Customer Reviews for

A Street Cat Named Bob: And How He Saved My Life

Average Rating 4.5
( 110 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(79)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

33 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Loved this book! It touches the soul. It's an amazing story of h

Loved this book! It touches the soul. It's an amazing story of how a cat gave one mentally ill man a reason to live and kick a vicious drug addiction.

posted by IzzyBIB on August 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

I have 2 dogs but read review of book in USA Today. Ordered it from B&N and loved it. Will gift the book to cat lover friends for Christmas and the Jewish holidays. It ranks up there w/ The Cat who Came for Christmas by the late Cleveland Amory.

posted by MsBookWorm2 on August 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 4, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved this book! It touches the soul. It's an amazing story of h

    Loved this book! It touches the soul. It's an amazing story of how a cat gave one mentally ill man a reason to live and kick a vicious drug addiction.

    33 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    James Bowen's A Street Cat Named Bob is an incredibly heartwarmi

    James Bowen's A Street Cat Named Bob is an incredibly heartwarming story. Reading it fills you with joy and love. A darn good book!

    32 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    An incredible story two fold. The characters are a homeless man

    An incredible story two fold. The characters are a homeless man and a sick and homeless cat. The story of a cat finding the man and the book they wrote. The story is true.
    To start at the beginning, James’ has had many ups and downs, twists and turns that have influenced his life. His mother and father divorced when he was young. James’ mother, a career woman re-married and the family moved from England to Australia. As a youngster he attended several schools as the family moved frequently. As a result James had trouble fitting in with the other children. He was identified as a ‘problem child’ early in life and was diagnosed with ADHD, schizophrenia and manic depression. James did not like or get along with his stepfather and returned to England. He lived with his sister and her husband for a short time but this did not work out and James became homeless.
    James has been homeless most of his adult life living on the streets, in shelters for the homeless and sheltered accommodation. Living rough in London, England for about ten years, James has survived by busking and selling the Big Issue, a street newspaper sold by the homeless in eight countries. He spent many years living in hostels and shelters and succumbed to drugs, Heroin being his drug of choice. Fortunately James was able to break the cycle of addiction with the help of his ‘some time’ partner, Belle, who was also former heroin addict as well as charities such as Connections at St Martin-in-the-Fields.
    One of the greatest influences in James life has been Bob the cat who turned up on his doorstep one day. Bob has given James a reason to live and put his life back on track. The two were suffering and needed each other. On Methadone as part of his treatment to get off heroin James was struggling to survive. Bob was injured, hungry, and homeless. The most amazing part of this story is that Bob began following James to the areas where he did his busking and later selling The Big Issue. Naturally the pair attracted much attention, many pictures taken and videos on YouTube. Unbeknown to Bob and James, they were becoming quite famous. A result of all the pictures and videos came when a literary agent saw them and suggested James write a book, which he did in collaboration with Garry Jenkins.
    A must read for all who love a heartwarming story, love cats and just want a good read.

    29 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    I received my copy a day after my beloved cat died, I could not

    I received my copy a day after my beloved cat died, I could not read it right away, but a few days later still very sad, I started reading it. It brought me much comfort and I finished the book in a day. I could not put it down. Excellent book  well worth the read. 

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    I have bought several copies of this book and given them to frie

    I have bought several copies of this book and given them to friends. Without exception, all were reluctant to read a "cat book"--but after a little persuasion--none of them could put the book down.  James Bowen's story is compelling --full of pathos, comic moments, epiphanies and joy. Bob, an orange  cat--or Ginger, as they call these cats the color of marmalade, is an astonishing creature. The two found one another and like the title says, were one another's salvation from a lonely, sick, sad life.  The book really is how love can rescue and redeem any of us--we just need to let it work its magic.  The prose is simple and the story straightforward but with transitions that make you keep turning the page to see what happens next.  It's a page turner!  And I challenge anyone to read this book and not  feel the love just radiating from the pages. When I read it, I realized that I would never turn my eyes away when I see a homeless person. I want to help them as well as contribute to helping abandoned, abused or stray animals.  James and Bob's journey together will never be forgotten by me--and probably not by you, eithe

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Definitely a HIGH FIVE!!! Fabulous book! I read it in less than

    Definitely a HIGH FIVE!!! Fabulous book! I read it in less than a day last year when it was out in the kindle edition. When you get to know the author and his soul mate through interviews, videos, etc. you will love it even more. What a kind hearted good soul! An extraordinary young man and absolutely fabulous gorgeous feline.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    I rate it a 5. Read the book a friend from Manchester England lo

