosphere when it first came out, but I stayed away.  For several reasons.  First and foremost because the author is a guy.  Yes, probably not the nicest thing, but in my experience I have been disappointed with romances written by men.  Then there’s the new adult genre.  Which at the time I was barely dipping toes into.

    Mind you I had purchased it then and it was sitting on my Kindle.  So I was going through a reading slump, nothing catching my interest even though I was reading great books.  One of our followers recommended this book and I decided to dig it out from my Kindle and dust it off.  And I immediately surprised.

    This story grabbed my interest from the very first page!  It has the right blend of angst and sexual tension, with characters that mde me fall in love and care about them.  Both Crank and Julia have their issues, one more damaged than the other.  But they’re perfect to help and heal one another.

    Crank is just the type of bad boy I love to read about.  A string of women left behind, lead singer of a band, talented songwriter.  But also with something that makes him a little more human and caring.  His little brother and how Crank deals with him and the love he shows for him really endeared him to me.  His fun loving attitude with Julia sealed the deal.  He’s not out to act tough just because, he’s honest about his feelings and wears his heart of his sleeve.  I know you will fall in love with him as well!

    Then there’s Julia.  She puts off all kinds of back off signs, and she doesn’t want a relationship.  Partly because she is damaged.  She had a tragic past, and a lot of pain, at a very young age.  She came out of that stronger but with a lot of protection walls around her heart.  Her family life is all kinds of messed up, but that’s another thing she’s learned to not let affect her anymore.  So kuddos to Julia for being a kick ass chick, going after what she wants in life.  And I don’t just mean the boy of her dreams.

    A SONG FOR JULIA made me smile, made my heart swell with happiness and cry with sorrow.  With a wonderful set of supporting characters that in a short amount of time I came to care for dearly, and a H/h that I fell in love with.  Can’t wait to read more in this series.  Yeah, I guess that teaches me guys can write about love too. ;)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Anonymous

    I absolutely love this book. It just pulls you in and doesn't let go until the end. Kudos to this author for a job well done!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2014

    The Last Hour was so good had to read more. So happy to look up

    The Last Hour was so good had to read more.
    So happy to look up the author then find a free and fantastic ebook. Looking forward to the rest of the sisters stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2014

    Great Story

    I really enjoyed this novel and thought about the characters after I finished reading this. I even recommended the book to a Nook friend. Wish the sequel novels were free too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2014

    A Song for Julia is more than a predictable romance. It is about

    A Song for Julia is more than a predictable romance.
    It is about so much more that every reader should have something to think about.
    It is about growing up emotionally,  but it is not a rite of passage novel.
    Crank, who was known as a womanizer, was willing to wait until Julia was read to love him.
    It's about being able to recognize people's good or bad character traits, and how to bring out the good.  
    Sean's autism is a metaphor for that.
    It is about family reconciliation, or partial forgiveness.  
    It is about lack of communication when it is important, or of not knowing how to phrase it.
    It's about confrontation when it is past time.
    I admit, I needed a tissue at the end. I'd love to know what happens next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Just bought the sequel! Love this new author. Sheehan-Miles deli

    Just bought the sequel! Love this new author. Sheehan-Miles delivers deep characters, passionate true love, fast-paced plot. Finally, a New Adult writer who writes deep and doesn't cop out using sex as a crutch to carry the story. The book is peppered with strong language, which I felt was entirely appropriate to the characters. A couple brief sexual situations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Fantastic story.

    I absolutely love this book. I feel in love with Julia and Crank. Watching her fall in love with him. Having to figure how the get passed what happened to her so that so could accept his love and return it. I cried several times during the book. You get so wrapped in them and everything that is going on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2013

    Once in a while you read a book that just leaves you thinking (o

    Once in a while you read a book that just leaves you thinking (or accidentally expressing out loud and frightening your family) “Holy Crap!” This is one of those books…in a very good way.

    First off, I loved "Just Remember to Breathe" (the first book in this series), and this book was just as good, if not better. It deals with serious issues, but the characters are constructed so well that you just have to keep reading to find out what happens. It's a story of loss of innocence, frustration, anger, hope, love and finally joy. The author is so talented in constructing a world that sucks you in, tosses you around, mesmerizes you and makes you wish by the end there was MORE.

