BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Story Lately Told: Coming of Age in Ireland, London, and New York

Average Rating 3.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 17, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Anjelica Huston is one of the great actresses of her time. This

    Anjelica Huston is one of the great actresses of her time. This books tells her story ranging from her childhood in Ireland to her teen years in London to her acting career in New York. She led a very unconventional life and this book does her story justice. I was pleasantly surprised. I really enjoyed it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2014

    A good read

    I'm puzzled by reviews claiming "bad writing" ... really? I read the excerpts in Vanity Fair and was pleased. Huston tells her story from her own point of view; how could she do otherwise? Her life was filled with luminaries of that time, so why not name them? This reads the way Huston speaks...honestly and with much detail.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    It's too bad this autobiography is so poorly written. I looked f

    It's too bad this autobiography is so poorly written. I looked forward to reading it. Given how interesting her life,
     family and career were , the flat atonal descriptions
    were disappointing and left what could have been fascinating,  infuriatingly dull.  Even a hint more color, texture, insight and detail of her
    family, guests, fashion photographers she worked with and a bit of self awareness revealed could have made it a great read. 

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2013

    Well Done!

    The narrative reads like a "Vanity Fair" article, which is a compliment, not a deprecation. We are offered a peek into the artsy, intellectual and privileged life of a member of the Hollywood dynasty, the very talented Huston family, although that tinsel town remains in the background of the canvas painted here. The autobiography describes her childhood years in Ireland where she lived primarily with her mother and brother in a cozy cottage while the sprawling mansion on the Irish estate was constantly under repair and packed with art and her father's trove of acquisitions collected while he traveled the world making movies. The author comes across as self-deprecating, witty, dreamy and as delicate as a fawn. We are shown that despite all the exposure to envy inducing sophistication, the author was as vulnerable to random tragedy, mishaps, and poor choices in lovers as less intelligent and less beautiful young girls. The narrative takes us through her early years as a model and her first acting experience, where she meets some of the biggest names in fashion at the time as well as some celebrities like Mick Jagger, who must hold a record for memoir appearances. Her next volume promises to take up where the first left off, which leaves anticipation for some juicy morsels. The prose is superb so well done, Ms. Huston, well done!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    Anjelica Huston is a classic, elegant lady. Her biography "

    Anjelica Huston is a classic, elegant lady. Her biography "A Story Lately Told" is no different. The most intriguing aspect of this book are the mini-memoirs and how A. Huston wrote them. She would begin a story then finish almost when the reader is asking, "More, please." As the book carries on, it becomes evident A. Huston simply tells a story to the extent she believes the stories about her life should be told. Enchanting and hilarious. I cannot wait until the second installment!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    Anonymous

    A disappointment. What should have been an interesting read was made one dimensional by bad writing. I really hope that Angelica is not as narsistic as she comes across. I started skimming early on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Very poorly written

    This could have been an interesting autobiography, however it is so poorly written that it is not enjoyable to read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Anjelica , is a truly gifted individual who is multi Talented &a

    Anjelica , is a truly gifted individual who is multi Talented & gifted beyond comprehension!! she is a great actress & an Extraordinary director who had the ,grea good fortune to be blessed with so many gifts from her mother & father so have both of her brothers!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    A story oddly told

    215 pages of name-dropping. Her self-absorption is fascinating on some level but hardly sustains this poorly-written memoir.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1