Customer Reviews for

A Stray Drop of Blood

Average Rating 5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Stray Drop of Blood is a MUST read!!

    A Stray Drop of Blood by Roseanna M. White is by far one of the best books that I have ever read! There is no way I will ever be able to adequately describe to you just how wonderful this book is. It's not just a book, it is an experience, and it's one that you must have for yourself. The writing, the story, the Gospel message, are all outstanding.

    The characters in this story will be with me forever. I was deeply touched by all of them and their stories, but of course Abigail stole my heart. In one way or another we can all relate to Abigail and see something of ourselves in her and her story.

    I have read some great books that have moved me, and a very few have brought tears and emotions, but none like this book did. I put this book up there with Redeeming Love and The Mark of the Lion series by Francine Rivers. It is that good and life-altering.

    I highly recommend this book. In fact, I think it is a MUST read!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    Must Read!

    I am not sure what I expected when I picked up this book. But I got much more than I could have ever dreamed. The story sounded great. I was hooked from the first paragraph. The characters came alive as I read. And not just a few but each one that came through the book grabbed my attention as if I were in the same room watching it all happen. It was a powerful story that gripped my heart.


    It is not your typical romance and it isn't your typical Christian romance. It takes into account the way things were done in the time period with the Roman and Jewish cultures mixed together. The fact that it had so many different twists, just like real life was one of the reasons it was so good. In some books everything seems to work out too easily and the book is over too quickly. This one had so many twists, some good and some not so good. But you could see how God worked through each of those situations to bring about His purpose for their lives.


    I have to tell you that this is one of my very favorite books. I have many but I just fell in love with this book and can't wait to read it again. I purchased it on Kindle but after reading it I knew I HAD to have it in a hard copy. I ordered it from the link below and am getting Roseanna to sign it for me! On her website she shares how this story came to be. Make sure you check that out, it is amazing!


    You just have to read this book! If you don't, you will be missing a great blessing and a great read. Enjoy!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    From Slavery to Freedom to Faith

    Imagine if you will, that you are a young girl living during the Biblical age and sold as a slave to a prominent family of Jerusalem. Hard to imagine? You don't have to because Roseanna M. White has done that for you in A Stray Drop of Blood. Ms. White takes you right into the heart and life of Abigail, who is the young girl sold into slavery. You are there when she is sold as a slave. You watch as she becomes more of a daughter than slave in the Visibullis home. You are shocked as the Visibullis son and heir makes her his own.

    A Stray Drop of Blood was first published in 2005. Ms. White has reworked the story for its second publication in 2009. She will not need to rework it a third time because one cannot improve on a perfectly woven plot, characters that come to life as the reader gets to know them and the Biblical setting of the three years of Jesus' teaching, His crucifixion and resurrection.

    Here is a portion of the summary from the back cover:

    For seven years, Abigail has been a slave in the Visibullis house. With a Hebrew mistress and a Roman master, she has always been more family than servant.until their son returns to Jerusalem after his years in Rome. Within a few months, Jason has taken her to his bed and turned her world upside down. Maybe, given time, she can come to love him as he says he loves her. But how does she open her heart to the man who ruined her?

    I have read many books - both Christian and secular - in my life. Some of these books have been heralded as "the best book since the Bible," and other larger-than-life accolades. I have been moved by these books. But none of them have come close to the effect A Stray Drop of Blood has had on me. None of the characters in the other books have awakened me in the middle of the night thinking about their struggles and their faith as Abigail did in this book. None of the other books intrigued me so that I could hardly wait for my lunch break or for my family to go to bed at night so I could get back to reading. And none of the other books taught me as much on forgiveness and faith.

    In her endorsement, Julie Lessman wrote "haunts you centuries beyond the last page." And that is true because there are many points in the book that God will use to teach you about forgiveness, faith and love. It is an anointed story full of life lessons for us.

    This book must be at the top of your list of books to be read in 2010!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Read this book!