    Crank, the hero of the story, is awesome. He’s a talented bad boy musician with a rocky past and a complicated family life (let’s be honest, who doesn’t love that?!?!). But he and Julia just go so well together, even with their outward differences you can't help but hope they work it out. It helps that he’s also hella hot. He's my book boyfriend of the week...love him!

    Julia is smart Harvard student, but wounded. She's closed herself off from everything and everyone, just going through the motions, trying to fulfill expectations and angry about her past. She’s been betrayed by those she trusted in horrible ways. Her family life is a nightmare, and her mother makes me feel, even in my bad moments, as if I’m mother of the freakin’ year. Julia meets Crank and he changes her whole world, helps her out of her self-imposed exile, and helps her to be who she truly wants to be.

    All in all, this is an excellent book. It's emotional and captivating and just sticks with you well after you have finished it. I became very invested in the characters and their stories; it’s just so rich and deep and takes you places that you wouldn’t have expected when you started. I highly recommend this book, it’s a 5 star read for me!

    I'm really pleased to know that this author is going to write stories for all the Thompson sisters. BRING IT!!!

    Review provided by Sara at Crystal's Many Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Enjoyable

    Such a great storyline

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    I just finished this book yesterday, it was given to me by a fri

    I just finished this book yesterday, it was given to me by a friend and it came highly recommended and I am SO glad she gave it to me because it was absolutely amazing!

    I mean, on the surface it appears to be a typical overprivileged girl meets boy from the wrong side of the tracks and they fall in love but it's so much more complex and beautiful a story than that.  I love that it is told from both of the main characters perspective and still flows perfectly.  I LOVE the underlying messages about family and having people you can count on, who you can trust.  It was really just such a beautifully written story.  

    The chemistry between Crank & Julia, each of them has their own distinct personality and Julia is such a STRONG character which is nice to see, yet of course she doesn't see her own strength.  I would highly recommend this book - I can't wait to read the other Thompson sisters books now that I know what kind of talent this author has.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2013

    I know it took me a while to post this review but with my exams

    I know it took me a while to post this review but with my exams and everything I really didn't have time. I want to apologize to the author and AToMR blog tours who gave me the copy of this book. It won't happen again - I hope so.




       So I haven't read the first published book in this series Just Remember to Breathe so I honestly didn't know what to expect. Glass told me that the books were really interesting and that I should give them a try and so I did. This is a story about Julia a not so typical girl because her father is a really important person in world so she must keep an image. It's not an easy thing to do when you're basically left alone in foreign country and when your family cares more about their status than you. Of course things didn't go as expected and that brought a lot of trauma into Julia's life. Now she is tired of being somebody that she is not and decides to take her life back into her hands. At the other side we have Crank a guy who also have a lot on his back but he has something to pull him thought - his music. Now they only need to learn how to be in control again.




       The biggest thing that surprised me was the fact that this book is written by a man - no offense because I mean this as a compliment  It's just the female character is so strong and nicely written that it's really a big surprise for me. I enjoyed this story and I can't wait to read Just Remember to Breathe which I've already gotten from the AToMR. Thanks for trusting in  me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    I have tried to write this review in four different ways but rea

    I have tried to write this review in four different ways but realised that when a book affects you as profoundly as ‘A Song for Julia’ affected me that maybe it’s better to go with your heart!
    Charles Sheehan-Miles writes a beautiful and at times heartbreaking love story about two people, Julia and Crank, who fate is pushing together, despite the fact that they are on opposite ends of the society scale. Julia and Crank both bring personal issues to the relationship though, particularly Julia, which prevents her from committing and Charles Sheehan-Miles deals with subjects such as teenage pregnancy, suicide, adultery and rape with a brutal honesty but understanding and sensitivity.
    However, as a mum of a boy with moderate learning difficulties and autistic traits I found the author’s inclusion of Sean’s character the most emotional. Charles Sheehan-Miles shows that people with learning difficulties are not stupid, only misunderstood, and that their behaviour impacts upon the whole family. The conversation when Sean is saying how he wishes for a friend is one I have had many times with my son. The level of the author’s perception into the situation was overwhelming, and there are a few times I just had to hug my children.
    ‘A Song for Julia’ is so much more than an NA romance and the reader should be prepared to engage with all the characters Charles Sheehan-Miles presents to us. If you are anything like me you may cry, shout or even gasp, but I assure you that you will adore this story, and it will leave you wanting more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I don't really feel like any review I give this book will do its