    I rate it a 5. Read the book a friend from Manchester England loaned me that was sent to her from relatives.  I have been in love with Bob since.  The life of James and his discovery of "gift of giving" are inspirational.  I will be buying my own copy soon as I want to have it to re-read.  Their story will never leave my heart. Thank you James for sharin your story and Bob with us in the US. Pattie B.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Very heartwarming story! I am a dog lover but reading this book

    Very heartwarming story! I am a dog lover but reading this book made me surprisingly like cats :-). This story is unbelievable and so sweet!!!! Kept me turning from from one page to the next. 

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Could not put this book down!

    Wonderful story of a street cat and the young man who became both: the cat's rescuer and resuee. I am not a cat person, but Bob the cat has me sold on little felines.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Excellent book I have ever read up till that time.... inspiring

    Excellent book I have ever read up till that time.... inspiring and heartwarming one .I could not put it down and finished in one sitting..

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    I recently read "A Street Cat Named Bob: And How He Saved M

    I recently read "A Street Cat Named Bob: And How He Saved Me" after a friend mentioned James Bowen and Bob at lunch a few weeks ago and I realized I still had the book sitting on a shelf (I'd purchased it a few months ago).

    Neither James nor Bob have lived a perfect life and James' honesty in telling their story (good, bad, otherwise) is really great. Overcoming addiction and/or struggles is difficult for anyone and James' taking responsibility for both Bob and himself leads to a much better life! It touches on the lives of those many of us in society often do not see or wish to see - the homeless, recovering addicts, street performers, buskers, and many others. This book is very human and a touching story.

    It's wonderful to see James doing good for both himself and Bob! I wish you the utmost success in the USA!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    A story that really touched my heart. Each of our little furry f

    A story that really touched my heart. Each of our little furry friends is of course unique, but Bob is truly extraordinary, and it was wonderful to read the story of these two beings who support and love each other, and end up literally saving each other.
    I shed a few tears reading the book, but there was laughter and smiles too.
    I would recommend it to anyone with empathy and compassion, whether or not you're a cat fan, and perhaps you will be by the time you finish this book.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    You wouldn't believe how heartwarming this story is. And how it

    You wouldn't believe how heartwarming this story is. And how it opens up the world of homelessness. It is amazing how Bob found James and how much they grew to mean to each other. This book is a wonderful read - you can't help but be impressed with both James and Bob.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book. With the way things are going in the world, i

    I loved this book. With the way things are going in the world, it was a refreshing change to read a book of hope and inspiration!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    I give this book a HIGH FIVE!  

    I give this book a HIGH FIVE!  

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    a truly inspiring story about 2 lost beings who in their lowest

    a truly inspiring story about 2 lost beings who in their lowest moments found each other at the right time!!! thank you james for sharing this great and touching story of how you and bob met .

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2013

    This book is a must read! Everyone has his/her trials and tribu

    This book is a must read! Everyone has his/her trials and tribulations. James Bowen and his ginger tom Bob are no exception. Both James and Bob are in need of medical care and a home. I am proud of James Bowen's courage to take on the responsibility of taking care of another being (in this case a cat), when James is not sure how he is going to take care of himself let alone overcome his addiction to heroin. Nevertheless, James made sure Bob got the medical care he needed, food, as well as, a home. Bob, in return, brought to the forefront the issue of addiction and homelessness by capturing the attention of people passing by thereby bridging a gap that allows James to be eventually acknowledge as a person in need of a way to support himself and Bob instead of remaining an invisible entity that people tend to ignore in society. We live in a complex stressful society, where maybe some people are just one step away from being in the same shoes as James. Bob has a way of diffusing the situation allowing an open dialogue to be initiated between the homeless and society. I hope James Bowen and Bob remain advocates for people who suffer from drug addiction and homelessness.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    A loner

    The black tom pads in with a plump mouse. He started to eat it.

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2014

    Excellent written and inspiring !

    Excellent written and inspiring !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2014

    List of Warrior Cat Names (By Pearlstar of SeaClan)

    Here are some more of original warrior cat names:

    Lavenderheart
    Sunspot
    Cloudleap
    Oceanbreeze
    Windwhisper
    Lilyfur
    Poolfern
    Rainsky
    Stormstrike
    Reedleaf
    Frostlight
    Lightningstripe

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4