    This is an awseome and inspiring read. My soul felt lifted. The tale was beautifully written.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Amazing!

    This is a must, must, must read! A very beautiful story that I could not put down. I loved the characters, the story and the message it gave. If you loved this book read her other one Jewel of Persia its just as good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Excellent historical romance and a whole lot more!

    Lots of twists and turns, excellent character development. Although the story revolved around the impact of the life of Christ on the main characters, I did not find it preachy at all. Their faith was part of who they were, flaws and all. It was a very long book, but I was enthralled the entire time. Had several very late nights when I just could not put the book down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2010

    Moving

    If you are a fan of historical bible fiction, you'll not want to miss reading Roseanna White's, A Stray Drop of Blood. If you are tossing around the idea of reading this genre for the first time, there isn't a better book to start with. Ms. White's knowledge of the culture and time period shows in her writing. Her awareness of the different classes, the plight of the Jews, and the cultural conflicts is amazing. She is a master at weaving in the plots and subplots in this novel, thus drawing you into the story. Be sure to allocate yourself plenty of time because you won't want to put this book down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Stray Drop of Blood

    A Stray Drop of Blood is a reprint of Roseanna White's book first released in 2005. A Christian historical novel, this book is not light reading. It is a very intense story. A wonderfully written story, this story of a little girl, whose mother died, sold into slavery, and raised more as a daughter of the home, than a slave.

    The story of young Abigail, a Jewish slave girl bought by a Roman soldier, married to a Jewish woman, raised and educated as most slaves were not. Abigail grows into a beautiful woman, who catches the eye of the son of the house, returned from an assignment in Rome. Taking the slave as his own, and robbing her of her innocence, she becomes pregnant, and the son, in love with her, marries Abigail, and she goes from a slave to family member.

    However tragedy strikes at the criminal Barabbas and his band of evil thugs attack the city and her husband and father in law are both killed. Desperate for vengence Abigail goes to the trial of the criminal only to find him released and the teacher Jesus being crucified in his place. Standing beside the road a drop of blood falls from Jesus and lands on Abigail, and forever her life is changed.

    A beautiful story of love, redemption and how their lives are changed by Jesus, the story of the Visibullis household is a story that will captivate you from beginning to the end. A story that will have you weeping in sorrow, and gritting your teeth at injustice at its peak. A 5 star rated book. A discussion guide at the end of the book 344 pages

    This book was provided by the author for review purposes only, no cash nor payment was received for this review.

    Learn more about the author at www.roseannawhite.com

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2009

    A poignant and moving portrayal

    If you're looking for a novel that waters down the stark realities of sin and its wages, don't read A Stray Drop of Blood by Roseanna White. Set in decadent first century Jerusalem and Rome, strong, multi-layered characters, rich spiritual insights, well-depicted historical events, and moving romance are powerfully combined in an edgy yet tastefully crafted and fast-paced classic.

    Stunningly beautiful Abigail is an atypical Hebrew slave gently raised and educated as a daughter in the prosperous Visibullis household during the time of Jesus. But her tranquil life shatters when handsome but selfish Jason Visibullis, a Roman centurion, returns home with a sinful mindset and lifestyle he adopted in Rome. He soon claims Abigail as his personal possession and lover, and having no choice, she must submit. But she struggles with growing turmoil resulting from a sense of betrayal, resentment, guilt, and her rising desires for Jason. He, in turn, is so enamored with her, he chooses her over his career, lifestyle, and friends to marry her and set her free. But her trials just begin at that point. Many more tests and heartaches await Abigail before she can find true happiness.

    The crucifixion of Jesus from a centurion's point of view is a stirring depiction along with the Lord's fleeting encounter with main characters who change dramatically because of His life-giving words and shed blood. Although the author delves into the temptations of the flesh and the consequences of sin, she beautifully intersperses victory over them through trusting and obeying the Word of God.

