Customer Reviews for

A Spear of Summer Grass

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    I enjoyed A Spear of Summer Grass immensely. The author did a f

    I enjoyed A Spear of Summer Grass immensely. The author did a fantastic job of capturing 1920's Africa allowing readers to immerse themselves in the period. The main characters Delilah Drummond and Ryder White have superb chemistry, and every scene with them sparkles. Supporting characters are well written and add depth to the plot. This novel was full of adventure, fascinating characters, romance, and a little mystery.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    All I can is WOW!

    The Lady Julia novels are great. This book is super great! I felt I was there in AFRICA with Delilah. WOW,WOW ,WOW!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2013

    Highly Recommended. Deanna Raybourn has long been my favorite a

    Highly Recommended.

    Deanna Raybourn has long been my favorite author, but that was because of her work on the Victorian-set Lady Julia series. A Spear of Summer Grass is a departure for Raybourn, set in the wilds of 1920s East Africa.

    The not-always likable heroine, Delilah Drummond, is a vain and jaded young woman, who is exiled to Africa after scandalizing European society one time too many. Delilah arrives in couture-worthy white suede shoes, which are promptly spattered in human blood. Africa is a wild place, where fate can turn on a dime, but we quickly learn that Delilah boasts more mettle than the frivolous character she initially seems to portray.

    Fans of Downtown Abbey who are familiar with this era will be shocked at the behavior of the British colonialists who indulge in all manner of sin: drugs, adultery, fraud, even murder. Delilah is quickly swept up into this world, connecting with old friends and meeting mysterious new neighbors, including the ruggedly attractive Ryder White.

    A Spear of Summer Grass is an epic, romantic adventure that will transport you to the breathtaking and devastating wilds of East Africa -- from safari hunts in the African bush to the villages of the Masai tribes. The book is a page-turning adventure from start to finish, and, like me, you will not be able to put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2013

    Simply Stunning!

    You know the saying, “You can’t judge a book by its cover”? Even in this case, it is true. A SPEAR OF SUMMER GRASS contains every bit the exoticism, beauty, and romance evoked in the picture above AND MORE. The beautifully composed story inside is breathtaking -- beyond anything an artist could capture on canvas. Filled with decadence, danger, passion, and heartbreak, it is the tale of a glamorous and damaged woman’s journey of self discovery.

    As the summary suggests, the notorious Delilah Drummond is not your typical heroine. In fact, when we first meet the thrice wed, sleek, sexy, make no apologies flapper, her conduct seems anything BUT befitting a protagonist. Delilah’s latest scandal has resulted in the threat of legal action and, desperate to avoid unwanted attention from the press and her grandfather’s snip of the purse strings, it is decided that Delilah’s best bet is to lay low for awhile… in Africa.

    Delilah sets off for her former step-father’s estate in Kenya with her cousin, and dutiful chaperone, Dora in tow. A study in contrasts, Dora is as dull as Delilah is dynamic, and some of the wittiest moments in this novel occur at the expense of poor old “Dodo”. But like the yin and yang, there is balance in the contrast between the cousins; they are two opposites that co-exist in harmony (for the most part) and it is through Delilah’s interactions with Dora that we catch our first glimpse of what lies beneath Delilah’s powdered and painted party girl veneer.

    Delilah and Dora are as different as night and day, but our headstrong heroine and our hero, J. Ryder White, are very similar indeed. Just like Delilah, Ryder has a commanding yet easy presence, and sex appeal that nearly lights the pages on fire. He is as mysterious as he is skilled at navigating the harsh and beautiful land of Africa. And to the surprise of the “Princess” who ‘… collected [handsome men’s smiles] like other women collected air to breathe.’(141), Delilah quickly discovers that she has met her match in the game of seduction.

    As she adjusts to her temporary life in exile, Delilah finds that Africa holds many more surprises. With old acquaintances settled nearby, the creature comforts of Paris -- champagne, gossip, and dalliance -- are still very much within her grasp. But as she is thrust into a role of responsibility, forming alliances with Ryder and people of neighboring tribes, Delilah can no longer ignore the pull of Africa and the things that truly matter.

