Customer Reviews for

A Stranger In The Family (Bardville Trilogy, #1)

Average Rating 4
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommended

Patricia McLinn has come through again. The characters are well developed and reasonable. It was good to read a story where the relationship gets to unfold and grow before the characters end up in bed together. I have read several of Patricia McLinns books and have fou...
Patricia McLinn has come through again. The characters are well developed and reasonable. It was good to read a story where the relationship gets to unfold and grow before the characters end up in bed together. I have read several of Patricia McLinns books and have found them all great.

posted by Else on March 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Two words

Too long and drawn out. 500 pages filled with blah, blah, blah. Not worth 99 cents. Sorry but the author needs to try again.

posted by Shawnta on May 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    Highly recommended

    Patricia McLinn has come through again. The characters are well developed and reasonable. It was good to read a story where the relationship gets to unfold and grow before the characters end up in bed together. I have read several of Patricia McLinns books and have found them all great.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    So appreciated that the characters and their story aren't simpli

    So appreciated that the characters and their story aren't simplistic. Made me root for them and empathize with them more.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    LOVED this book!!

    This was such a great story. I highly recommend it and can't wait to read the rest in the series

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Two words

    Too long and drawn out. 500 pages filled with blah, blah, blah. Not worth 99 cents. Sorry but the author needs to try again.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2015

    Fair

    One poster said it was 500 pages. My nook book was only 165 pgs. Maybe i got a condensed version. Anyway it was fair...kind of incestuous in a way.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2015

    165 pages, not 500.

    165 pages, well edited. Cost $1.99. Chick lit romance. Steamy sex of course, around page 125. The usual crap. Except Carabria is just about the most unlikable lead in any book I have ever read. Boone needs to grow a pair. Ages 18 and up. Ho hum book.

    AD

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2015

    A Stranger In The Family starts out with Bodie Smith finding out

    A Stranger In The Family starts out with Bodie Smith finding out that many years earlier he had fathered a child. This news came to him accidentally when he ran into an old high school acquaintance who let it slip that Bodie's girlfriend at the time had given birth. After Bodie had a friend locate his son, he became friendly with the family without telling them who he was.  Now that Bodie was a wealthy business man he planned on taking his son and giving him everything he didn't have as a child. Bodie didn't expect to fall for his son's adopted sister.

    This is a well written story with an unusual plot.  I wondered how Bodie was going to resolve the problems he had created by expecting to take his son away from the family he loved. It was interesting to see how this played out.  Even though Bodie was hard to like at the beginning, before long I really liked him.  Cambria was hard to like because she didn't respect the intelligence of her family and thought she knew better that them.

    This story provoked a variety of emotions. The author made it easy to feel the family connection, love and tension.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2015

    Couldn't put it down.

    Very well written. Story line well thought out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2015

    Great read

    Really enjoyed this story. Going to purchase the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2015

    I just finished reading this book and it was so good!! Patrici

    I just finished reading this book and it was so good!! Patricia Mclinn really can spin a story! I loved that she keeps everyone guessing and lets you feel the characters!! I high recommend you read this. I'm looking for more of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2015

    Family

    I enjoyed the story and it was not just about sex

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2015

    Terrific story.

    Nice to read a story with an interesting plot and sensible, down to earth characters and a love story without all the trash talk and steamy sex

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2015

    The story was really good, but something was off on the writing,

    The story was really good, but something was off on the writing, I think there was to much rambling and that didn't make the story as interesting as it could have been.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2015

    Anonymous

    Good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2015

    James

    Waits

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2015

    Good

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2015

    Good story line, excellent writing, made me smile remembering so

    Good story line, excellent writing, made me smile remembering some of my grandmother's Southern expressions

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2015

    Ok

    I didn't really care too much for Cambria I thought she was harsh in what she said to bodie and if I was him I wouldn't be as forgiving to her

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Good Story

    Good story but I just could not warm up to it until the last third of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2013

    Family Story

    Loved the book wanted it to go on and on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4