    I applaud Ms. White's skillful handling of sensitive scenes with touching finesse. Her clever plot twists grabbed me continually, and her ability to illustrate familiar biblical events in a fresh way made me consider them with new eyes. Contrasting the characters' interests in Greek and Roman philosophy and mythology with devotion to Hebrew Law and the teachings of Jesus also added a dimension that enhanced the already rich tale.

    A Stray Drop of Blood is a must for the permanent personal library. Reminiscent of Francine Rivers's Mark of the Lion trilogy and Ruth Axtell Morren's earlier books of her Regency series, it's a novel that the reader can enjoy again and again and again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2009

    Mesmerizing Journey Through History

    A Stray Drop of Blood by Roseanna White is a novel of epic proportions that blew me away. It beautifully wove together rich history, complex characters, deep spiritual content, romance, and a mesmerizing story all in an edgy and artistic package. This book is reminiscent of the highly acclaimed Mark of the Lion trilogy by Francine Rivers, yet takes its own unique twists and turns through the Roman Empire and the lives of the early Christians.

    This story delves deep into sin and the psychological consequences it creates. The author does not shy away from the dark realities of life. Instead she juxtaposes this darkness with the light of Jesus and the power of his shed blood in a way that is almost palpable and that touched me to the core. I loved the way author contrasted Greek and Roman philosophy and mythology with Hebrew theology. It has been a long time since I have found a novel this mentally stimulating.

    I could go on all day about the elements of this book that I adored. Suffice to say that I give it my highest possible recommendation. This is a story that will stay with me for many years to come.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2008

    A reviewer

    Haunting and powerful are two words that come to mind at the close of reading Roseanna M. White's debut novel, A Stray Drop of Blood. Not since Francine Rivers' Mark of the Lion trilogy has a book and its characters captured me so completely. From its rich, historical prose that depicts the era of Christ with startling reality, to a compelling love story that will both jolt and seize your heart, this is one of those rare novels that haunts you centuries beyond the last page. Ms. White states she began writing A Stray Drop of Blood on Good Friday, a significance not lost in the telling of this tale that revolves around the crucifixion of Christ and the life-changing impact of 'a stray drop of blood' on a Hebrew girl. At a young age, Abigail is sold into slavery to a kind Roman centurion, in whose household she grows in favor and beauty. She soon catches the eye of her master's centurion son, handsome but worldly Jason Visibullis, who seeks to possess her, body and soul. In his quest to own Abigail's love completely, Jason weds her, redeeming her from the bonds of slavery. But it is the blood of Christ that provides true redemption, not only for Abigail, but for her master's household and husband as well. Amid the seething unrest of Roman tyranny and Hebrew uprising, a spell-binding saga unfolds, unleashing startling twists of both fate and heart that will leave you utterly breathless.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2014

    Good read

    This is a good novel covering the Jewish faith and the Roman Occupation of Israel Interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Really good.

    I liked the part where Abigail was tending to her new slave after her friend's father tried to rape her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book. With that said, I would have written

    I really enjoyed this book. With that said, I would have written a different synopsis that what was provided. I was under the impression that the story was going to be completely different than what actually played out. Don't get me wrong--I thoroughly enjoyed the story. It was just different from what I anticipated. At times the story seemed to ramble, and I felt like there were unnecessary subplot points that could have been excluded that took away from the main plot. Overall, this book was enjoyable. Just very different from what I expected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Great book!

    Reminded me of Francine Rivers or Lynn Austin. Whatever you do, don't skip anything! This will have you on the edge of your seat. Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    Highly recommend this book

    The book was good historical fiction with some facts...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Anonymous

    This story takes the reader back to Bible times. It tells how God takes care of his own thru many trials. Abigail was a slave girl in the home of a Roman master who was married to a hebrew woman. This book tells the Easter story while giving the reader a glimpse of what life may have been like during that time. Highly encourage everyone to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2