    One of the strongest characters in this novel is Africa itself; the harsh, relentless beauty of the land and its creatures, the diversity and strength of its people. In a beautifully poetic way, Deanna Raybourn paints a vibrant picture of Africa as grand and breathtaking as a Thomas Cole landscape: “The sun was dipping low to the ground, brushing the last of its warm rays over the shimmering surface, and turning the waters to molten gold. A flock of flamingos rose suddenly, flashing their gaudy feathers in a pink farewell as they departed. Across the lake a hippopotamus wore a crown of water lilies draped drunkenly over one eye and munched contentedly as a light breeze ruffled the lake water. I took a deep breath and saw, for just an instant, the Africa I had thought to find. Then, in a violent burst of crimson and gold, the sun shimmered hotly on the lake and was gone, sinking below the horizon, leaving only purple-blue shadows lengthening behind.”(80)

    There are so many things I love

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    Delilah Drummond is banished by her family from polite (and not

    Delilah Drummond is banished by her family from polite (and not so polite) society in Paris to rusticate at Fairlight, her uncle's plantation, near Mombasa. Near is a relative term depending on the coming of the long rains when the roads are barely passable.

    Fairlight might have been called an operating plantation if the irrigation system operated properly. As it is, Delilah and her cousin, Dora, are immersed in a mystery which is, at first, barely perceptible. She encounters a hunter and guide who hates guiding and seems to have bagged most of the women in the area. A challenge? Perhaps.

    Delilah carries her own ghosts who reach from the past and seek to capture her future. She is changed by the people and the experiences she encounters. She is, however, an excellent shot.

    I could not put this book down: Received it on Friday evening and finished it on Sunday afternoon. Deanna Raybourn just gets better and better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    Wonderful book! If you've read any of Deanna's other books, you

    Wonderful book! If you've read any of Deanna's other books, you will certainly enjoy this one. If not, settle in for an atmospheric adventure into Africa. I enjoyed the characters, the location and the chance to peak into the very interesting time period and social lifestyles of the 1920’s. Don’t miss her introduction novella “Far in the Wilds” for a sneak peek into some of the characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    Loved it! The lush surroundings of colonial Kenya in the 20s wer

    Loved it! The lush surroundings of colonial Kenya in the 20s were so well captured by Raybourn. Just a wonderful look back to a time and place that I haven't read much about. Delilah Drummond is a multi-faceted sparkling creature who tears through life (and men) without a care. But Africa and Ryder White make her prove her mettle. Really, really enjoyable. I love Raybourn's Lady Julia & Brisbane books, but this wonderful departure shows she has the talent to push beyond what we expect. Five stars for sure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    Amazing

    I devoured this book in one afternoon. It is one of those literary diamonds that you only stumble upon once or twice. There are so many things to like about this novel!!! A touch between Great Gatsby and Gone with the Wind. Loved Delilah, Africa, Ryder...suberb writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2014

    Highly recommmend

    This book had me right away. I like the time period and setting of the story. I enjoyed it very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    Loved the settung and time period.

    This book sure kept my attention. Very interesting characters. All types of people are represented. Another good historical fiction is "The Partisan" by William Jarvis. Both books deserve A+++++++

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    By: Deanna Raybourn Published By: Harlequin MIRA Age Recommended

    By: Deanna Raybourn
    Published By: Harlequin MIRA
    Age Recommended: Adult
    Reviewed By: Arlena Dean
    Rating: 5
    Book Blog For: GMTA
    Series: A Spear of Summer Grass #1
    Review:

    "A Spear of Summer Grass" by Deanna Raybourn was a good read of how this 'wild one' was banished to Africa by her family. Delilah Drummond was only thirty. Twice widowed and divorced once...and because of what had happened to her latest husband's death her month being so upset with her exiles her to Kenya...'until the furor dies down.' That and with Delilah possibly losing her allowance from her 'wealthy American Grandfather, off she goes to Kenya. When arriving at her stepfather's farm in Kenya the pay is in decay.. the farm doesn't even have a manager. What will happen now? This will be where I say you must pick up "A Spear of Summer Grass" as Delilah will fall in with this group of people and Ryder White. Will Delilah love this land of Africa and its people? I did enjoy this read and her descriptions of "A Spear of Summer Grace was simply amazing. You will find from the read that when a murder occurs "among the British group will Delilah be able to choose who and what is really important to her?" You will find this read a real page turner that will keep you interested until the very end. In the beginning you will find Delilah somewhat very spoiled and selfish but you will notice as you keep reading you will definitely see that her stay in Africa will 'slowly break down her barriers.' Would I recommend this read? YES!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Join faithclan a

    Tropical all results

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    Move camp

    Spme cats are locked out of first three results

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    Excellent

    Enjoyed learning more about Africa

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    I want to join

    My name is aquafur im a blueish looking tom

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    I absolutely loved this book and it was one of those books you d

    I absolutely loved this book and it was one of those books you don't want to end or hope there will be a part two.  
    The descriptions of Africa were beautiful and truly brought you there.  I loved the main character and the era. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Reminds me of Izak Dinesen

    [I recieved a copy of this book as a giveaway through Goodreads and Harliquin/Mira. This did not influence the scope of this review in any way. All views expressed are wholly my own]

    Delilah Drummond is in trouble...again. Her third husband is found dead in bed and although she had nothing to do with it, she is banished from society "till the scandal dies down". She accepts this and head to Colonial Africa to stay at her step father's plantation in Kenya.

    She may have been widowed twice, and divorced once, but she finds that Africa is a harsh lover. The opportunities and tradegies she encounters, along with a collection of ex-pats and the local tribesmen, force this dilletante to grow up and grow wise as she moves from HAVING to be there to WANTING to be there whether or not the dashing Ryder White is there.

    Despite "discussions" about some contemporary ideas about women, that sound more like lectures from radical feminism, this book is great. Never thought of Africa as a character in a novel before, but Rayburn does it justice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    PG 13. Tickling the line of rated R; but hasn't quite crossed ov

    PG 13. Tickling the line of rated R; but hasn't quite crossed over.




    Firstly, I'll be frank: I didn't want to read this. Nothing in it interested me. Not Africa, not the 20's, certainly not hunting. This book just isn't something I'd naturally want to read.




    Buuut, I felt I wouldn't be a true "fan" of DR's if I didn't. So, like a fourteen year old bemoaning her science homework with a "do I have to...?" I began with Far in the Wilds (the prequel novella). I gobbled it up and DIED having to wait for A Spear of Summer Grass to be released.




    Beautiful. This is her best work yet. The writing itself is beautiful, her prose is a work of art, just as lovely as a Monet. There were lines and full descriptions I went back over to read for the shear enjoyment of it; like chocolate on the tongue, swished around for all the taste buds to get their share, to savor it.




    The characters are clear, familiar, and believable individuals. The heroine is entertaining, like the crazy friend you love to watch from the sidelines. You love her because she's nuts but knows how to make it work, and because she has a heart. She is everything wrong with the world but you love her because she's everything the world needs more of. The dichotomy of Delilah Drummond is quite tangible.




    The rest of the characters are of the same caliber. You will feel as strongly for damn near the rest of them as you do Delilah.




    The setting in Africa is so well done, touching all senses: to taste, hear, smell, touch Africa felt more like a foggy memory than just a picture painted in your head. 




    Well done, Mrs. Raybourn




    A Heads Up: There is hunting in this. I had to graze over those parts, but it wasn't like it was 'in your face' and I am SUPER sensitive to that kind of stuff- can't handle it. But even I couldn't be put off by it. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Leopardstar to all the boy cats

    If you need a mate then goto blue clan result 11 and say you need a mate. I will answer back.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Dawnblaze

    He pads out with sweetpaw.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2