Customer Reviews for

A Special Summer

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Summer is truly special!

    I read this book in one day. Once I picked it up and started reading, I just couldn¿t put it down. Summer and Nick¿s story will have you feeling a range of many different emotions. One minute I was as happy as Summer, the next I was screaming at her to leave and the next I was ready to strangle Nick. <BR/><BR/>Summer falls head over heels in love with Nick, but Nick had a few rules when it comes to love. Don¿t cross him and don¿t get pregnant. Before Summer could even think about doing either, Nick announces that he no longer wants to be in a relationship with her and leaves town. Heartbroken and alone, Summer finds herself breaking rules in the name of love and fear. Nick is dealing with a past full of hurt, disappointments and betrayal and it shows. He returns to find Summer, the woman that he believed to be different than the rest had hurt, disappointed, and betrayed him just like the others. Before he gives her time to explain her actions he lashes out and tries to make her feel the same pain that he¿s feeling. His actions are downright mean and they make Summer fear him even more. Nick takes Summer through many trials and tribulations, but as she goes through them, he goes through some of his own; the battle of love and hate. Fate throws the two together and Nick and Summer have to deal with their feelings and make some serious decisions about their relationship. <BR/><BR/>Victoria Wells does a great job of telling a story that not only sucks you in, but keeps you until the last page and leaves you wanting more (in a good way). You feel as if you are in the book with the characters feeling the same emotions that they are feeling. I felt Summer¿s love and fear of Nick. I also felt Nick¿s pain. The storyline deals with real relationship issues that many people face every day. I¿m looking forward to more novels from this talented author. <BR/> <BR/>Job well done!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    highly recommend

    Very good read. It will hold your attention also recommend other love conquers all series

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Great read!!!!!

    This was the 1st Ive read from this author. I loved it! I look forward to exploring more..

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Best of the best

    I read this one only after reading Starr's story first and had to go back and read Summer's story. Very glad I did. This was fantastic. I recommend you read the whole series. Great writing

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    I really wanted to punch Nick a few times and tell Summer to get

    I really wanted to punch Nick a few times and tell Summer to get a backbone, but in the end I liked how to story played out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2012

    A masterpiece!

    Reading other books by this author made me fall in love with her, but this one right here! WOW! These characters hold you hostage before you know what is happening. Nick, Nick, Nick- real- a 100% real. Reading the other books always cast a feeling of wondering what really went down between Summer and Nick- questions answered and I enjoyed every minute of it. I always say that a good book with make you think and cast light into your own personal situations. This authors works constantly make me want to snuggle up beside my husband and stand tall to embrace any problems we may have. Good work!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    Outstanding!

    This is truly a wonderful read. The story line is well developed and readers cannot help feeling drawn to Summer as she fights the love of her life to maintain all that is dear to her. I am truly glad that I discovered this author, as she is a new favorite of mine.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2011

    Loved this book!

    One sign that an author has written a good story is that you become emotionally attached to the characters. Victoria Wells hit this one out of the park. I was so into Nick and Summer's story that I had to put this book down. Nick got so far under my skin that I actually thought, please do not ever let a man treat one of my daughters like he treats Summer. As for Summer, I wanted to shake her. She put up with way too much in the name of love! As Ms. Wells developed the story and we learned more about their backgrounds, it became easier to understand why they did the things they did. I couldn't put the book down for long as I needed to know what happened. Love can and does heal if we open our hearts. Summer's love chipped away at Nick's hard shell and showed him what true love is all about. The friendships detailed in this book were great. Kevin loved Nick but wasn't afraid to tell him when he was wrong. Starr and Ava are girl friends we should all have. Loved this book!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Story!!!

    I loved this book so much Nick and Summer story is a full story , You will cry, you will laugh and root for the couple to work it out. The first part of this story I cried so hard for Summer and hated Nick But he did redeem himself .I found that this is a realistic love story that leaves you waiting on the next book because you enjoyed the writing on this story so much.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2008

    LOVED IT!!

    I really enjoyed reading A Special Summer. It was a wonderful read for me and to me, one I will re-read again and again. I actually didn't want the book to end. I laughed, cried, and sympathized with both Nick and Summer. The story dealt with today's realistic situations between couples and although there were many bumps they finally got it right and began to live happily.... I look forward to reading other books by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2007

    A wonderful love story

    This book was wonderful, and it was definitely a page turner, this book was so well written I wanted to cheat because it was so good I could not wait to find out what would happen next. This book is the perfect love story. Please read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2007

    Fantastic!!

    I loved this book!!! The characters are so real. From the first page til the last, it's the kind of book that can't be put down. I passed it on to my mother(83 y.o.) who passed it to my 25 y.o. daughter and they both agreed that this book is timeless relating to age-old problems between men and women, child and parent, friendship, betrayal, miscommunication...and of course love. The characters are intriguing and lovable...and I only hope that the next book comes out soon. I already feel as though they are my friends. You'll love this book...laugh, cry, and scream...and you won't be able to put it down. Enjoy!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2007

    An insightful,exciting story

    From the first page to the last, this was dynamite!!!I fell in love with the characters. My 83 y.o mother loved it,too! So I passed it on to my 25 y.o. daughter who found the realistic dialogue and the timeless subject of love,passion, and friendship spellbinding. From cover-to- cover, this is one for women and men of all ages. I hope the author is writing another book. This was not just 'A Special Summer', it's a special book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2007

    Exciting !!!

    A Special Summer was a wonderful love story with excitement in every chapter. I could not put this book down. The characters were well defined. I can't wait for Victoria's next book Starr's story to come out. Congrads for a well written book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2006

    A special Summer

    This book was great from the start! This new author has a nack for telling a good story that keeps you hooked till the end!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2006

    A Very Satisfied Reader

    This novel in my estimation is very well organized,the story was very captivating I could hardly put the book down. it was like watching a very good action film it had me at the edge of my seat wanting to see what happened next. I would recommend this book to anyone who would like to read a very good love story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2006

    Could not put this book down!

    Very entertaining and well written. I felt like I could really get in to the story line. I was right there with the characters hanging on every word.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2006

    5 Stars..a Great story line

    I enjoyed the story line. Excellent flow with vivid charaters and plenty of drama

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2006

    Great Work of fiction

    This book keeps you wanting for more a quick read and fantastic story line

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2006

    This book is the bomb!

    I am an advent book reader and I have to tell you that if a book doesnt catch me in the first few pages i loose interest, but i must say that from page one this book captures your attention, its a real page turner, this book is so full of passion, emotion and has everyday issues that anyone can relate to. 'A Special Summer' is a hit, the authors words jumps off of the pages and into your imagination. I would recommend this book to anyone. If you need a great book this is it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2