Customer Reviews for

A Spell Cast Volume One

Average Rating 3.5
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Pretty good story

I enjoyed the story a lot and felt that it was a good read. Overall the Pros:
The story was well written
The descriptions were beautiful and i could imagine everything
The love story and mystery were well thought out.
It was 500+ pages!!
The Cons:
I disliked the main c...
I enjoyed the story a lot and felt that it was a good read. Overall the Pros:
The story was well written
The descriptions were beautiful and i could imagine everything
The love story and mystery were well thought out.
It was 500+ pages!!
The Cons:
I disliked the main character. She just drags Tristan and Oliver around like puppets and fool them both into thinking they were the one. She said that she loved both of them but i found it insulting how she could date them both at once.
The story was slightly confusing at times and i skimmed some passages because i was not interested at times.
The characters are 18 yet they act a lot older than their age! If you want to write about teenagers at least make the dialogue somewhat realistic.
While i liked the story i feel no pressing need to read further in the series. It was a good book but it was not captivating.
The author claims the 2 and 3 volume are free but they aren't even for sale! I only see the last book of the series for sale. The author should take off that comment because it is obviously not true.
Overall i enjoyed this free romance mystery novel and reccomend it to anyone looking for a sweet romance and mystery novel. The book was well written bur it gets confusing at times. It exceeded my expectations for a free book.

posted by Fairystar104 on March 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

?.....

She is a slut.......end of story

posted by Anonymous on May 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    amateur writing style

    Reads like a diary or newspaper article rather than a novel. Narrative is built as play-by-play directives instead of building descriptors. Characters are shallow and not believable. Dialogue lacks any common vernacular and does not compliment the characters. The plot is just not intriguing enough to carry through these serious writing flaws. Had to quit reading 65% the way through.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    ?.....

    She is a slut.......end of story

    4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    Awful

    This story was awful. I read a lot of indie books so its not like I have overly high expectations but the writing and grammer were just awful and torterous? I made it through about 30 pages before I just couldn't take it anymore. It was awful. Sorry to be so harsh but its true. I wouldn't read it if you paid me to.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Whaaaaa......?

    Im so confused. How,why do they let her " love" them both? Plz someone tell me because it makes no sense to me. This is stupid and just not right. I would have broken up with her if she said that she loved me AND someone else ( no homo) . Isnt that what anybody in thier RIGHT mind would do? I may be going overboard with this but..... It just doesnt make sense to me. It shouldnt make sense to ANYBODY! You know what never mind. Im just going to let it go. Its just down right DUMB!!! Ok Im finished now. This message was approved by Larri Jackson( me).

    3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    ERRORS!!!- plz eeply ERRORS -plz reply to Kat

    Uhm i dont wanna be mean, but did thw author go to school?! There is SOOOO MANY grammatical errors its hard o read!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Badly written

    My reasons that this book suck. 1. Run on sentences. 2. The author says the same words over again. 3. IT WAS SO BOARING!!!!!! I couldn't make i to the end of the book. I have so much more, but i dont want to bore yall with my reasons

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    I think the story has potential, if someone else writing it. Gr

    I think the story has potential, if someone else writing it. Grammar and punctuation were awful, and if I have to read a description of a guy's face as "lovely" one more time I'm going to accidentally throw something. I have NO idea how this book ended up with 4 stars. I started the next one hoping the writing improved, but no such luck. At least the first three books were free; if I actually paid for them I'd be livid right now.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    Replying to Kat

    TOTALY!!!

    #authorneedsschool

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    Is it really worth it?

    I it worth buying? I mean getting cause its free ;)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    Zzzzzzz

    Not the book for me.I made it to page 250 & decided to delete it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Not a fan.

    I thought that this would be a good read and it was a let down. I'm now reading the 2ns book just because I hate starting a series and not finishing it, But I must say that I'm fighting myself to read it. It is a very slow moving book and the feelings in it are wishy washy to say the least. Not a fan would suggest finding a different book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Dont know

    I dont know whats going on, i havent started.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    Potential storyline, terrible writing quality

    I went into this book expecting a sort of easy-to-read teen novel. What I got was a lacking storyline about a bratty teenager and such poor quality writing and grammar (everything from forgotten end-quotes to run on, non-parallel sentences) that it hurt to read. Though the plot has potential, I would not recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1