    I don't really feel like any review I give this book will do its depths and deep story any justice. It's a book you must read for yourself, feel for yourself, and come to terms with yourself. Things unfold perfectly in this traumatic and unforgettable tale. The author does a remarkable and beautiful job unveiling the darkest of secrets and pasts, slowly and hooking the reader in until the very end. Filled with complex characters and so much more, it's a book that should not be missed.
    In the beginning Crank's name bothered me, then I found out his birth name and I was all, hello Crank. From their first meeting Julia mesmerizes 'one-night-stand' Crank, their crazy relationship builds and the secrets she harbors are let loose. He becomes attached to her, but she makes it very clear that she can't commit to anything. Crank's brother Sean is one of those characters I will never forget. His entire family really. Julia's family I'm still on the fence about, I don't hate them (her parents really) as much as I originally did, but I still don't like them. A lot, and I mean a lot, happens between not only Crank and Julia but every character in this book; it's hard to put the book down amidst so much being revealed and discovered. It really is an incredible read that will have any reader frustrated and anxious to get all the facts out on the table.
    The raw emotion that drips from Charles' words is intense and frightening. To feel that much pain and hurt from the pages of a book is hard to forget. But, there's also some very beautiful moments and I love Crank and his crazy self. This book made me stand back and breathe between parts. One word to describe this book would be shocking. A Song for Julia is not an easy read, not a light read, and not a fast read; but it is an incredible read that will be forever imprinted in me. A huge part of this book is music, and I LOVE music, center a love story around anything lyrical and I'm sold.
    I was expecting a good read but I wasn't expecting to love it as much as I did, definitely a favorite and I can't wait to go back and revisit these characters. The synopsis is one of those that barely touches on the story, when you're reading it for yourself so much more comes to light. Way to go Charles Sheehan-Miles, I am now a stalker and follower and plan to check out more of your work! I will next be checking out Just Remember to Breathe, a book about Julia's sister Alex!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I received a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest re

    I received a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. Crank Wilson has a bad history. He left home at sixteen, living on the streets, dropping out of high school. He has a volatile relationship with his father, a Boston police officer, and doesn’t speak to his mother. The only person he cares about is his little brother Sean.

    Julia Thompson has it all, beauty, brains and a love of music. She also has a damaged past, secrets she has told no one and no desire to allow anyone into her heart. Will she ever open up to find closure?

    This was a great story of love and forgiveness. I really loved how realistic this romance novel was. The characters are people you can easily connect with. Julia and Crank had this instant attraction, she wanted no commitment and he wanted the opposite. I spent a lot of time yelling back at Julia’s mother, there were moments that just completely broke my heart. Although this was a love story, they both had to overcome emotional obstacles and there were many tearful moments. Be sure to have some Kleenex ready for this beautifully written romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Loved it

    Great story, well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2013

    A Song for Julia is a story of Crank and Julia, who both seem to

    A Song for Julia is a story of Crank and Julia, who both seem to be sort of drifting. It, for me, spoke of meeting the right person at the right time, and moving beyond the past into a better future together.

    A Song for Julia takes place late 2002, when it seems clear that the US is headed to war with Iraq. Julia and Crank meet at an anti-war concert/protest in Washington, DC, where his band is performing and she is organizing the event. I found the time setting to be great, as this is a troubled time in recent history. The politics of war doesn't play a big part of the day-to-day story, but it does give a bit of impact later, as Julia's father is a diplomat and Crank's is a Reserve.

