Customer Reviews for

A Spoonful of Murder (Soup Lover's Mystery Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I like this book. The writing was comfortable as was the tone o

I like this book. The writing was comfortable as was the tone of this
endearing drama. The mystery was good and every time I thought I knew
the identity of the killer, the author changed directions and caught me
by surprise when the killer was revealed. Lucky is a grea...
I like this book. The writing was comfortable as was the tone of this
endearing drama. The mystery was good and every time I thought I knew
the identity of the killer, the author changed directions and caught me
by surprise when the killer was revealed. Lucky is a great character who
is surrounded by a wonderful supporting cast which includes her
grandfather Jack, a friendly doctor and patrons who dine at her soup
shop. This is a terrific read and I hope we get to see more of Lucky and
her friends for a long time in this charmingly enjoyable debut with a
bonus of delectable recipes.

posted by DAinNY1 on August 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A

I haven't finished this book yet, but I am enjoying it so far. I do believe Ms. Archer uses naes too repetitivly throughout and I find that a bit annoying. *spoiler* Also, I don't understand how you would be involved with solving a murder, get yourself pushed down a set...
I haven't finished this book yet, but I am enjoying it so far. I do believe Ms. Archer uses naes too repetitivly throughout and I find that a bit annoying. *spoiler* Also, I don't understand how you would be involved with solving a murder, get yourself pushed down a set of stairs and be knocked out while someone is tossing the house and you don't report the event to the police. Just clean the mess and move on? Does that make sense? Well maybe it will all be clear in the end...but if you want to clear the falsely imprisoned I'd think that would go a long way to clear him.

posted by Anonymous on July 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 3, 2012

    Loved it. Great story plus recipes. Loved the characters. More &

    Loved it. Great story plus recipes. Loved the characters. More "soup" please!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Refreshing

    A pleasant read. Very good character development. Charactrrs become like your own family and friends

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2012

    A MUST READ!!!

    Lucky Jamieson left everything behind to move back to Snowflake Vermont. Since the death of her parents she inherited the family business, By the Spoonful, a Soup Shop in the busiest tourist season of the year. With a lot on her plate she takes the responsiblity of running the shop with the helpof her grandfather Jack and her chef Sage. But did she take on more than she could handle ? When a tourist is found dead behind the shop, business is no longer heating up. Sage is taken into custody for he murder and business is next to nothing.

    Lucky is convinced that Sage isnt the Killer and sets out to find clues that will prove his innocence and hopfully not get her killed in the process.


    This was such a wonderful read, Connie keeps you on the egde wanting to know what will happen next!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Fun little book

    I love the knitting murder mysteries but I love to cook too so it was a natural to be intrigued by the soup lover's series. I thought it was very fun, and a light read. I like the characters and thought the writing was good so I bought the second one too - which I also enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    A very enjoyable 1st in the series. Looking forward to the next

    A very enjoyable 1st in the series. Looking forward to the next in the book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2015

    I really like Lucky! I know she is a snoop and doesn't give the

    I really like Lucky! I know she is a snoop and doesn't give the police much time to find the real killer before she sticks her nose in things. But I like the real emotions she displays. And I like how she interacts with Jack. The story had me guessing a lot, so I had to hurry and finish it so I could see who had done the deed. I could sure use a bowl of soup about now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2014

    A Spoonful of Murder brought me back to cozies.  I had forgotten

    A Spoonful of Murder brought me back to cozies.  I had forgotten what it felt like to lose yourself in a cozy – but maybe a little scary and dangerous – story.  A Spoonful of Murder brought that back to me.


    When we meet Lucky, she is talking to her mom, reassuring her, telling her not to worry, that she will take care of things.  Then we learn that Lucky is back home because her parents have died in a car crash.  She has inherited the family business, the By the Spoonful soup shop, and she’s come home to run it.  Her grandfather, Jack, is there and assures her he can handle things, but she’s worried about him. He seems a little forgetful and confused.  Is it Alzheimer’s?


    I liked Lucky from the start and wanted to learn how she would fare in Snowflake.  She wasn’t estranged from her parents at the time of their death, but she hadn’t been around much.  She was “off in the big city” somewhere trying to find her way, to be a success on her own.  She is overwhelmed with guilt about all the things she wishes she had done but now won’t have the chance.  She is trying to step up and do what needs to be done.  She is sincere and determined – and just plain nice.  So when she found that dead body my heart went out to her.  Sure, sometimes she seems a little naïve and immature, but I’ve just met her and I already want to get to know her better.  After all, how many “real” people do we meet that we need to learn a little more about before we really make up our minds?

    Jack is feisty and cantankerous but lovable. He looks out for Lucky as much as she looks out for him – they are family.

    Snowflake and the cast of supporting characters just kind of sneak up on you.  When you’re in the soup shop you forget the outside world exists, but when you rediscover it, it’s beautiful.  And the people in the soup shop and Snowflake?  We learn a little more about them as we go along.  Very interesting cast of characters.  Some nice, some not so much.  Interesting to watch Lucky interact with them.

    Elias, though, not quite sure about him yet.  Her feelings for him seem like a schoolgirl crush, which makes him seem old and rather stuffy.  However, he does seem to have some feelings for her so I want to read more to see if this goes anywhere.  And if he’s really that old!

    The soup is an added bonus – some mixings I never would have thought of.  Worth a try.

    Connie Archer has done a great job with the first in a new series – good people, good place, good food.  I’ll be visiting Snowflake again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    5 Yummy Stars

    Reviewed for Read Your Writes Book Reviews
    by Kim

    I will admit to reading the Soup Lover’s Mystery series out of order. But the cool thing is that I still had no idea how events were going to play out.

    Lucky Jamieson is at a crossroads in her life. She’s in her late twenties and has spent most, if not all of her adult life in Wisconsin, where she went to college. She has pretty much just been surviving without a career goal in mind. An only child, she has just returned to her hometown of Snowflake, Vermont after the death of her parents. Her only relative now is her grandfather, Jack. She’s left with her parents’ house and their café, By the Spoonful. She’s also left with debt from her parents being overly nice and trying to keep their beloved restaurant afloat.

    Just as Lucky is trying to figure out what she wants to do with the café (sell it or keep it), she has to deal with the discovery of a customer found dead behind the café and her chef being arrested for the murder. Business is declining and customers are NOT showing up. Lucky decides that her only course of action is to figure out who actually killed the customer and get her chef, Sage out of jail.

    With a large list of suspects, Lucky has her work cut out for her. I was completely surprised when the murderer was revealed and with the shocking end the story took. A Spoonful of Murder is a charming story full of characters you can’t help but fall in love with. For me, this book is what a true cozy mystery is all about. It’s a comfort read that just invites you to relax and get cozy.

    **Received a copy from the author in exchange for an honest unbiased review.**

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2014

    Lucky Jamieson inherited her parent's soup shop in Snowflake, Ve

    Lucky Jamieson inherited her parent's soup shop in Snowflake, Vermont, and is running it while she decides what to do with the rest of her life. Does she sell her parent's house or move into it? Along with that goes lots of other questions. However, when her soup chef finds the body of a blonde in back of the cafe, the game plan radically changes. Then when he is arrested for her murder, Lucky goes into investigative mode.

    Lucky and her friends all pull together to keep the soup shop open, and the soups sound so good, my mouth watered. Believable characters, good food, I'm planning on reading the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    I got this as a sample on my Nook and am unable to delete it - w

    I got this as a sample on my Nook and am unable to delete it - why?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1