Customer Reviews for

A Stranger in the Family (Bardville Trilogy, Book 1)

Average Rating 4
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommended

Patricia McLinn has come through again. The characters are well developed and reasonable. It was good to read a story where the relationship gets to unfold and grow before the characters end up in bed together. I have read several of Patricia McLinns books and have fou...
Patricia McLinn has come through again. The characters are well developed and reasonable. It was good to read a story where the relationship gets to unfold and grow before the characters end up in bed together. I have read several of Patricia McLinns books and have found them all great.

posted by Else on March 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Two words

Too long and drawn out. 500 pages filled with blah, blah, blah. Not worth 99 cents. Sorry but the author needs to try again.

posted by Shawnta on May 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    Highly recommended

    Patricia McLinn has come through again. The characters are well developed and reasonable. It was good to read a story where the relationship gets to unfold and grow before the characters end up in bed together. I have read several of Patricia McLinns books and have found them all great.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    So appreciated that the characters and their story aren't simpli

    So appreciated that the characters and their story aren't simplistic. Made me root for them and empathize with them more.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Two words

    Too long and drawn out. 500 pages filled with blah, blah, blah. Not worth 99 cents. Sorry but the author needs to try again.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Good Story

    Good story but I just could not warm up to it until the last third of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2013

    Family Story

    Loved the book wanted it to go on and on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    LOVED this book!!

    This was such a great story. I highly recommend it and can't wait to read the rest in the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    It's a good book

    Was an easy to read book makes you want to continue on to the second book of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    very good,must read.

    will read the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Good story.

    Good story..only drags in a few areas..but good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    Good book

    I enjoy stories that describe the outdoors in detail. This one explains human behavior and the "cure". It kept me interested to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    Good Read!

    Must Read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Worth the read, good book

    Enjoyed this book, and really doesn't leave you hanging and needing to read the others. But wouldn't mind reading them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND

    The story line is very interesting brings a lot of different feeling into play. The story holds your intrest all the way threw the book. This book is suited for young adults as well as adults. I would read other books by Patricia McLinn. I feel this is a good book for club discussions because it brings across different feeling that I feel would help young adults discuss things and help understand different feelings that they my not be able to express with out being able to talk about feelings in a group setting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Enjoyed it.

    This was an enjoyable, quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Good story

    I very much enjoyed this book. Well drawn people with a slightly story line. Good romance that made sense. Very likable. The story itself was a nice twist that was an interesting difference. I will probably get rest of the series. But, the book could be a stand alone as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    A MUST READ ALONG THE WHOLE SERIES

    Great series. Loved all the books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Loved it!

    This was a heart warming story of a father who has found his son after many years of not even knowing he had one. The book was very well written about a close knit family and the trials of the father trying to get to know his son and trying to figure out a way of letting him know.

    Of course romance is included when the father falls in love with his son's step sister who is very protective of her family. She has little trust for this stranger who has walked in on her family, but also cannot resist her feelings for him.

    A great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Good Story

    I enjoyed the story line, and will buy the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Aninymous

    I loved tis book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3