    Both living in Boston, Crank and Julia, form an instant connection, and spend the day together with no intention of ever seeing each other again after they return home. But forunately for us, life has other plans for Crank and Julia, and they soon become friends. Kind of. Crank, against his usual MO, wants more with Julia. But Julia is still battling her past, and refuses to get close to Crank. As they spend more time together, though, Julia and Crank's feeling grow stronger, but will Julia be able to take the leap?

    I found Julia and Crank to both be likeable characters. Crank is portrayed as a bad-boy ladies man, but he's not abrasive at all. Initially it seems that he and his father have major issues, but I didn't see that at all. That got along much better than a lot of father-and-sons that I've read or known. He basically seems to have things together, but just needs his band to catch a break.

    Julia is clearly the more troubled in this relationship. She's lived a luxurious life, traveling the world with her family, but like a lot of priviledged teens, she was lacking the parental support she so needed. I don't want to give too much of Julia's story away, but I really love that the author wrote about girls in her position. It is very important to stress the issue of older, more mature guys and younger girls. I don't think there are enough stories that talk about this. Given Julia's emotional barriers, it would have been very easy for her character to be abrasive or unlikeable. I've read a lot of books lately that have troubled heroines, but they're written to be so hateful that I found it hard to sympathize. The author did an excellent job of presenting her in a way that made Julia endearing.

    I really liked A Song for Julia. I never felt overwhelmed with emotion, or that the love was this all-consuming passionate romance. I did not realize until after I'd read the book that it is a companion to Just Remember to Breathe, in the Thompson Sister's series. Book one is about younger sister Alexandra, and I will definitely read that in the near (ish) future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Great read

    It was a really good book!! I'll definitely read more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Sometimes you expect to find a ten dollar note in your wallet bu

    Sometimes you expect to find a ten dollar note in your wallet but you retrieve a fifty. This is how I'd describe A SONG FOR JULIA. Finding a ten dollar note is fine, but when you realise you have fifty to spend, a little spark fires up inside and you have a grin on your face that whole day.

    Let me start the review by saying Charles Sheehan-Miles can WRITE! My, my. His words are perfectly crafted into sentences that deliver blow after blow of poetic, deep connection to your emotions. Which become paragraph after paragraph of writing so easy to read yet so full of meaning you wonder how it's all packed into one story.

    My favourite stories are those that have a few aspects perfectly written--characters, plot and theme.

    The leading characters, both alternating narrators, Julia and Crank were mostly loveable (Julia only more loveable towards the end when I really got her), they have faults, and issues which stop them from doing the things us objective readers know they should just do, but they're always strong and the types of people you come to love for everything they are perfect and everything they aren't. I think I love them more knowing I got frustrated with them, because watching them make bad choices and struggle and come out on top made me appreciate them more. I appreciate being able to read such characters I could connect with on many levels.

    But main characters aside, many readers found this, and I wasn't immune: Julia and Crank's little brother, Sean. Ahhhhh.

    I may love them almost better than I love Julia and Crank as a couple. Julia is a normal girl by many standards, but she's broken on the inside by a past we'd never want happen to us. Sean? He's seen as different on the outside because of his autism. Though they are opposites in this way, they share a commonality: feeling alone, not fitting in. I really am not doing justice to their dynamic. I'll leave it to say that A SONG FOR JULIA was "that bit" better for me because of how much deeper Charles went in creating loveable supporting characters. I touched on loving Sean's character, but Crank's mom and dad, and his band member, Serena ... so many more who enriched the story with their impacts.

    And on to Crank and Julia. I love a couple who you can tell (without so many words from the author saying so) that they need to be together and giving up easily by breaking up won't work. It's so intense while you're reading, watching their relationship build (not to mention how much of the real world you miss increasingly).

    Julia got on my nerves and when I finally "got" her, I felt rude. That girl has got to be one of the strongest female leads. Pretty uncommon. I am thrilled to have experienced such a great read. Crank's family troubles, which tie him and Julia together, forcing them into yummy situations, only got more and more intense.

    A SONG FOR JULIA is incredible. I received an eBook review copy but had to buy the paperback since this novel went to my Best Everrr shelf. I'd give it more than 5 stars if I could.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2